Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beach House - Worth the wait? YES!!!
I'd felt like I'd been waiting for this book for a very long time, and just like all other James Patterson fans who read the book will tell you, it was really worth the wait.
Suspense, frustration, romance, this book has it all. Jack Mullen, the main character, is a young law graduate who with the help of his closest friends and grandfather, Macklin, try to gain...
Published on 27 July 2002 by Mr. K. S. Love

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled by the ending!
Firstly I admit to reading nearly all of his books so this isnt entirely negative. The story does grab you early on as do most of his books but the problem with this one is that he has rushed the ending too much. I dont want to give anything away but needless to say you feel like there should have been another 10 to 15 chapters at the end. The characters are again easy to...
Published on 6 Sep 2003 by Mr. D. J. Moody


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beach House - Worth the wait? YES!!!, 27 July 2002
By 
Mr. K. S. Love "softy 666" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beach House (Paperback)
I'd felt like I'd been waiting for this book for a very long time, and just like all other James Patterson fans who read the book will tell you, it was really worth the wait.
Suspense, frustration, romance, this book has it all. Jack Mullen, the main character, is a young law graduate who with the help of his closest friends and grandfather, Macklin, try to gain justice for the suspicious death of his younger brother Peter. Working for a rich family, peter's death is covered up by lies and bribes, Jack sees this and his frustration grows. Their quest for justice is not so simple and on their journey other deaths and events turn this into a masterpiece of the suspense genre, and cannot fail to impress.
Short snappy chapters make this novel too hard to put down, a guaranteed success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a badly directed film, 22 July 2006
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Beach House (Paperback)
What is wrong with The Beach House? Far more than is right with it, that's for sure. The characters feel one-dimensional and pretentious, the plot is laughably unrealistic and the whole thing reads like a rejected Hollywood script. This is not the James Patterson we know, the Patterson who had readers gasping in shock at the dramatic conclusion of Roses are Red, and hooked from start to finish on the brilliant Cat and Mouse.

The Beach House isn't THAT terrible. It's readable, and you do want to get to the end, but the moment the book reaches the long 'courtroom' scene, it loses all semblance of credibility, which was thin to begin with. And it's a shame to see Patterson waste his talents in this way, collaborating with Peter de Jonge, who is clearly not up to the job. Best avoided by all except diehard James Patterson fans who want to complete their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled by the ending!, 6 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. D. J. Moody "davemoody2" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beach House (Paperback)
Firstly I admit to reading nearly all of his books so this isnt entirely negative. The story does grab you early on as do most of his books but the problem with this one is that he has rushed the ending too much. I dont want to give anything away but needless to say you feel like there should have been another 10 to 15 chapters at the end. The characters are again easy to envisage in your mind as real people and you genuinely begin to hate the villans in the book. I don't know if his associations with other authors are as good as his own works but if you like James Patterson and his style of writing I think you will enjoy it, but there are better books of his to read first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 20 Feb 2003
By 
Penny Harvey "penhar" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beach House (Paperback)
Fast paced, action packed read. A handsome playboy is murdered on the beach where he is working as a valet during the most exclusive part of the season. However, the police and everyone else state that this is not a murder but either accident or suicide. His brother, family and friends set out to prove he was murdered. Witnesses are threatened, bought and murdered, the characters are very well drawn from Jack (it's his brother who was murdered on the beach), through to the multi-millionaire who can buy anyone or anything.
As the groups of friends begin to lose their jobs and receive death threats the inquest determines that Peter did die accidentally and so Jack begins his research and with Pauline, an investigator for a law firm - and love interest, they work at proving the inquest wrong and bringing the perpetrator to justice.
Beautifully written, but with James Pattersons very short chapters - no Mr Patterson it does not make you think good I've finished a chapter I'll fo to bed, work etc., it makes you think - I'll just read another one it won't take long. Hence the reason I usually read his books in one sitting.
If you like Patterson you will enjoy this both the plot line and the characters are excellent. Buy, read and enjoy - just remember - justice isn't always what it seems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very dissapointing, 31 Aug 2007
By 
Al (Farnborough, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beach House (Paperback)
Regular readers of James Patterson's books will be aware of his technique of writing some chapters in the first person, through the eyes of the main character, and other chapters in the third person - as he has done in the Alex Cross series. In this book he takes it a stage further, and it does not work for me. All chapters are written in the first person, but through the eyes of a succession of different characters. I lost track of who is talking about who, and the characters are not built up sufficiently because it's always "I", rather than a third party giving those important snippets of information that paint the characters.

I did not finish this book as I found it very frustrating to read and the story didn't seem to be developing - but that's probably down to the writing style.

I have been a keen reader of James Patterson's books for a while now, but he has written some dodgy ones lately, and this is definitely his worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair to middling, 9 Aug 2002
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Beach House (Hardcover)
I am a bit undecided on this book. For starters, it tends to be a bit short. The writing is thin and the plot is a bit underdeveloped, as are the characters. they are not really indivdual (apart form the dead man) and if they didnt have names, you could hardly tell the apart. There are the "good" guys and the "bad" guys, all sharing the same traits as being epitomised of both those states of moralism.
However, its exciting and very fast paced. Its original, but stereotypical in its "rich" people are bad, so the poor downtrodden working-classes are quitissentialy good.
Something in the style didnt quite sit right, either. the writing style is as underdeveloped and poor as ever, but it didnt feel like Patterson. I have a feeling that de Jonge had quite a large hand in the writing (if not the plotting) of this book. Speaking of plotting...its exciting yes, but there werent really so many twists as we come to expect, and hardly any of the chapter end in the cliffhanging style we are used to. They just sort of stop, as if to chapter break anywhere would do, as long as the chapters end up short. (And in this novel, the chapters are getting a little TOO short. Too short and they halt development of plot or character.)
The ending was really exciting and totally unexpected, original but completely unbelieveable. Melodramatic and over the top, but still holds the attention of the reader, and still remains enjoyable until the last.
This is not a great Patterson, but for his fans, its probably average. Decidedly so. It's a good Beach read for those who have a couple of hours to fill and dont want too much lit-crit material to concentrate over, and it passes quite quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another mindblowing read, 24 April 2003
By 
This review is from: The Beach House (Paperback)
I love James Pattersons books, as usual after reading the first 4 pages of The Beach House I was hooked and couldnt put it down,
Jack Mullen a law student has come home to see his family and is greeted with the news of his younger brother death, the police say its suicide but Jack knows his brother better than that and sets about finding the real reasons for his death, lots of twists and turns and the finale is brilliant.
Roll on Pattersons next novel, i cant wait!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWERFUL READING OF PATTERSON AT HIS PEAK, 17 July 2002
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beach House (Audio CD)
Bestselling author James Patterson hits pay dirt again with another co-authored thriller, The Beach House, in which a Columbia University Law student, Jack Mullen, sets out to avenge the murder of his younger brother.
Gil Bellow, star of TV's "The Agency" and a cast member of "Ally McBeal" gives riveting reading of this who-dun-it-and-why set in Long Island, home of the wealthy and wannabes.
When Jack is informed of his brother's death the police report that Peter was drowned. It's obvious to Jack that Peter was beaten - not by the waves.
With the assistance of an attractive female private detective and some friends Jack sets out to find revenge and truth. It seems Peter was involved in surprising ways with some of the richest folks around. Thus, Jack's quest pits him against money and power.
"The Beach House" is Patterson at his popular peak, and Gil Bellows in a powerful performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JP - A writer with a playful imgination, courage & spirit!!, 24 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Beach House (Paperback)
I loved this book fromt he opening scene with the motorbike speeding along to ocean road towards the house where the party is at. The book is full of cool characters and JP adds the sexual intrigue so common in many of his books (I was however glad nobody was blindfolded in this one). Anyway this is great, go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow how does he do it?, 18 July 2003
This review is from: The Beach House (Paperback)
This in my mind is one of the best James patterson books ever. As usual you are hooked by the contents right from the start and drawn deep into the book, which you'll never want to put down.
Even though I thoroughly enjoy his usual style which includes Dr Alex Cross this is a nice refreshing change. With plenty to keep you guessing James Patterson has done it again. will he ever dissapoint?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beach House
The Beach House by James Patterson And Peter De Jonge (Paperback - 5 Aug 2010)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews