Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Disappoint
I'm a Brian Freeman fan, having read all his previous novels and was really looking forward to The Bone House. While it's not a Jonathan Stride led story, Cab Bolton, the lead investigator here, is just as good and makes for a good character. The story starts with a flash-back to a fire in a house where a young girl gets trapped inside what turns out to be a murder scene...
Published on 20 May 2011 by G. Nolan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brian Freeman - The Bone House
Hilary and Mark Bradley are trapped in a web of suspicion. Last year, accusations of a torrid affair with a student cost Mark his teaching job and made the young couple into outcasts in their remote island town off the Lake Michigan coast. Now another teenage girl is found dead on a deserted beach. . . and once again, Mark faces a hostile town convinced of his guilt...
Published on 29 April 2012 by molko


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Disappoint, 20 May 2011
By 
G. Nolan "book addict" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone House (Paperback)
I'm a Brian Freeman fan, having read all his previous novels and was really looking forward to The Bone House. While it's not a Jonathan Stride led story, Cab Bolton, the lead investigator here, is just as good and makes for a good character. The story starts with a flash-back to a fire in a house where a young girl gets trapped inside what turns out to be a murder scene. It then goes on to where she herself is murdered 6 years later and the main suspect is a teacher who was accused of having affair with her older sister, while he was her teacher, but it was never proved there was any affair, even the girl herself denied it. His wife is absolute in her trust and faith in her husband, and then it starts to look like it was maybe all connected to the fire many years before. However, there are some twists and turns and we are soon wondering what secrets really lie in Door County. Great read, full of suspense which will keep you on your toes. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a disappointment, 25 April 2011
This review is from: The Bone House (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Brians books, from his first book Immoral introducing Jonathan Stride....and I have enjoyed everyone of them....I have read lots of crime novels by well known Authors, but I am never as excited about new releases as I am with Brians....he has a style of writing that is easy to understand, read and does not lose the plot...at times you think you know 'who did it' but there is always that little twist where I say to myself (how clever....I didn't think of that!) Some reviewers may be disappointed that it is not another Stride novel....but hey, Cab's just as good and in many ways very similar to Stride! There are some hidden messages contained within this novel eg 'if you play with fire you get burned', 'no smoke without fire' but I guess it just depends on how deep a person you are or even how cynical you are...lol This book is all about a pro golfer who has an accident, becomes a teacher, then becomes entangled on speculation of having sex with one of his students, which in turn leads to murder of a member of that students family....is there a cover up, did he commit the crime, did he indeed have an affair...is his wife loyal, a fool or a true believer in faith, love and trust???? Make your own mind up....read the novel first! If you like crime novels? try it, do you like chapters that leave you wanting more? do you like novels where you cannot put the book down? Do you like to second guess the author? Do you like a good crime story that is easy to read with a realistic feel to it?? If yes, then go on, try it, what you gotta lose?? Enjoy x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone House (Paperback)
I discovered Brain Freeman a couple of years ago and quickly added him to my list of must-read crime authors (think Harlen Coben, Karin Slaughter et al). I found this book a bit heavy going to begin with but once I was into it I couldn't put it down and stayed up very late one night to see how it ended! Its a story full of moral questions and ambiguity...do we really know what the truth is and do we really trust those we love when you cant actually see what they are thinking. A couple of good twists and turns, can't say more spoilers! If you have never read Brian Freeman before I would highly recommend trying him out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable page turner, 25 April 2011
This review is from: The Bone House (Paperback)
I was first introduced to Brian Freeman through his book The Burying Place, then The Watcher, both of which i found highly enjoyable. When i seen his latest offering, The Bone House, i didn't hesitate in buying it.

The book begins 6 years ago, with the then 6 year old Glory Fischer being witness to a terrible fire, which claims the lives of three people. Traumatised, she closes out the details of that terrible night, and fast-forward 10 years to the present day, her life has derailed into one of drugs, wild parties and sex. Glory and boyfriend Troy accompany Glory's sister Tresa to a dance event in Florida, where her past meets with present day and leaves Glory murdered on the beach.

Mark and Hilary Bradley are also at the dance event. Hilary is a teacher, and whilst Mark used to be, it was Tresa that ruined his career. Her obsession with Mark, put doubts in the minds of his small town community, and he has been shunned as a pervert ever since. As soon as Florida detective Cab Bolton finds out Mark was at the same resort as Glory, he becomes prime suspect once again.

As the story moves from Florida back to their hometown of Door County, it picks up pace to an ending of more murder and suspicion......

I found this book thoroughly enjoyable, even though i did guess the ending. I thought Freeman did a great job of describing the remote-ness of Door County and that of small town community life. Whilst i agree with the other reviewer that this won't win any literary awards (and i'm not sure Freeman is intending it too), it is perfect for some pure escapism reading.

If you've never been disappointed by Freeman's other offerings, or you'd like to try something new, then i'd advise buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant - as per usual !, 4 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone House (Hardcover)
brilliant - best crime author around. new characters but still the pace of the stride/ dial books with the same interesting foibles of the characters - great! read if you want an exciting crime read and then read the earlier books. with freeman's books you always feel you have read a novel rather than a churned out read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why can I never guess who DID IT?, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone House (Kindle Edition)
I love this man's books, they are full of page turning, twist plotting, leading you on with little excerpts so that you think, they've done it, no she's done it, could he have done it?

Mark Bradley had it all, a beautiful sexy wife, a career as a teacher, until he had been accused of an affair with a pupil, he was never charged because the pupil insisted it was all in her imagination. He was however, let go and since had not worked. Previously he had been a pro golfer until he had an accident, but was this just that an innocent accident?

The Bone House, a place where a fire some years ago had killed many members of one family, the man accused had escaped from custody. He is still on the loose. What does the Sheriff have to do with all of this, he is not as innocent as he should be.

Meet Cab Bolton the detective in charge of the murder of a young girl, Glory Fischer the sister of the girl whom Mark Bradley was accused of having an affair with. It just so happens that Mark Bradley had met with Glory the night of her murder on the beach, is he innocent or guilty?

Another teacher is also present Gary Jensen, he gives some of the girls the creeps, his wife died a couple of years ago, did he kill her? has he killed Glory, and is he going to kill Amy one of his pupils who swears she saw him on the beach with Glory the night of her murder.

Or could it be Troy, Glory's boyfriend, has he had enough of her ways, and lost his temper. Or is it none of these people and someone we never thought of.
You will just have to read it for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bone House, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone House (Paperback)
A different type of novel by Brian Freeman, which at first I thought I would not get into but as the story line develops you find it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone House (Paperback)
The Bone House by Brian Freeman is a thrilling read. The story keeps you engrossed right from the very first page. I greatly enjoyed the plot line, Freeman's smooth and flowing style and the unexpected turn of events described in the final chapters. As in all Freeman novels there is a wonderful twist in the tale at the very end which makes the book memorable. In this particular book the twist at the ending is simply superb. Overall the book is excellent and I would highly recommend it to all those looking for an absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone House (Paperback)
brian freemans books are always a good read. easy to put down and pick up again. i would suggest it as a good book to take on yr holidays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brian Freeman - The Bone House, 29 April 2012
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bone House (Paperback)
Hilary and Mark Bradley are trapped in a web of suspicion. Last year, accusations of a torrid affair with a student cost Mark his teaching job and made the young couple into outcasts in their remote island town off the Lake Michigan coast. Now another teenage girl is found dead on a deserted beach. . . and once again, Mark faces a hostile town convinced of his guilt.

Hilary Bradley is determined to prove that Mark is innocent, but she's on a lonely, dangerous quest. Even when she discovers that the murdered girl was witness to a horrific crime years earlier, the police are certain she's throwing up a smoke screen to protect her husband. Only a quirky detective named Cab Bolton seems willing to believe Hilary's story.

If you like the genre you'll probably like this enough. However this just isn't up to the standards of Freeman's earlier books featuring Jonathan Stride and Serena Dial. Freeman tries to involve too many plots but just doesn't develop each of them enough. And what makes matters worse is that the basic story itself isn't all that interesting. Maybe worth a look if you enjoy Freeman but I wouldn't particularly recommend, there's better out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bone House
The Bone House by Brian Freeman (Paperback - 14 April 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews