Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarrow getting emotional !!
This is the 8th novel in Simon Scarrow's excellent series of books about Centurions Macro and Cato, and follows on from the `Eagles In The Sand'.

Book Summary : After a surprise attack by the Partians, Macro and Cato are ordered by Longinus to set out as a forward relief column to help King Vabathus of Palmyra, who has taken refuge in his cities own citadel...
Published on 11 Sep 2008 by Mr. R. Coleman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay
Bulk standard cato Macro book same formmat as some of the earlier ones starting to get boarded with the series
Published 21 months ago by rick


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarrow getting emotional !!, 11 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
This is the 8th novel in Simon Scarrow's excellent series of books about Centurions Macro and Cato, and follows on from the `Eagles In The Sand'.

Book Summary : After a surprise attack by the Partians, Macro and Cato are ordered by Longinus to set out as a forward relief column to help King Vabathus of Palmyra, who has taken refuge in his cities own citadel from the rebel Army of his son, Artaxes. Meanwhile the rest of the Legions slowly march to their aid. Can our two brave heroes once again save the day by marching through the arid desert at arrive on time to defend the King from his infighting siblings ?

To those people that have never read one of Scarrow's Roman novels, I would like to say that these books are more about the everyday man in the Roman army than the famous historical figures that are known so well. They detail the hard life, the harshness and brutality of battle and the feeling of inaptitude of the Generals and upper class of Roman society.

Whilst I once again thoroughly enjoyed this book, I did at times feel that I was reading a re-write - albeit in another location, with new characters - of the previous book `Eagles In The Sand'. An eventful march to a fort/citadel, a stout defence and then attacking the opposition whilst they were sleeping - sound familiar ?

I would also like to say that I felt that Scarrow's writing of Marco and Cato in this novel seemed in places a lot more emotional than in previous books. Indeed Macro dealing with the young orphaned Roman girl in the citadel really pulls at the heart strings, showing a side to the character that has rarely been seen in the prior novels. Though I wonder where the author is going with Cato's new love interest and how that will relate to any new stories.

I will as always look forward to the next novel in this series, and hope that Scarrow takes the opportunity to come up with a new idea for a story ! Once again 5 out of 5, but may be a 4 next time if its another seemingly re-write !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scarrow back on form!., 15 April 2008
By 
S. Glossop "sgg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Hardcover)
I thought Simon's last book Eagle in the sand was a little weaker than his high standards for the other Macro and Cato books. Centurion is however a return to original form and is an excellent read. Fast paced and I could not put it down in the last 100 odd pages. This is more in line with some of the earlier books in the series. All the characters are fleshed out very well and the strenghts and weaknesses of Macro and Cato are portrayed very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total winner, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Hardcover)
review
Macro and Cato are shipped to yet another part of the Empire by the Roman senate and become embroiled in a fight to stabilise what is to all intents and purposes a neutral kingdom, Palmyra. As usual wherever the pair go trouble follows close behind and it is not long before the pair of them are engaged in trying to stop the forces of one of Rome's long standing enemies, Parthia, who having heard of Rome's presence in Palmyra decide it will be in their own best interest if they also send a force into the kingdom.

Macro and Cato are old friends to the readers of Simon Scarrow's books and their adventures are interesting and exciting, particularly for those interested in all things Roman and in particular the workings and make-up of the Roman Legions. These books are a good form of escapism from the every day drudgery. (Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macro and Cato at Their Best, 28 Dec 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
Simon Scarrow is a teacher at a Sixth Form College. He has run a Roman History programme that takes parties of students to a number of sites and museums across Britain and I assume that while doing this he gleans lots of useful information for his books on the Roman Centurions Macro and Cato.

This is the eighth book in a series started seven years ago and Cato the young boy who left the confines of the Palace in Rome and entered the army as an Optio (second in command to a Centurion) has now matured into a man, moulded in the image of his friend and mentor Macro. Both men are battle hardened Centurions, though Macro has a dozen years on Cato. They have fought together in Britain and many other parts of the Roman Empire.

Macro and Cato are shipped to yet another part of the Empire by the Roman senate and become embroiled in a fight to stabilise what is to all intents and purposes a neutral kingdom, Palmyra. As usual wherever the pair go trouble follows close behind and it is not long before the pair of them are engaged in trying to stop the forces of one of Rome's long standing enemies, Parthia, who having heard of Rome's presence in Palmyra decide it will be in their own best interest if they also send a force into the kingdom.

Macro and Cato are old friends to the readers of Simon Scarrow's books and their adventures are interesting and exciting, particularly for those interested in all things Roman and in particular the workings and make-up of the Roman Legions. These books are a good form of escapism from the every day drudgery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
Simon Scarrow is a brilliant author who has put a great deal of time into researching his books. I would personally compare him to Bernard Cornwell in that he writes books of fast paced action and comradeship between soldiers and the struggles of leading men in battle. These books are a must for someone interested in ancient history and in particular the roman legionaire and the empire. Set during the reign of cladius slightly after the death of jesus and during the conquering of southern britian, and hopefully the rise of vespasian in future?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Scarrow Books, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All Simon Scarrow books about the Roman Legion are brilliant, I would recommend them to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good story of Macro and Cato, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good follow up to previous story in the series. I have read all the books in the Macro and Cato series and look forward to reading the next book in the series. Whilst based on historical fact, obviously some licence must be made in the interests of readability. I highly recommend this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars scarrow book, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
brilliant wished id started with series in correct order lol but ive since now reading in order ,every one is brilliant read cant wait for next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing adventure, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another fantastic read with a gripping story, can hardly put the seris of these books down thanks to simon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Centurion (Eagle)
Centurion (Eagle) by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
7.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews