Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magrs Magic
Paul Magrs does it agian! I've read everything that he has written and enjoyed it all but the Brenda and Effie series is quite possibly the best. I've bought several copies of the books to give to friends to read as I just know that they'll enjoy them as much as I have.

If you haven't read the other books in the series then go and read them first; it's possible...
Published on 11 Aug 2010 by A. Bear

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not agreeing with the rave reviews....
I followed the advice in another amazon review and bought 'To the Devil a Diva' and read that prior to embarking on this. That may have biased me a little as I did not like that book at all. Nonetheless, I was still looking forward to this, I have really enjoyed Brenda's and Effie's daft adventures so far. I was left disappointed though, I felt there were avenues of...
Published on 2 July 2010 by pigsmayfly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magrs Magic, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Brenda 4) (Paperback)
Paul Magrs does it agian! I've read everything that he has written and enjoyed it all but the Brenda and Effie series is quite possibly the best. I've bought several copies of the books to give to friends to read as I just know that they'll enjoy them as much as I have.

If you haven't read the other books in the series then go and read them first; it's possible to pick one up and just dive in but to get the best of it you need to read the others - and get yourself a copy of To The Devil a Diva... it will become apparant why when see who the diva is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 April 2010
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Brenda 4) (Paperback)
As always, an excellent read. One of the best of the Brenda and Effie books - if you liked the others, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beloved Brenda And Effie Bounce Back, 13 May 2011
By 
Simon Savidge Reads "Simon" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Brenda 4) (Paperback)
The seaside town of Whitby is welcoming some mysterious new arrivals both unknown and infamous as `Hell's Belles' opens. First there is Penny, arriving for a receptionist job a job at the Miramar hotel as a newly found all year round Goth and quite possibly escaping something. Second is the cult horror b-movie actress Karla Sorensen, arriving to remake the movie `Get Thee Inside Me, Satan' which caused shock back in the 1960's when various members of the crew and the viewing public for its limited cinema run seemed to become cursed. After the arrival of these two women, and a miraculously appearing DVD copy of `Get Thee Inside Me, Satan' in the Save The Kiddies charity shop, things start to get a little strange and soon the unlikely and rather odd duo Brenda and Effie must investigate and see if they can save Whitby from the supernatural, including a bit of time travelling as they go, once more. There is a lot going on in this book, the longest of the series so far, yet it never feels over done or trying too hard, nor does it get complicated and have you at your wits end.

Not that you need to read the rest of the series to enjoy this one, in fact actually I think this book is probably the most standalone in the series after the first `Never The Bride'. There's no massive recap at the start, things from the past are nicely woven in as we go along. Not that this will bore readers who have read and loved the series so far either as Magrs tells them through Effie's or Robert's reminiscing (Brenda doesn't appear until page fifty which interestingly I really noticed, this book comes alive when both women are at the helm) this worked rather nicely showing the different dynamics between the characters and their friendships rather quickly all through newcomer Penny's eyes and the gossip she hears as she becomes accustomed to the new bizarre haven she has found herself in.

I can't give anything further away about the book but it had a lot more twists and turns as the tale develops, stories that had been bubbling away in the past books (along with characters like Mrs Claus of the Christmas Hotel) seemed to come much to the for yet without stealing the limelight. In fact I actually couldn't believe how much I was starting to like Mrs Claus who up until now I had rather enjoyed loathing. It's the way that Mr Magrs writes characters. In fact be they goodies or baddies, new faces or old friends, they all make you want to read more.
It's the slight gossipy and often campy nature of `Hell's Belles' that makes it so readable. I love how it's cosy, spooky, funny and thrilling all at once. I also really liked the fact that just when you think you might know all the skeletons in the cupboards of Brenda's B&B and Effie's antique shop another one comes and takes you by surprise, again illuminating just how unusual these two wonderful women are, and often in the most funny and enjoyable of ways. It shows that this series has endless possibilities and I am excited about the next one, though I will be savouring reading it as I have nearly caught up with them all now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tie your sofa down before you read this..., 15 Feb 2010
By 
J. Morgan "John Morgan" (Aberystwyth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles! (Hardcover)
Can't wait for the Bride that Time Forgot in Oct 2010, but despite the whole Brenda and Effie series being excellent, this is the best so far. Get a copy of "To the Devil a Diva" either before or after reading this as it contains essential back story to La Sorenson's presence in Whitby. From Whitby to the slate quarries of what appears to be the Horseshoe Pass in North Wales, Brenda is in for a surprise when she meets Fox Soames' filmset cook and babysitter. And Mrs Claus and Karla Sorenson together under the roof of the Christmas Hotel. Menacing stuff, but yet again who, or what, is Mrs Claus anyway? And are we going to find out more about her love lives, her family...? And to be frank, you'd better be careful next time you open your door to the postman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Magrs? love him!, 27 May 2013
By 
Irene Roberts "Samoborlady" (The Sunny South) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Brenda 4) (Paperback)
I have read all the 'Brenda' books in the series and just gobble them up! To those out there who haven't as yet tried this series, start from the beginning 'Never The Bride' and work your way through. Strange, weird and very funny ~ well I think so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love these Gals, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Brenda 4) (Paperback)
Brenda & Effie are the best old gals in town. Crime fighters with a MAJOR difference. Chai drinking, vampire hunting, cake scoffing Heroines!

Love them..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant adventure for Brenda and Effie, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. Brenda and Effie were on top form with the help of some new characters.
All Hell breaks lose when a film crew come to Whitby for the famous Goth Weekend
Can't wait to start the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good work, 19 Dec 2012
By 
B. D. Oneill (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Kindle Edition)
Very imaginative. Not exactly roll around laughing but very amusing and well put together. A new twist on an old theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hell's Best!, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Colin J. Todd (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Brenda 4) (Paperback)
Hell's Bells is the best so far of these fantastic books. It starts off at a cracking pace and ends up going like a bat out of hell! It has some great bits of back story for many of the gang which really adds depth and understanding. No need to ask if i'll be getting Brenda 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Brenda 4) (Paperback)
Fantastically fantastic. Brenda and Effie, true heroines of madness !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hell's Belles (Brenda 4)
Hell's Belles (Brenda 4) by Paul Magrs (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews