Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it Now!
The Roman Legions are now well entrenched in Britain, but are still finding dogged resistance from the fearsome natives. Macro and Cato find themselves standing between victory and bloody defeat.
Cato is newly appointed to the rank of Centurion and it falls to him and Macro to provide an army of untrained recruits for the aged ruler Verica.
With an army of raw...
Published on 8 Dec. 2004 by J. Chippindale

versus
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More depth needed
The 4th book in the Cato and Macro series sees our two heroes back in action again after suffering major injuries. Due to the increasing attacks of Caratacus and his allies, Roman supply lines have become dangerously overstretched. To alleviate the situation, Cato and Macro have been given the task of welding together an auxiliary force from the friendly Atrebatan army of...
Published on 19 Aug. 2003 by Magicmoon


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it Now!, 8 Dec. 2004
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Roman Legions are now well entrenched in Britain, but are still finding dogged resistance from the fearsome natives. Macro and Cato find themselves standing between victory and bloody defeat.
Cato is newly appointed to the rank of Centurion and it falls to him and Macro to provide an army of untrained recruits for the aged ruler Verica.
With an army of raw recruits can they halt the progress of a cunning opponent and plotters who are eager not only to destroy Macro and Cato but the whole of the Roman army.
Simon Scarrow has a wonderful feel for the period he writes about and his characters endear themselves to you the reader. These books are well researched and for anyone interested in this period of Britain's history are a great read. Fact mixed with fiction in the best possible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cracking read., 13 Dec. 2013
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
In this the 4th sequel in the Eagle series, Macro and Cato have recovered from their wounds and are on detachment from their parent unit having been ordered to train two auxiliary cohorts of Atrebates to protect the supply lines of Legio II Augusta, which is about to launch a campaign into south west Britannia. The narrative is fast paced with intriguing sub plots, in-depth characterisation and gratuitous violence. All in all a great page turner, recommended.

The perfect companion to the eagle series is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beaker, Simon in his review says:
Beautifully sculpted it is a very handsome thing! The reason why I particularly like this cup is that it features the men and insignia of the second legion, the unit in which Cato learned how to become a soldier under the affectionate eye of Macro! it's a lovely thing and has pride of place on my desk right now!
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vespasian in Britain, 10 Aug. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BRIEF STORY DETAILS - SLIGHT SPOILERS

44 AD, and in south-west Britain Vespasian, commander of the Second Legion, Centurion Macro and newly appointed centurion Cato in the thick of the fighting. Verica and his Atrebatans align with Rome but revolt against the invasion spreads. Macro and Cato fight for their lives as a Rome itself is threatened by political plot

SAFE READING _ NO SPOILERS

I have read all the "Eagle" series in order, followed the careers of Cato and Macro with great interest and eagerly await the already pre-ordered "Praetorian".
Not the heights of Literature (nor pretending to be), but well-written nevertheless, the series is filled with his great depth of knowledge, enthusiasm for and interest in the Romans.
Cunningly peopled with all the names from our history lessons - Vespasian, Cladius, Caratacus, Boudica - and the Roman campaigns to extend the Empire but centred on two Roman soldiers who become unlikely close friends, Macro and Cato, their careers and friendship carries the stories along. Following them closely allows the intimate details of human life to be in the forefront while the everyday lives of Roman soldiers and the political intrigues of the Roman Empire provide the backdrop.

PS I found it helpful to have a one-page list of Roman army ranks, which I used as a bookmark, and I had the odd glance at ancient maps (not mine I hasten to add!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward fun, 15 Jan. 2006
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The same people, setting and ingredients as the 3 previous novels in the series but Scarrow brings it all together flawlessly. If you love action-packed historical novels can't go wrong with this one. Thanks again Simon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's at least a dozen books in the Cato & ..., 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's at least a dozen books in the Cato & Macro series following the exploits of two Roman legionaries in the first century AD. This edition (No. 4) has our heroes defending Calleva (Sillchester Roman Town, Hampshire) against our old friend Caratacus, a genuine British freedom fighter. I thought of telling you what happens but why ruin the story for you? Suffice it to say that our heroes turn up again in episode 5 of the series so you do the maths.

Simon Scarrow has woven an entirely fictional story around actual historical events to produce a captivating drama. I found myself cheering on the Romans despite being British and I suspect you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good page turner, 19 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Eagle and the Wolves (Paperback)
I always tend to gravitate towards historical fiction books . In this book and the previous books in the series ,the subject matter is more involving as it is our history from the time of Roman invasion of our shores.Using centurians rather than Generals and major historical figures as the main characters gives the reader a sense of what it must have been like for the invaders and the Britons defending their way of life.The writer weaves in references to the motivations of the politicians and personalites and how these cascaded down to the ones who did the fighting. The set piece battles are well written and the story a good down to earth read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More interesting adventures with Macro and Cato!, 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Review of the series (followed by a review of this book):
This series of books is based around the adventures of two men - Macro and Cato. Macro is a soldier through and through; he has spent his life in the army and is a centurion when we first meet him in the first book. In that book we also meet Cato who joins the legion as a new recruit, although he seems an unlikely candidate for a soldier. The series goes on to relate their many adventures and the relationship between them. Most of the stories are based - sometimes loosely - on real events and people, with a healthy dose of artistic license.
As far as I can tell the historical detail and facts are accurate, and the writing is generally engaging. There are criticisms in other reviews about the authors use of 'modern' slang; I know what they mean, but would we identify with 'roman' slang? For me, it is not a problem, I am not a fan of trying to invent historical language, it is too easy to fall into the 'ye olde shoppe' trap!
Overall, the series is very readable, and rolls along at a good pace. Like some other historical series, it doesn't do to try and fit the events into a timeline, as it soon becomes clear that the two men could not have done everything they do in one lifetime, but that doesn't detract from a fun series. Two niggles:the formatting annoys me in that the gaps between paragraphs are too long, particularly where there are long conversations, and they are a little over-priced.
Review of this book:
Our protagonists are now involved in training the men of their new allies to be auxiliary troops. However, loyalty is in short supply on all sides, and treachery is never far away. Another episode in the lives of Macro and Cato, and the author continues to deliver. The writing is always readable, and the story moves along at just the right pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new master and commander of Historical Fiction, 8 Dec. 2003
It might seem a bit premature to state that Simon Scarrow is a master of the historical novel genre. After all his series of novels set in the Roman legions numbers only four books, and as far as I am aware these are the only novels he has had published. But the quality of his writing really shines form the first page. Each book has opened with a pacy introduction to the ancient world and this latest is no exception. Our heroes, the brilliant but self-conscious Cato and the irrepressibly soldier-like Macro, are ordered to raise a private army to enfore the will of the ailing Atrebatan king, Verica. His court is riddled with plotters thirsting to be the new king. Outside the walls of the Atrebatan capital, enemy raiders are razing his kingdom. It is up to Macro and Cato to ensure that this vital ally to the Roman cause is kept safe and kept onside.
As ever the plotting is flawlessly involving, the action makes you feel as if you were there in the thick of battle and the characterisation makes you feel as if you know these men like old friends. The writing is crisp, punchy and occasionally striking in its preciseness and deployment of wit.
Christmas is coming. Now you know what to put at the top of the list when you write to Santa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MADE ME HATE THE ROMANS - BUT STILL LIKED THE CENTRAL CHARACTERS, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read four of the books in this series and I've enjoyed them all. Lots of action and I have got to know the central characters. They are more thoughtful and resourceful Cato and the bluff 'I am a soldier and that's my lot' Macro and although he's hard through and through I am beginning to get the feeling that Macro cares for Cato - in a very subdued mannish sort of way!!

All four books so far have been really good, but I'm moving on to something different now - too much of a good thing and all that, but I will be back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Roman adventures etc., 4 Feb. 2014
By 
D. Bull "Bully." (West Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Macro and Cato and this is well up to their usual standard. Well written and nicely woven around real historical characters and events. I like the style in that the conversation is readable and modern rather than attempting cod Roman. Mr Scarrow doesn't go overboard on vivid gut spilling, a pleasant change that other writers could learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eagle and the Wolves
The Eagle and the Wolves by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 13 Nov. 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews