Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed it
I thought this episode in the Skinner saga was wonderful. I really enjoyed it and must have been reading a different book to the negative reviewers! Can't wait for the next instalment. The sub-plot with Alexis and Andy Martin was not unexpected or 'pointless' as someone commented, previous books have already revealed their history and I think this will develope in future...
Published on 1 Sept. 2011 by Alex Eavis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by ponderous dialogue and ropey characters
I have followed the Skinner series all the way through and feel that the last few novels have struggled badly.

We all know that Bob Skinner is a pastiche of a super-hero. He golfs excellently despite playing irregularly; he is the star of his football team; he's a crackshot with the guns; he has incredible insight; is (naturally) an unblemished detective and is...
Published on 17 May 2010 by I.P. Knightley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by ponderous dialogue and ropey characters, 17 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have followed the Skinner series all the way through and feel that the last few novels have struggled badly.

We all know that Bob Skinner is a pastiche of a super-hero. He golfs excellently despite playing irregularly; he is the star of his football team; he's a crackshot with the guns; he has incredible insight; is (naturally) an unblemished detective and is a superlative lover.

Even though we're prepared to accept all that, the plot, the relationships and the dialogue all become quite hard to bear.

The conversations are stilted. EVERY character has exactly the same speech mannerisms.

Many take 10 sentences to relate what would (by real people) be said in two. A lot of it is clumsy scene-setting where Jardine uses the characters to fill newcoming readers in on the back history. It's a device he's used in the past but it's now starting to really grate. If, in real life, a friend or colleague were to describe to me, in great detail, an event which I'd be involved in, I would quickly tire of it.

Lastly in my rant of disappointment: who, nowadays, uses the word "for" when they mean "because"?? (Apart from every character in a Quintin Jardine novel, of course!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Banal drivel from start to finish, 17 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A barely-credible plot, with implausible coincidences and connections; a pointless and irrelevant sub-plot involving his daughter and former best mate, and quite the most "convenient" promotion to high office.

Jardine still persists in using this awful device of having the characters speak to the reader instead of to each other. So much of the dialogue involves one character telling another things that he already knows, as a way of reminding the reader what happened in previous narratives.

This is quite the worst Skinner novel yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does Jardine presume we are all idiots?, 12 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would have considered this a good read, though not one of the best Skinner novels (I've bought them all), had it not been ruined for me once I spotted, very early on, the author's 'joke' in making this into a 'spot the crime-writer' game - totally ruining any possiblity of getting absorbed in the story. A great pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A low point for a usually enjoyable series, 14 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read the entire series - not proud of it but we all have our guilty pastimes. This is, by my lights, the most self-indulgent of the lot and one where Jardine's weaknesses overwhelm his strengths. You'll find the sudden, inexplicable (but for plot movement) changes of behaviour that his characters are prone to, the unguessable (because the author won't show you all the cards) denouement, Skinner solving it all with a "Hmmm" and a long stare into the distance... all the hallmarks of a Jardine mystery. Those are the good bits. The bad, in my view, are the over-indulgence in horribly clumsy puns, clanking meta-textual excursions, and Jardine's belief that rim-shot-accompanied, blatantly telegraphed authorial interjections will be read as light comic touches. I'll buy the next one - they don't call it a bad habit for nothing - but I do hope he sticks more firmly to action, melodrama and his well-conceived version of the real Edinburgh in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed it, 1 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Fatal Last Words (Skinner 19) (Paperback)
I thought this episode in the Skinner saga was wonderful. I really enjoyed it and must have been reading a different book to the negative reviewers! Can't wait for the next instalment. The sub-plot with Alexis and Andy Martin was not unexpected or 'pointless' as someone commented, previous books have already revealed their history and I think this will develope in future novels. The comment about the 'convenient' promotion I found a bit odd as at least the last five books have been leading up to it and it had to happen sometime! The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is because of the silly 'spot the crime writer' game, it soon became a distraction. As soon as I came across the character called Peedy James enough was enough! If you are new to the 'Bob Skinner' novels I would recommend you start at the beginning and get to know the colourful characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the way the writer manages to hold you in suspense during the whole book..always a great read...Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the lesser entries, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Last Words (Skinner 19) (Paperback)
One of the lesser entries from 2010 in the otherwise excellent Bob Skinner Crime Thriller series though your mileage may vary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the beach, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Last Words (Skinner 19) (Paperback)
Like all Skinner books a good story that moves along quickly and is easy to read. I love the short chapters .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this great as ever, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book it's a great read as always Jardine is as ever at his best Descriptive and a very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Last Words, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Jardine at his best.He keeps you in suspense until the end.Lookind forward to his next novel.
Would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fatal Last Words (Skinner 19)
Fatal Last Words (Skinner 19) by Quintin Jardine (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews