Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarrow getting emotional !!
This is the 8th novel in Simon Scarrow's excellent series of books about Centurions Macro and Cato, and follows on from the `Eagles In The Sand'.

Book Summary : After a surprise attack by the Partians, Macro and Cato are ordered by Longinus to set out as a forward relief column to help King Vabathus of Palmyra, who has taken refuge in his cities own citadel...
Published on 11 Sep 2008 by Mr. R. Coleman

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A series under siege
Scarrow knocks out novel number eight in this series, and sadly it is not one of his best.

Macro and Cato are sent to Palmyras, a small kingdom just about under Rome's control, but an aggressive Parthia is seeking to move in. Add conflict in the Palmyras Royal household and the a city under siege and our Roman heroes have a lot on their plate.

But...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarrow getting emotional !!, 11 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
This is the 8th novel in Simon Scarrow's excellent series of books about Centurions Macro and Cato, and follows on from the `Eagles In The Sand'.

Book Summary : After a surprise attack by the Partians, Macro and Cato are ordered by Longinus to set out as a forward relief column to help King Vabathus of Palmyra, who has taken refuge in his cities own citadel from the rebel Army of his son, Artaxes. Meanwhile the rest of the Legions slowly march to their aid. Can our two brave heroes once again save the day by marching through the arid desert at arrive on time to defend the King from his infighting siblings ?

To those people that have never read one of Scarrow's Roman novels, I would like to say that these books are more about the everyday man in the Roman army than the famous historical figures that are known so well. They detail the hard life, the harshness and brutality of battle and the feeling of inaptitude of the Generals and upper class of Roman society.

Whilst I once again thoroughly enjoyed this book, I did at times feel that I was reading a re-write - albeit in another location, with new characters - of the previous book `Eagles In The Sand'. An eventful march to a fort/citadel, a stout defence and then attacking the opposition whilst they were sleeping - sound familiar ?

I would also like to say that I felt that Scarrow's writing of Marco and Cato in this novel seemed in places a lot more emotional than in previous books. Indeed Macro dealing with the young orphaned Roman girl in the citadel really pulls at the heart strings, showing a side to the character that has rarely been seen in the prior novels. Though I wonder where the author is going with Cato's new love interest and how that will relate to any new stories.

I will as always look forward to the next novel in this series, and hope that Scarrow takes the opportunity to come up with a new idea for a story ! Once again 5 out of 5, but may be a 4 next time if its another seemingly re-write !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total winner, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Hardcover)
review
Macro and Cato are shipped to yet another part of the Empire by the Roman senate and become embroiled in a fight to stabilise what is to all intents and purposes a neutral kingdom, Palmyra. As usual wherever the pair go trouble follows close behind and it is not long before the pair of them are engaged in trying to stop the forces of one of Rome's long standing enemies, Parthia, who having heard of Rome's presence in Palmyra decide it will be in their own best interest if they also send a force into the kingdom.

Macro and Cato are old friends to the readers of Simon Scarrow's books and their adventures are interesting and exciting, particularly for those interested in all things Roman and in particular the workings and make-up of the Roman Legions. These books are a good form of escapism from the every day drudgery. (Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macro and Cato at Their Best, 28 Dec 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
Simon Scarrow is a teacher at a Sixth Form College. He has run a Roman History programme that takes parties of students to a number of sites and museums across Britain and I assume that while doing this he gleans lots of useful information for his books on the Roman Centurions Macro and Cato.

This is the eighth book in a series started seven years ago and Cato the young boy who left the confines of the Palace in Rome and entered the army as an Optio (second in command to a Centurion) has now matured into a man, moulded in the image of his friend and mentor Macro. Both men are battle hardened Centurions, though Macro has a dozen years on Cato. They have fought together in Britain and many other parts of the Roman Empire.

Macro and Cato are shipped to yet another part of the Empire by the Roman senate and become embroiled in a fight to stabilise what is to all intents and purposes a neutral kingdom, Palmyra. As usual wherever the pair go trouble follows close behind and it is not long before the pair of them are engaged in trying to stop the forces of one of Rome's long standing enemies, Parthia, who having heard of Rome's presence in Palmyra decide it will be in their own best interest if they also send a force into the kingdom.

Macro and Cato are old friends to the readers of Simon Scarrow's books and their adventures are interesting and exciting, particularly for those interested in all things Roman and in particular the workings and make-up of the Roman Legions. These books are a good form of escapism from the every day drudgery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A series under siege, 27 Jun 2010
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
Scarrow knocks out novel number eight in this series, and sadly it is not one of his best.

Macro and Cato are sent to Palmyras, a small kingdom just about under Rome's control, but an aggressive Parthia is seeking to move in. Add conflict in the Palmyras Royal household and the a city under siege and our Roman heroes have a lot on their plate.

But this novel is missing something, it lacks tension and complexity and sadly feels a little by the numbers. It's a shame because the earlier novels were so good, but this one feels a little tired I am sorry to say. It's not terrible, but just a little too average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Paperback)
Simon Scarrow is a brilliant author who has put a great deal of time into researching his books. I would personally compare him to Bernard Cornwell in that he writes books of fast paced action and comradeship between soldiers and the struggles of leading men in battle. These books are a must for someone interested in ancient history and in particular the roman legionaire and the empire. Set during the reign of cladius slightly after the death of jesus and during the conquering of southern britian, and hopefully the rise of vespasian in future?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scarrow back on form!., 15 April 2008
By 
S. Glossop "sgg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Hardcover)
I thought Simon's last book Eagle in the sand was a little weaker than his high standards for the other Macro and Cato books. Centurion is however a return to original form and is an excellent read. Fast paced and I could not put it down in the last 100 odd pages. This is more in line with some of the earlier books in the series. All the characters are fleshed out very well and the strenghts and weaknesses of Macro and Cato are portrayed very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the series back on track, 6 Mar 2008
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Centurion (Eagle) (Hardcover)
After one so-so entry in the adventures of Roman soldiers Macro & Cato, Eagle in the Sand, Simon Scarrow puts the series right back on track with this latest book.

One of my niggles with Eagle in the Sand was that it failed to develop either Cato or Macro as characters. Part of the appeal of the series has been to watch Cato become a talented and experienced soldier under Macro's tutelage and in turn watch the rough edges be knocked off the older man by his younger friend's influence. Eagle in the Sand lacked that element of the previous books and was a weaker effort for it. Centurion on the other hand, has it in spades and by combining it with a truly entertaining and exciting storyline is one of the most successful entries in the series to date.

It also succeeds in laying the groundwork for future developments that could prove very interesting and help keep the series feeling fresh. With Centurion there is there very real sense that Cato, until now Macro's subordinate and pupil, is beginning to overtake the older man. There are also hints that the younger Centurion has it in him to rise far beyond his comparatively humble beginnings. If that is so and Scarrow does allow Cato to outstrip Macro then it will fundamentally change the dynamic between the two. The prospect of that happening in future books is an enticing one and will help maintain this reader's interest in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars still a compelling read, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We know the characters will survive to the next book but it still makes compelling reading

I have already purchased the remainder of the books to number 11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cato and Marco at their amazing best, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The two characters are old friends by now and there is nothing better than sharing their improbable adventures while I am away on holiday. We know they will succeed in their task but finding out just how they do it is always enjoyable if somewhat unlikely.
Simon Scarrow has done it again for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Centurion, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another outstanding Simon Scarrow novel. I would recommend this series of books to any historical reader of the roman legions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Centurion (Eagle)
Centurion (Eagle) by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews