Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, adventure, intrigue- All of Under The Eagle and more
If you thought Under The Eagle was a good read, you're in for a real treat. The Eagles Conquest follows directly on from the first book without breaking stride. Macro, Cato, the rest of the sixth century, second legion and their commander Vespasian are hurled into battles and confrontations both with the sword and with political intrigue. The Britons proove formidable...
Published on 24 Aug 2001

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Book Like an Espisode of a Saturday Morning Cartoon
I had high hopes for this book. As an avid history buff, I have enjoyed Bernard Cornwell's accounts of the latter years of Britain and had hoped for some more of the same sort of writing with Simon Scarrow.

Unfortunately, the two are incomparable. Simon's novel starts out feeling a bit like an 80s US Army boot camp kind of film, then morphs into feeling like a...
Published on 3 Oct 2010 by Histo Ry buff


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars second novel but far from second best, 15 Jan 2006
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Eagle's Conquest (Paperback)
Macro and Cato are at it again and I for one am very happy they are. This is a very good second novel in the series after 'Under the eagle', with as much action and adventure. The main characters do develop though not much (I wouldn't want them to), and at times it's funny to meet historical characters one knows from other novels too (such as Vespasian). Keep up the good work Simon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macro and Cato do it again, 1 July 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Conquest (Paperback)
Macro and Cato are tested to their limits in this sequel to "Under The Eagle". I felt for Cato who is discovering there's more to life and relationships than the simple and trusting view he holds. I enjoyed reading the about the logistical challenges the Century faces and how they realise the britons are not the only problem. The author has brought to bear his knowledge of Roman History to put together an enjoyable adventure which I'm sure can be related to by most soldiers. The attempt to keep everything within a historical context of the time to give more fabric than lesser researched books of the period makes this a far more enjoyable read than it otherwise would have been. I think authors with a deep knowledge of their subject area for use in fiction are definitely the way forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Riproaringly Good Read, 21 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Eagle's Conquest (Paperback)
The Eagle's Conquest the second Simon Scarrow book tells of Macro and Cato's life as the Roman army invades Britain. Following on from the first book the Eagle's Conquest is just as good, if not better. It has a fast pace which keeps you reading and means you're always looking forward to the next time you can sit down and immerse yourself in life in a Roman legion.
I first got interested in the books thanks to the remark from Bernard Cornwell "I really don't need this kind of competition". It is a fair comment and I suggest that anyone who enjoys Bernard Cornwell will enjoy the Simon Scarrow books. There were however some things I didn't enjoy about the book. The descriptions of lovesick Cato as he tirelessly stalks Lavinia I find rather boring (even if they are intricate to the plot). The main reason however why I only gave the book a four star rating is because of the general writing style. Although Simon Scarrow obviously has a great mind for writing good stories I found I kept thinking of his writing style as somehow lacking the integrity of Bernard Cornwell's almost 'airport fiction' style. This and the parts which I just could not get my head round like the Elephants in Britain, the Boudica reference at the end and the endless descriptions of how idiotic and stupid the Emperor Claudius is.
Overall this book is very good and will keep you reading late into the night I also liked the addition of a historical note at the end. So keep up the good work Mr. Scarrow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Book Like an Espisode of a Saturday Morning Cartoon, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Eagle's Conquest (Paperback)
I had high hopes for this book. As an avid history buff, I have enjoyed Bernard Cornwell's accounts of the latter years of Britain and had hoped for some more of the same sort of writing with Simon Scarrow.

Unfortunately, the two are incomparable. Simon's novel starts out feeling a bit like an 80s US Army boot camp kind of film, then morphs into feeling like a Saturday morning cartoon, before eventually ending like an Austin Powers film - with a villain detailing his whole evil plot at the moment of expected climax.

The result is a novel that is undeveloped, cliche, immature, and not placed at all in the era you expect. A good historical author takes into account contemporary language and culture into the story, but this author has just focused instead on the events. It makes the whole era seem like it was just lived 20 years ago, instead of 2,000 years ago.

If you want a good historical account, stick to the greats. Simon Scarrow is not one of those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eagles conquest? It does!, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Michael Byrne (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Conquest (Paperback)
Second in the series of life in Roman army based on to main characters Marco and Cato. Books are easy to read well written and at times pages cant turn quick enough to find out whats happening.
Although set in Roman times books are written in modern style which will have you laugh out loud on occasions.If you enjoyed Sharpe well these are on a par and set some 1800 years before. Look forward to next in series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best read I've had in years, 6 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Eagle's Conquest (Hardcover)
The first thing that attracted me to this book was the cover. Saw it in a bookshop and just had to have a look. Then I dipped into the opening chapter, and ended up buying the thing. Took it home and read it in a weekend before going back to the shop to see if there was anything else I could get hold of by this marvellous writer. It was only then that I discovered Under The Eagle - the book that comes before this one! Just wish I'd got them in the right ordrer. Anyway, onto the book. Wonderful characters, beautiful descriptions and nerve-wracking battle sequences. I'd be surprised if this wasn't a movie before long. It should be. This guy has some talent, and I'll be looking out for every book in ther series (assuming that it's more than just the three books that is.)
So, go out and get yourself this, and the earlier book. You're in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable!, 14 April 2006
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Eagle's Conquest (Paperback)
Following straight on from the first book we find the characters, Macro and Cato on British soil with the legions awaiting the next movements in the invasion. Battles and skirmishes by the bucket load, all written in a fast paced way, giving the reader a sense of the tension and melee of battle.

There are more revelations of plots and sub plots from all the various characters, with the consequences of their actions played out and still providing unexpected surprises and intrigue. There are plenty of twists and turns in the lives of Macro and Cato too.

Again the author gives the reader a real sense of the life in the Roman legions. By including such rich characters as Vespasian and Vitellius the reader is given a top quality book.

The book goes through to the victory and gain of Camulodunum, and of course the path to that point is littered with political and personal games.

Excellent 2nd book of an excellent series; highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare thing - the sequel is even better than the first book, 28 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Eagle's Conquest (Paperback)
I really enjoyed Scarrow's first book, Under The Eagle, and not being one who buys hardbacks I had to wait an age for this. But the good news is it was more than worth it. Besides the incredible battle sequences, which are the most vivid I have ever read, particularly the crossing of the Thames - made Saving Private Ryan look a bit tame, besides all that, Cato and Macro are more rounded out and I'm really getting into them. They talk like real soldiers and yet are thinking feeling men too. Sometimes they made me laugh out loud. When I finished the book (and what a nasty little hook Scarrow has planted there!) I felt very sad the whole thing was over. So much so that I might even break the habit of a lifetime and buiy the hardback of his third book when it comes out in August!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Roman Military Page-turner as the author intended, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't think I'd enjoy a military book but Simon Scarrow packs enough suspense into his books for me to enjoy them nevertheless and soak up some history to boot. Macro & Cato's characters are engaging and disparate which makes their interactions interesting. Not too heavyweight but engaging and I find the books (& this one in particular) as thrilling as anything Lee Child has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story full of history in the best Scarrow tradition, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly good read, love the history and detail, the story line provides a great basis for more books that I look forward to reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eagle's Conquest
The Eagle's Conquest by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 2 Oct 2008)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews