Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a magnificent series this is!
Cato and Macro's third outing is the best yet. Having survived the full horrors of battle in the previous two books they find themselves embarking on a mission to rescue General Plautius's family from the clutches of some pretty bloodthirsty and terrifying Druids. As before, the principal characters are thoroughly three-dimensional and the dialogue crackles with smart...
Published on 14 Nov 2002 by harold1069

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Scarrow's usual standard
This story is O.K. but is not as good as the previous tales. Some of the action feels somewhat forced and the depictions of Boudica and Prasutagus are a bit cliched, particularly the latter's dumb but descent barbarian act. On the other hand, it does have it's moments and the introduction of the Druids as bogeymen adds a nice new level of threat.
Published 16 months ago by William Axtell


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a magnificent series this is!, 14 Nov 2002
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Hardcover)
Cato and Macro's third outing is the best yet. Having survived the full horrors of battle in the previous two books they find themselves embarking on a mission to rescue General Plautius's family from the clutches of some pretty bloodthirsty and terrifying Druids. As before, the principal characters are thoroughly three-dimensional and the dialogue crackles with smart one-liners and the kind of bluff words you'd expect soldiers to utter. The action is fast and frantic and the overall pace of the book accelerates away so that it becomes impossible to put the thing down. I don't want to spoil the ending for those who haven't yet had the chance to read this excellent addition to the series, but I can't wait to see how Macro and Cato's relationship weathers the new situation they find themselves in.
Having read Cornwell, Forester et al, I have to say that this is the best historical adventure series I have come across in years and I can't wait for the fourth one to appear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS, 15 Aug 2002
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Hardcover)
The third Macro & Cato action-adventure more than lives up to its predecessors. Action, intrigue and mystery all in an evocation of the Roman Empire unparalleled since the days of Robert Graves and "I Claudius". Scarrow's characterisation is wonderful, not just of Cato, but also of secondary characters like Figulus, the clumsy Gaul legionary and Prasutagus, the giant Iceni warrior with a relish for violence, both of whom are hilariously drawn. Scarrow does lose a star though for the grating blokish dialogue he puts in the mouth of Macro and some of the other legionaries. That said the Macro & Cato novels remain a delicious treat, easily outclassing Bernard Cornwell. I for one can't wait for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurry up! Where's the next one., 9 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
For all those fans of Bernard Cornwell, I have some shocking news. There is someone better. Even from the first pages of 'Under the Eagle' it was apparent that there was a great new storyteller about to hit the UK. His first book was gripping right from the start, his second was no disappointment to those doubting he could keep it going, the third 'Where the Eagle hunts' is just a masterpiece of excitement, humour and a thouroughly good read. The likable characters of Optio Cato, a self doubting yet courageous youth, trying to survive in an army his intellect has not prepared him for, and Centurion Macro, his Superior officer and mentor, to whom Cato is a youth showing more than a little military nouse. In this book, Scarrow manages to create a story that contains the descriptive ferocity of war, the cold-blooded cruelty of the ancient Druids and the strict, harsh life of a Roman soldier. And yet, Scarrow constantly manages to lighten by the dry and worldly humour displayed by our 2 main characters. A cliff hanger to the final word, this book really takes you to the noise and brutality of battle. It's an old cliche to say 'I couldn't put it down'. Well, I didn't. Not from cover to cover. Please Mr Scarrow, hurry up and write quickly so we can read some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph!, 13 Dec 2013
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Another well deserved triumph by Simon Scarrow, in this third sequel in the Eagle series. The author has a real penchant for telling an engrossing tale interwoven with historical fact. I found his description of the climatic battle for the Iron age fortress of Maiden Castle, Dorset riveting, as it also took me back down memory lane when I was serving with the Junior leaders Regiment at Bovington (Dorset), our history master took the class on an excursion to the hill fort, where he explained in great detail the assault by Legio II Augusta commanded by Vespasian the future Emperor. From that day on I was a committed student of Roman military history and Simons excellent narrative has brought to life my long dead masters introduction to a fascinating period of military history.
All in all an excellent read, a real page turner with three dimensional characters combined with a good in-depth knowledge of Roman military history. Highly recommended.

The perfect companion to the Eagle series is the Roma Victrix wine beaker, Simon in his review says.
BEAUTIFULLY SCULPTED IT IS A VERY HANDSOME THING! THE REASON WHY I PARTICULARLY LIKE THIS CUP IS THAT IT FEATURES THE MEN AND INSIGNIA OF THE SECOND LEGION, THE UNIT IN WHICH CATO LEARNED HOW TO BECOME A SOLDIER UNDER THE AFFECTIONATE EYE OF MACRO! IT'S A LOVELY THING AND HAS PRIDE OF PLACE ON MY DESK RIGHT NOW!Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and Better, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Hardcover)
WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS REVIEW

This series gets better with each new episode. Centurion Marco is one of the great's of historical-adventure-fiction- easily the equal of Sharpe, but with a great vein of humour thrown in. I'm extremely suprised that the author (Simon Scarrow) has never served in the British army as the "language" is highly authentic & most un-Roman. Macro is every corporal I've ever met! As an ex-squaddy I found huge parts of Roman military life uncannily similar to the modern british army.

"When the Eagle hunts" focuses on the second legions invasion of South West england. Vespasian's boys have to tackle the massive British hill forts & contend with a extreme Druid sect (a 72Ad version of Al Que'da) who have taken the Roman General's wife & children hostage & are threatening to burn them alive. The battle scenes especially are worthy of Bernard Cornwell. If you haven't tried this series do it now. (Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun but an Adventure Story in Historical setting, not a historical novel., 2 Nov 2009
By 
Maximus "Max" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
I fell across this series a short while ago and have quickly read up to this one and I am on Amazon to buy the next 2. So yes I am enjoying them and I must admit they are good fun, easy to read, not hugely challenging and basically boys own kind of adventure storys. There is historical detail and I assume it is well researched and as accurate as it can be but don't expect the level of depth of something like Robert Harris's books such as Pompeii, Imperium or Lustrum. Although there are many mentions of the similarity to Bernard Cornwell's historical novels for me they don't quite come up to that sort of standard certainly not that of his earlier works at least. Language is probably the hardest thing to take in this series and a lot of it is distinctly 21st Century, I know it is trying to put across the language of the common soldier but I don't think some of the Essex Boy speech works nor does having Boudicia as an early version of a laddette out on the raz with our two heros. That said take the books for what they are and they are a rollicking fictional adventure series set in Roman times and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The, 23 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
I have read literature on military history throughout my life, having a proud military tradition in my family. However in the last year I have found myself fixated with Roman history, from foundation to republic and past empire to byzantine times. Having read such fabulous non-fiction as Rubicon, and Goldworthys 'In the Name of Rome' aswell as many others, I'm starting to understand Rome quite thoroughly and the way it shaped the world.
I have also read many fiction books of late based in the time of Rome. I have just finished 'Eagle in the Snow' by Wallace Breem and I have never before been so awe inspired by a fictional tale. It is wholeheartedly recommended.
I chose to start the Eagles series of books before I attempted The Emperor series, and I must say after reading the first 2 novels in this series I have no complaints.
The books are full of fast flowing action, if you read the books in sequential order the characters are actually well developed, and on whole the series is turning into a slick page turner.
Having studied the history behind the books, their is obviously lots wrong in the sense of as a previous reviewer pointed out, the humour between centurions and what not. But Simon Scarrow is a history teacher in his own right, and has obviously allowed some artistic license.
If you take the series for what it is, a damn good adventure book, you'll enjoy every page you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 4 Sep 2003
By 
Neo Man (Alconbury, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
Probably the most exciting adventure for Macro and Cato so far in the series (admittedly that's three books - but if Scarrow can keep improving then fans of historical novels are in for a rare treat).
After the Roman governor of Britain loses his family to some wild druids Macro and Cato are called in to search for them and if possible rescue them. A tall task to ask of anyone, but as ever the lads are game and get stuck into the enemy as only they know how. But this time they have the help of one Prasutagus and his fiery bride to be Boudica.
The adventure is gripping and literally page turning, and hte characrters play off each other like seasoned Quentin Tarantino pros. The dialogue is crisp and credible, and the language is exactly what you would expect from soldiers. This is no prissy Cornwell novel, these guys are three-dimensional with all the failings of real people. That's why the series is so successful; despite the fact that we know Macro and Cato are going to get out of whatever hot water they are in, their escape is never signposted and the reader is kept on tenterhooks right up until whatever qualified victory they achieve at the end.
Frankly, a military adventure series doesn't get any better than this and when you compare it to the swathe of poor quality fiction set in Rome that finds its way into bookshops, Scarrow's books shine out like a jewel in a middle of the midden (to coin a phrase).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior, realistic 1st C AD Roman Army historical fiction. Highly recommended., 7 July 2007
By 
Achaean (Patras, Achaea, Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
This is the 3rd book in Scarrow's Roman History series. The other books, properly numbered, are: 1. Under the Eagle, 2. The Eagle's Conquest, 4. The Eagle and the Wolves, 5. The Eagle's Prey, 6. The Eagle's Prophecy, 7. The Eagle in the sand.

This novel is set during the reign of Emperor Claudius (full name Titus Claudius Nero Germanicus) and follows the fictitious lives of two Roman Army Officers during the campaign season of AD 43 in Britain, Optio (Sgt.) Quintus Licinius CATO and Centurion (Cpt.) Lucius Cornelius MACRO.
Centurion Macro and Optio Cato are serving with the II Legion Augusta, one of the historically most famous Roman legions that played a crucial role in the conquest and subjugation of Ancient Celtic Britain. They are under the command of Legatus (Legion Commander) Vespasian,the famous future emperor Titus Flavius Vespasianus.

One of the characters starring in this book is Boudicca, a.k.a Boadicea or Boadicaea, none else than the historically famous later queen of the Iceni tribe (lived in the vicinity of modern Norfolk), as well as her husband-to-be and future King of the Iceni, Prasutagus. A statue of Boadicaea stands today near Westminster Pier, London.

In this novel, the family of Gen. Aulus Plautius, Commander of the Roman Expeditionary Force in Britain are kidnapped by servants of a fictitious druid sect that honours the dark Celtic God Lud (actually LLUD, a dark deity honoured as the ruling God of Celtic Britain whose temple once stood in London's Ludgate, named after him). It falls to Macro and Cato to attempt a commando operation with the help of both Boudicca and Prasutagus in order to save them.

I highly recommend this book, as well as each and every book in the series, to fans of Roman military history. Scarrow does a very succesfull job in recreating the atmosphere of the era, and it actually feels like as if you, the reader, are actually a member of the "third century sixth cohort" there side by side with Macro and Cato, living their life, fighting their battles, experiencing their agonies. I have just finished reading the whole series (all 7 books) for the third time, and I still want more of it.

My sole complaint of Scarrow is, that he writes his books from the Roman historical perspective (it is as if you read an account of the lives of two Roman Army Veterans written by a third Roman) and he sometimes fails in writing more detail about the fascinating ancient indigenous European cultures that his heroes encounter, namely the ancient Celto-British culture and the ancient Germanic and Celto-Gallic cultures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 July 2005
By 
S. A. Town "Simon" (Ashford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
AD 44 and Macro and Cato have been on sabbatical, but in typical Scarrow style, not for long! They are soon thrust into the action as the wife and children of General Plautius are taken hostage by the Druids of the Dark Moon, and only this Centurion and his Optio can save them from an unpleasant end!
Scarrow continues the adventures of Macro and Cato in confident style and as is typical of his series the pace gathers inexorably as the book progresses, to the point at which I could quite literally not put it down!
If you enjoy high adventure, and non stop action then this series is without doubt for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When the Eagle Hunts
When the Eagle Hunts by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 2 Oct 2008)
7.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews