Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarrow getting emotional !!
This is the 8th novel in Simon Scarrow's excellent series of books about Centurions Macro and Cato, and follows on from the `Eagles In The Sand'.

Book Summary : After a surprise attack by the Partians, Macro and Cato are ordered by Longinus to set out as a forward relief column to help King Vabathus of Palmyra, who has taken refuge in his cities own citadel...
Published on 11 Sep 2008 by Mr. R. Coleman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay
Bulk standard cato Macro book same formmat as some of the earlier ones starting to get boarded with the series
Published 19 months ago by rick


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Centurian, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Story about the rise to fame of a young roman and his 'older' companion who can be a bit of a naughty boy who needs a bit of saving from the younger and allagedly sensible companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BOOK, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
FANTASTIC BOOK good authour and story, I am not a critic. what do you want an essay.i have got 55 of these to write and dont have time for all this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Centurion, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes the reader to the eastern side of the Roman Empire highlighting the different conditions that they needed to fight under. Another good book from Simon Scarrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading escapism which keeps the pages turning, 19 Jan 2012
By 
R. Perkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Got this out of our local library a few days ago, and to begin with was pretty impressed. However now I've got further into Centurion, I'm increasingly disappointed.

It's difficult to know what dialogue to put into the mouths of first century Romans, but I think Scarrow's dialogue will look well dated in the not too distant future.

It's bold to write a novel about the first century Roman Empire, but actually this is not in my view what we have here. It's actually a novel about modern people, thinking in modern ways, and is set in first century Palmyra, but is not in my view really about first century Palmyra.

Seems to me that the author has tried to produce a book that tries to open up his love of Rome to modern minds, and to make it accessible to lay people. However, in my view, he's leaned so far over in this, that he's now parted too far from reality.

Personally I wouldn't look here for any insights into the first century Roman Empire.

If you enjoy an easy reading novel without many pretensions to realism, then it can be enjoyed as a piece of escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The devious Palmyrians, 10 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Hardcover)
BRIEF STORY DETAILS - SLIGHT SPOILERS

First century AD - Rome faces danger from Parthia and hopes neutral Palmyra will help but the Palmyrian royal household is divided. While Parthia and Rome plan their attacks to capture Palmyra, Centurions Macro and Cato are sent behind enemy lines. Unsure of who their real enemies are, it is a desperate situation as the future of the Empire hangs in the balance.

SAFE READING _ NO SPOILERS

I have read all the "Eagle" series in order, followed the careers of Cato and Macro with great interest and eagerly await the already pre-ordered "Praetorian".
Not the heights of Literature (nor pretending to be), but well-written nevertheless, the series is filled with his great depth of knowledge, enthusiasm for and interest in the Romans.
Cunningly peopled with all the names from our history lessons - Vespasian, Cladius, Caratacus, Boudica - and the Roman campaigns to extend the Empire but centred on two Roman soldiers who become unlikely close friends, Macro and Cato, their careers and friendship carries the stories along. Following them closely allows the intimate details of human life to be in the forefront while the everyday lives of Roman soldiers and the political intrigues of the Roman Empire provide the backdrop.
Despite the occasional feeling of deja vu and his tendency to describe everything in great detail, I recommend it.

PS I found it helpful to have a one-page list of Roman army ranks, which I used as a bookmark, and I had the odd glance at ancient maps (not mine I hasten to add!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soldiers life, 24 Jun 2010
By 
D. ONeil "David O'Neil." (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
Normally when there is a series of books following the career of a Hero or group, the books become formulaic. In Centurion Simon Scarrow demonstrates that despite the ongoing story of Macro and Cato, the military background to the story reinforces the strength of the human story between the two. The advancement of Cato occurs as naturally as you anticipate in real life. The talented man takes his proper positionand like all the rest of us, then demonstrates why he is in the right place. The plot in this book is quite intricate. but the history of the period is littered with recorded examples of such events and the twists and turns of the plotters are noted, and countered by Cato, backed by the bludgeon of Macro's military expertise.It was difficult to put down, so I didn't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Centurion, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Luke Thrower (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
This is Simon Scarrows 8th book , charting the army life of now prefect Macro and his centurion Cato. This book sees the lads leaving the roman legions behind and sent to the middle east a hotbed of religion and politics.
But as romes old foe parthia hears of their presence an attack is launched, and so the epic battle for palmyra begins. Will the brave heroes hold out , only to add a few more hundred miles to romes empire?

===Story===
Like Scarrows previous adventures this story mixes battles , brotherhood and army life, as well as a new love interest for one of the characters.
Scarrows ability to mix the gore and anger of battle, with the emotions and relationship of the two men make this story , and all of the previous ones exciting page turners. The thing that is surprising is how a story which is similar in every book can be kept fresh and exciting, the general storyline is of a thrilling battle in which the two men fight almighty odds to win. But the subtle changes and gradual growth of the two , as well as changes of scenery make this an enthralling adventure that you cant put down.

===Characters===
Macro is now prefect of the second illyrian, a middle east cohort made to protect the area. He is the harsh but fair veteran of the army, ever since Cato's arrival he has been like a father although showing it through anger and sarcasm, It's a little like JD and DR cox relationship in scrubs. The situations he has faced has made Cato a strong ally and one of Macro's few freinds. He also offers some light relief through one liners and his pure uncaring for what people think.
Cato was born out of Rome, a young , scrawny man who liked poetry and literature. Thrown into the army he has grown to be a respected man with honour vastly ahead of his age. He is often the brains of the operations but also the most emotional, numerous times he has questioned the army but he is resigned to respecting it.
They are both written so well and have such a realism about them.

===Extra===
Centurion also features a short story at the end , which tells the story of how Macro became the man he is and how he came into the army. This really follows on from the information gained in The eagle in the sand , about Macro's father and his family. This was an intresting read and it showed how Macro had to rapidly change considering the situation.

===Info===
499 pages - main story , average sized print.
34 pages - Blood debt

===Overall===
A return to good writing after the slightly poor Eagle in the sand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How does he do it?, 16 April 2010
By 
Jules (Orston, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
Another 'can't put it down', rip-roaring adventure with lots of facts interwoven. How does he churn these out?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars grit in the sandals, 10 April 2010
By 
Chris Wilson "Chrisw" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
Tackling land occupation and religion in the Middle East is certainly safer in fiction.The two lead characters with their differing views on life,but together as comrades in arms.One who believes the world will always be the same brutal place.And another who muses occasionally of what might be.Both of them manipulated by those with greater power and authority.The desert scenes are probably best read on the beach while waiting for your cold beer(Macro)or lemonade (Cato).That is how I read the follow up story Gladiator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the Eagle series but a must-read, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Matthew Turner "loyalroyal" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
You may think my review title a bit of a contradiction, and you'd be right. This Eighth book in Simon Scarrow's excellent Eagle series was a bit disappointing for me, but being an avid follower of Cato and Macro this is essential reading too.

Like all the books in the series, Scarrow's descriptions of battles and violence remains superb in this book, and is his greatest asset as a writer. In fact it his battle scenes that make me a Scarrow fan. There is plenty of fighting in this book, and it is this that saves it from a lower mark.

Unfortunately, I found that there was little or no plot, just a straight-forward struggle to save Palmyra and her king, Vabathus, from the Palmyrene prince Artaxes and his Parthian allies. There was little political machination or intrigue, and the attempt to put some romance into Cato's life, with the ambassador's daughter Julia, seemed too forced and struggled with awkward prose. I found the book to be a little flat and it lacked the excitement of previous instalments of the Eagle series.

Despite this though I remain a huge Simon Scarrow fan and look forward to the next book in the series. I just hope the next book has more twists and turns than this one, and that Macro and Cato rejoin the legions rather than serve with the Second Illyrian cohort.

Recommended for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Centurion (Eagle)
Centurion (Eagle) by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
7.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews