Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It;s good but not the best
I read this book in a day, couldn't put it down.. The short chapters were frustrating, 128 chapters in a 200 plus page book - come on JP, The books good, especially if you've read earlier JP books with the story of Alex Cross. However the ending is not plausible, it's a shock but after reading earlier works you'd expect some kind of pointer from the earlier Novels. I...
Published on 14 Jan 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holds you attention
I have to admit James Patterson can certainly hold your attention. His story moved at an excellent pace and had good plotting, at least to start off with. What is annoying though is the use of chapters. He keeps them way too short - how can a chapter possibly be two hundred words, for example? The huge number of chapters, and blank pages in between, led to a very...
Published on 14 Nov 2001 by Emanon


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It;s good but not the best, 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Roses are Red (Hardcover)
I read this book in a day, couldn't put it down.. The short chapters were frustrating, 128 chapters in a 200 plus page book - come on JP, The books good, especially if you've read earlier JP books with the story of Alex Cross. However the ending is not plausible, it's a shock but after reading earlier works you'd expect some kind of pointer from the earlier Novels. I was frantically guessing who the mastermind was, not a chance - come on James get real or at least give a good explanation in the next one. Very enjoyable book though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 26 April 2004
This review is from: Roses are Red (Paperback)
This is by far and away the best Alex Cross book to date - I have read allof them and the twist at the end of this one was THE most unexpected turnof events!
I would say that you have to read the previous books tofully apreciate the explosive revelation at the end of thisone.
Violets are Blue was a little disappointing, but what do youexpect when he keeps on turning them out at this rate?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holds you attention, 14 Nov 2001
By 
Emanon (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roses are Red (Paperback)
I have to admit James Patterson can certainly hold your attention. His story moved at an excellent pace and had good plotting, at least to start off with. What is annoying though is the use of chapters. He keeps them way too short - how can a chapter possibly be two hundred words, for example? The huge number of chapters, and blank pages in between, led to a very short book. Did anyone else notice this? This book couldn't have been more than 50,000 words.
I have to agree with other readers, the ending is clumsy. The very final part is not bad, but the build up to it is not well handled.
- All in all, a bit of an odd book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stop before the Last Two Pages ... or Skip Violets are Blue, 2 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roses are Red (Paperback)
Caution: This book contains much graphic slaughter of the innocents and the guilty. If such things offend you, avoid this book. Also, Mr. Patterson likes to use vulgar language to provide a sense of colloquial English that may also put off some.
I'm serious about stopping before the last two pages. In fact, cover them with a sheet of paper so you don't accidentally see anything on it. Reading the last two pages of Roses Are Red will reduce the attractiveness of this story to you, and eliminate most of the potential pleasure you can experience in Violets Are Blue, the next Alex Cross novel. The last two pages of Roses Are Red simply should have been edited out! Be cautious about which reviews you read of this book also, because some reviews reveal the material on those two pages . . . the ultimate in giving away a spoiler!
Mr. Patterson's strength is writing plots that are well paced, varied, surprising, and unusual. I thought that his plotting in Roses Are Red was unusually good. You will find yourself racing through the book, wanting to find out what's going on and who's behind it all.
The book's main theme is crime as a work of art expressing the ingenuity of a brilliant, but twisted criminal. As a result, the crimes are mentally very challenging to understand. You will think that you are reading about the criminal plans of Dr. Moriarty, Sethos, and the Riddler combined.
The weaknesses of Mr. Patterson's Alex Cross novels are also present here. He doesn't really show any detection, just detectives chatting with each other interspersed with developments driven by the criminals. The characters are about as little developed as they could be and still be differentiated from one another. The dialogue often reads like detective fiction rather than real dialogue.
But if you feel that you have enjoyed other Alex Cross novels, you will definitely like this one.
After you read Violets Are Blue, come back and read the last two pages of Roses Are Red.
Where else can less be more? Would the story, "The Lady or the Tiger," have been as interesting to you if you knew how it turned out?
Grasp the exact solution to provide the most for the least effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Enjoyable Novel...Until The End., 28 July 2001
This review is from: Roses are Red (Paperback)
Alex Cross returns once more in James Patterson's 'Roses Are Red' and once more Patterson hits the right notes.
The story revolves around Detective Cross' attempts to track down a mysterious killer - the self styled Mastermind - whose particularly brutal in his methods and ensures that anyone who garners any information about him isn't alive to tell anyone.
Patterson's short chapters really help his books to move along at a fast pace and this ensures that 'Roses Are Red' has a whirlwind pace to it as it builds to it's conclusion.
And it's that which is where the problems start.
The ending felt like it was a cheat somehow, especially as there had been no indication of it coming and it seemed designed mainly to promote Patterson's next book in the series.
It's a shame that the ending left me feeling this way as otherwise it would have been an excellent book as good as many of Patterson's previous ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read something else!!!!, 24 Sep 2001
By 
M. U. GABRIELE (Livorno, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roses are Red (Paperback)
Where has the JP that I enjoyed so much gone? I've been so disappointed from the last couple of books (even the Weasel was so unrealistic, not to mention "When the wind blows"!!!) that I made up my mind to give up reading any future book by JP. I really thought that Alex Cross was cool and smart, even though still human. Now we have to cope with a sort of a super-hero with a perfect ever-happy family, whose feelings seem so unrealistic and unnatural. Even the plot wasn't that original (the namecode for the bank robbers is something already seen) and it leaves you without any explanation of the real motives of Mastermind. Finally, I don't want to be forced to buy the next book to find out the meaning of this one. I want to buy a new book because I enjoyed reading the previous one. It looks like a bad marketing technique!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stop before the Last Two Pages ... or Skip Violets are Blue, 2 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Caution: This book contains much graphic slaughter of the innocents and the guilty. If such things offend you, avoid this book. Also, Mr. Patterson likes to use vulgar language to provide a sense of colloquial English that may also put off some.
I'm serious about stopping before the last two pages. In fact, cover them with a sheet of paper so you don't accidentally see anything on it. Reading the last two pages of Roses Are Red will reduce the attractiveness of this story to you, and eliminate most of the potential pleasure you can experience in Violets Are Blue, the next Alex Cross novel. The last two pages of Roses Are Red simply should have been edited out! Be cautious about which reviews you read of this book also, because some reviews reveal the material on those two pages . . . the ultimate in giving away a spoiler!
Mr. Patterson's strength is writing plots that are well paced, varied, surprising, and unusual. I thought that his plotting in Roses Are Red was unusually good. You will find yourself racing through the book, wanting to find out what's going on and who's behind it all.
The book's main theme is crime as a work of art expressing the ingenuity of a brilliant, but twisted criminal. As a result, the crimes are mentally very challenging to understand. You will think that you are reading about the criminal plans of Dr. Moriarty, Sethos, and the Riddler combined.
The weaknesses of Mr. Patterson's Alex Cross novels are also present here. He doesn't really show any detection, just detectives chatting with each other interspersed with developments driven by the criminals. The characters are about as little developed as they could be and still be differentiated from one another. The dialogue often reads like detective fiction rather than real dialogue.
But if you feel that you have enjoyed other Alex Cross novels, you will definitely like this one.
After you read Violets Are Blue, come back and read the last two pages of Roses Are Red.
Where else can less be more? Would the story, "The Lady or the Tiger," have been as interesting to you if you knew how it turned out?
Grasp the exact solution to provide the most for the least effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who can Alex Cross trust - will he ever find love????????, 8 Nov 2000
This review is from: Roses are Red (Hardcover)
I am a massive fan of James Patterson but feel I need a one to one with him after Roses are Red!
As usual the storyline was fantastic and I like the short chapters it makes you read more - saying to yourself oh just ONE more chapter. However I did find that once they discovered the mental institution things moved too quickly and he could have elaborated so much more on the suspects. I am really disappointed with the ending. JP seemed to be racing through the story like a steam train and then at the end he ran out of fuel and copped out. Throughout I did have my doubts about the final baddie but I put those negative thoughts out of my mind as they were TOO unbelievable.
I too shouted NO at the end - it's too implausible. Please Mr Patterson don't go in that direction again, I can see where you are coming from and the ending does leave you to explore untold avenues in future novels but as Alex Cross has had so many tradegies - please can he finally find true love and I pray that Samson doesn't turn out to be the next knife wielding fiend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It aint as ridiculous as some suggest!, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Roses are Red (Paperback)
Unfortunately, catching a glimpse of the last line of the book before i embarked upon it, i knew who the Mastermind was right from the start.
So, knowing who it was, i was free to scrutinse every scene in which they were in, looking for clues and reasons. Some people say that it is a nonsensical conclusions, but really, it isnt. If you know who it is in advance, the conclusion does have a ring of truth about it.
at first, i did think, "what? Hell, that's ridiculous. no, no, no." but i was wrong.
again it was a great pageturner. again the plot was great, with lots of gruesome deaths without motive nor reason (apparently).
The pace speeds away, with death piling upon death, robbery upon robbery, familial crisis for Cross upon familial crisis.
it's a good thing that these books ARE so unbelieveable, otherwise anyone who read them would surely be disturbed for life.
they arent literature, by all means no. but they are great reads. i cant wait for Violets are Blue to come along and see where he takes it next.
a good book, with an ending that is only ridiculous if you dont know it beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars roller coaster ridewith plenty of twists, 19 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Roses are Red (Paperback)
a really good book which will have you glued to it day and night and you won't possibly be able to put this book down.Another novel based on the detective of Alex Cross a Washington detective with a pyschology background. Cross leads you through a number of a suspects to reveal the actual suspect which blows the whole book to bits and suggests that you can trust no one in life.excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roses are Red (Alex Cross)
Roses are Red (Alex Cross) by James Patterson (Paperback - 26 Nov 2009)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews