Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a magnificent series this is!
Cato and Macro's third outing is the best yet. Having survived the full horrors of battle in the previous two books they find themselves embarking on a mission to rescue General Plautius's family from the clutches of some pretty bloodthirsty and terrifying Druids. As before, the principal characters are thoroughly three-dimensional and the dialogue crackles with smart...
Published on 14 Nov 2002 by harold1069

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Scarrow's usual standard
This story is O.K. but is not as good as the previous tales. Some of the action feels somewhat forced and the depictions of Boudica and Prasutagus are a bit cliched, particularly the latter's dumb but descent barbarian act. On the other hand, it does have it's moments and the introduction of the Druids as bogeymen adds a nice new level of threat.
Published 15 months ago by William Axtell


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book in the entire universe, 23 Mar 2004
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
What can I say? This is simply the most adventure story that I have ever read. Picked it up in a bookshop in Keswick, took it home and read it in one sitting. Delighted to discover that this author has written two other paperbacks featuring the incomparable Macro and Cato, and I'll be buying the fourth one in hardback as soon as possible.
In short, it's kind of all the delights of Hornblower, Sharpe, Aubrey and Maturin and Falco rolled into a stylish one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly worthwhile, 28 July 2003
By 
Jp Hanson "halfday35" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
I must say I have read all of the series and as has been said this is the best of all. The story line bubbles along taking the reader with it. It is one of those books you cannot put down yet when you finish wish you hadn't read it so quickly. Bernard Cornwalls early sharp book can be held in comparison .... barely. This exceeds all his later efforts and I for one cannot wait for the next. Ful praise to the author, a briliant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!, 4 May 2004
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
This series gets better with each new episode. Centurion Marco is one of the great's of historical-adventure-fiction- easily the equal of Sharpe, but with a great vein of humour thrown in. I'm extremely suprised that the author (Simon Scarrow) has never served in the British army as the "language" is highly authentic & most un-Roman. Macro is every corporal I've ever met! As an ex-squaddy I found huge parts of Roman military life uncannily similar to the modern british army.
"When the Eagle hunts" focuses on the second legions invasion of South West england. Vespasian's boys have to tackle the massive British hill forts & contend with a extreme Druid sect (a 72Ad version of Al Que'da) who have taken the Roman General's wife & children hostage & are threatening to burn them alive. The battle scenes especially are worthy of Bernard Cornwell. If you haven't tried this series do it now. "Under the eagle" is the first- they must be read in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series!, 27 Jan 2003
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Hardcover)
When the eagle hunts really blew me away. After the delight of the first two books I wondered if Scarrow could keep the pace up. HE has. In fact this one is even better than the others. Cato and Macro have a formidable enemy on their hands in the form of the cruellest and darkest Druids to ever appear in fiction. The gave me the shivers in every scene that they appeared. The writing is wonderfully descriptive and you feel like you are there along with our heroes as they boldly venture forth into enemy territory on their desperate rescue mission. As for the battles - there's no-one who can write 'em like Scarrow and you'll finish the fight with your blood racing and vivid impressions of sight and sound assaulting your senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cuando Caza el Aguila., 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
The most prominent feature of Simon Scarrow's third book in the Eagle series, is what could be called Roman intelligence, highlighted in this case by the attempted rescue of hostages. Together with the true siege of Maiden Castle by Legio II Augusta (led by the future emperor Vespasian), the author also brought in the Iceni leaders Boudicca and Prasutagus, and the wife of the Roman general Aulus Plautius, to create one of the best books I've ever read.

Just like Ben Kane did at the end of his Forgotten Legion series, Simon Scarrow wrote a brief account of what he admitted what was fact or fiction, so preventing the distortion of true historical fact. No matter what happened to ********, whether it be fact or fiction, it does not take away the excellent plot, drama and flow of the novel, thus turning When the Eagle Hunts into my ultimate idea of a real page-turner, taking a matter of seconds rather than minutes to read each page.

I have even been inspired to visit Maiden Castle, and only because of this novel. Until I started it, this former stronghold of the Durotriges looked in pictures to me like nothing more than a series of concentric earthworks surrounding a central plateau. Even without having ever visited it, it is now easy for me to imagine Vespasian's attack on the fort, the battle cries of the legions and tribesmen alike, the bloodshed, decapitated heads, the frightened families of the tribesmen, all contributing towards the tension in the air that doesn't even bear thinking about. Like the rest of us, Simon can only describe that orally, he has well and truly perfected it, and brought to life what would otherwise be a barren, desolate hill out in the middle of nowhere. Now, such a scenario as described in When the Eagle Hunts, will never escape my imagination if ever I visit Maiden Castle.

This is one of the most absorbing as well as excellent novels I've ever read, and I look so much forward to reading The Eagle and the Wolves. Well done Simon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Scarrow at his best, 18 Sep 2010
By 
Milly "Milly" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
Once again an excellent read. Simon Scarrow takes you on an exciting journey, you are in the middle of the battles with all their gorey details, but still holds on to the human aspect of the story. Loved it and I am a 62 year old (modern) woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, just not great!, 3 Dec 2007
By 
B. J. Madeley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
Having heard rave reviews of Simon Scarrow's novels, i was somewhat dissapointed by this book. Although it was enjoyable to read and I would not hesistate to pick up another by this author, it simply failed to enthrall me the way other historical novels have. I found it depressingly easy to get distracted whilst reading this book and it was too simple to find better things to do.

The story itself is well written and interesting, but I feel Scarrow is somewhat out of his depth when being compared to Cornwell and Iggulden.

This book is worth a look at, but there are better books and authors out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Simon Scarrow hit!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Roman history and you get that mixed with adventure and much more with Cato and Macro! another excellent book by Simon Scarrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual with this series of a compelling story that is hard to put down. Really enjoyed it and already reading the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome wins again., 31 Dec 2013
By 
JC Elliott (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this adventure story. Found it difficult to put down. The druids are at the centre of this story and Scarrow really brings them to the fore as an enemy that Rome needs to destroy if they are to conquer the British tribes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When the Eagle Hunts
When the Eagle Hunts by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 2 Oct 2008)
7.27
Usually dispatched within 6 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews