Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but no match for Alex Cross!
Patricia Cornwell was my first love when it came to crime thrillers. After reading her whole back-catalogue, however, I turned to James Patterson. I wasn't disappointed. The Alex Cross novels certainly do pack a punch.
In First To Die, Patterson introduces a new series of novels based around 'The Women's Murder Club', at the centre of which we find our heroine,...
Published on 24 Jan 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd chance
This book is a little disappointing. It isn't nearly as exciting as the first book in the series. However the story line starts to pick up in the second half.
Published 20 months ago by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but no match for Alex Cross!, 24 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Patricia Cornwell was my first love when it came to crime thrillers. After reading her whole back-catalogue, however, I turned to James Patterson. I wasn't disappointed. The Alex Cross novels certainly do pack a punch.
In First To Die, Patterson introduces a new series of novels based around 'The Women's Murder Club', at the centre of which we find our heroine, Lindsay Boxer.
Second Chance is the second (obviously) in the Women's Murder Club Series and it is as much of a page-turner as the first. It's definitely not the best thing Patterson has written, however, and the 'twist' in the story doesn't shock as much as that in 'Along Came a Spider' or in some of Patterson's other work.
Definitely worth reading but if you've never read Patterson before, head back to his earlier work like 'Along Came a Spider', 'Kiss the Girls' & 'Jack & Jill' before trying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After some very hit and miss affairs, he's back on track, 31 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 2nd Chance (Hardcover)
...Whilst this still doesn't contain the great writing he showed us in his first couple of books, it is still an excellent thriller. the plot is great, He doesn't overcomplicate it, and adds a really great twist at the end which works really well, precisely because it is simple. Yet still shocking and unexpected.
Character development has really been lacking in some of his latest books, but with this book the character development is very good. it's subtle so that you're not really aware of it, but it's definitely there. This time around the four women are much more rounded and believeable characters. His subsidiary characters are also drawn very well and effectively. They add weight to the story.
In Violets Are Blue there were far too many killings, practically one every ten pages. Here he has wisely cut down on the deaths. This adds much more emotion to the book, and we get time to feel sad at the character's deaths. As well as there actually being some real investigation, which makes for compelling reading (especially when Lindsay goes to visit Weiscz in the prison, a la "Silence of the Lambs").
The inclusion of Lindsay's father into the complex plot is good, and again gives weight to the story and Lindsay's character. It makes it more personal and interesting to read.
Overall, this is a very good thriller. Everything has been improved upon since his latest efforts. the plot is exciting, the book is a pageturner, full of emotion (which Patterson is undeniably very good at evoking). This new series is definitely going to shine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic mystery writing, 30 Aug 2002
This review is from: 2nd Chance (Hardcover)
I am an avid fan of mystery and crime thrillers and was a huge fan of Patricia Cornwell until I read James Patterson's novels. He is an excellent writer and this book is no exception. Twists and turns around every corner, although I did figure out early on who the killer was, there was still enough to keep you reading. Fantastic book and writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Patterson is back and better than ever!, 29 May 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2nd Chance (Hardcover)
I've been a huge fan of James Patterson for many years now and have revelled in the early Alex Cross murders and trudged through the later ones.
The Alex Cross books were formulaic and that worked in early books as the formula carried the plot whilst the characters were given depth. That same formula came unstuck in later books.
1st to Die and 2nd Chance represent a new "hero" (heroine/heroines) for Patterson and I was sceptical when I heard about the "womens murder club" (I thought he may have gone a bit Agatha Christie/Jane Marple on us ;) ) ..
But the two books are EXCELLENT reads and the second book fairly zings by with enough plot twists to keep everyone guessing. The characters flesh out before your eyes, and when characters talk about not seeing things at scenes-of-crimes you wonder how come you missed it too ! :)
I haven't heard of Andrew Gross before and don't know how much of a contribution he made to the collaboration. But I would suggest that at least some of the praise for this book rests on his shoulders.
Between them these two writers make a book you genuinely won't be able to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Plot with Weak Character Development, 22 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
You if enjoyed 1st to Die, you should definitely read 2nd Chance. The plot is even better this time, and you will probably be kept fascinated by this police procedural along the way. Even the patented Patterson "switcheroos" are not as annoying in this book as they are in many of his others.
The book is a quick read. Most chapters are 2-3 pages so there's a lot of white space.
Those who like action and fast-moving stories will find this book especially attractive. Those who like complex, constantly evolving characters will be disappointed. If you read 1st to Die, you know that the book has four female characters are part of its lead. I think it's hard for many male writers to tell stories that are convincing about female characters. I kept imagining how Sue Grafton would have handled the same story, and I missed the nuance and texture that her novels provide.
Lindsay Boxer from 1st to Die is now a homicide detective who's having a hard time adjusting to "normal" life after the events in 1st to Die. When a horrible shooting at a ghetto church happens, her old partner, Jacobi, asks her if she wants to take it on again. She decides to go ahead. Soon, there's a second death and Lindsay begins to suspect that their might be a serial killer involved . . . but she cannot make sense of the pattern except that it may be racially motivated.
The book uses a tried-and-true technique for stories about serial killers. The narration alternates between what the serial killer is doing and the police investigation. That leaves you comfortably ahead of the police, but not quite up to the serial killer. The story unwinds in a complexity and intimacy that are a rewarding variation on the usual "psycho" serial killer scenario found in so many books.
Mr. Patterson and Mr. Gross also manage to raise some good questions along the way about what the balance should be between one's commitment to work and to one's family and friends. Think about that as you read this story.
Be sure to start early in the evening . . . or you may miss some sleep due to this page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great twist at the end!!!!, 3 Jun 2005
I really enjoyed this book. I think James Patterson writes brillantly. I would recommend this book to any reader. It's not a book about a Women's Murder Club where the members are friends, it's about friends that happen to be in a Murder Club.
Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Chance, 11 Feb 2003
By A Customer
I have just finished reading this book in less than 3 days. It had me gripped from the begining to the very end. I could not put it down. You feel like a part of the story as you are reading it, the intensity keeps you turning the pages, whilst your mind is racing. A brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the First in the seriese, 29 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 2nd Chance (Hardcover)
I've just read it in one afternoon, it's so good I couldn't put it down. True to form James Patterson keeps the twists and turns going right up until the end.
There is more background information on the lead character Lindsey Boxer which in essential to the plot of the latest story. Along with Lindsey being promoted to Leuitenant something that followers of this series will know was an excellent achievement after events in First to Die. The womens murder club is drawn closer together with the turn of events that unfold throughout the book and it will have you griped to your seat in anticipation of what's to come.
I'm a big fan of Patterson's Alex Cross series and was a little let down by his first Womens Murder Club book. However this book has me gripped and waiting for more. I felt that James Patterson's writing in this book was similar to Patricia Cornwell's divertion from Kay Scarpetta, Judy Hammer and Andy Brazil. If you enjoyed those books you'll also enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Plot with Weak Character Development, 22 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
You if enjoyed 1st to Die, you should definitely read 2nd Chance. The plot is even better this time, and you will probably be kept fascinated by this police procedural along the way. Even the patented Patterson "switcheroos" are not as annoying in this book as they are in many of his others.
The book is a quick read. Most chapters are 2-3 pages so there's a lot of white space.
Those who like action and fast-moving stories will find this book especially attractive. Those who like complex, constantly evolving characters will be disappointed. If you read 1st to Die, you know that the book has four female characters are part of its lead. I think it's hard for many male writers to tell stories that are convincing about female characters. I kept imagining how Sue Grafton would have handled the same story, and I missed the nuance and texture that her novels provide.
Lindsay Boxer from 1st to Die is now a homicide detective who's having a hard time adjusting to "normal" life after the events in 1st to Die. When a horrible shooting at a ghetto church happens, her old partner, Jacobi, asks her if she wants to take it on again. She decides to go ahead. Soon, there's a second death and Lindsay begins to suspect that their might be a serial killer involved . . . but she cannot make sense of the pattern except that it may be racially motivated.
The book uses a tried-and-true technique for stories about serial killers. The narration alternates between what the serial killer is doing and the police investigation. That leaves you comfortably ahead of the police, but not quite up to the serial killer. The story unwinds in a complexity and intimacy that are a rewarding variation on the usual "psycho" serial killer scenario found in so many books.
Mr. Patterson and Mr. Gross also manage to raise some good questions along the way about what the balance should be between one's commitment to work and to one's family and friends. Think about that as you read this story.
Be sure to start early in the evening . . . or you may miss some sleep due to this page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good crime thriller, 3 Feb 2003
This review is from: 2nd Chance (Hardcover)
After reading the book before this "1st to die", I was eager to read this book to see whether Patterson could continue on the gripping storyline. After reading the book im pleased to say he has to some degree. 2nd Chance isnt the best book he's written but its still very exciting crime thriller book. The main character again, is Female detective Lindsay Boxer. The character of Boxer is nothign compared to his previous creation of Alex Cross. I recommend this book to any fans of Patterson and anyone who enjoys the crime/thriller genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2nd Chance (Womens Murder Club 2)
2nd Chance (Womens Murder Club 2) by Andrew Gross (Paperback - 16 April 2009)
8.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews