Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crash! Bang! Wallop!
The fourth book in the Nina Wilde / Eddie Chase series is yet another rip-roaring adventure from the awesome Andy McDermott.

Explosive set-pieces, Presidential cover-ups and the Vatican all feature in this non-stop thrill ride. Yes, these have all been written before but the pace and energy of this book sets it apart. Eddie's puns are better / worse than ever...
Published on 14 May 2009 by Ben Peyton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin
Let me summarise the plot for you:

Action - banter/witty quip - betrayal/twist - change location. repeat.

It's really that simple and if you scratch away at any aspect of the plot then it is more full of holes then a tramp's socks.

Archaeologist Nina and her ex-SAS (of course!!) boyfriend Eddie have the habit of digging up all sorts of old...
Published on 17 Dec 2009 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crash! Bang! Wallop!, 14 May 2009
The fourth book in the Nina Wilde / Eddie Chase series is yet another rip-roaring adventure from the awesome Andy McDermott.

Explosive set-pieces, Presidential cover-ups and the Vatican all feature in this non-stop thrill ride. Yes, these have all been written before but the pace and energy of this book sets it apart. Eddie's puns are better / worse than ever. Not to give anything away but the two best ones involve Pirates and MC Hammer. I got some odd looks on the tube as I burst out laughing at the latter.

I don't want to ruin the plot for anyone but it's every bit as interesting as the previous books and as action / adventure books go you can't do much better than Andy McDermott. Pure escapism . I read this in two days as it's so hard to put down. And the good news? The next book is out in November!

Do yourself a favour. If you like James Rollins, Matthew Reilly, Clive Cussler, Jack Du Brul, adventure books or big Hollywood action movies then read Andy McDermott. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Bockbuster films are crying out for., 5 Jun 2009
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow what a rush although slightly similar to The Hunt For Atlantis in the fact they are looking for an ancient civilisation being chased by some murdering Vatican connected thugs with the Nuclear ex-wife of Eddie joining in for a re run, a corrupt president, scenes that would make 007 think twice and humor that is just fabulous this is great stuff.
From the word go on a barren arctic landscape being blown up to drilling into icebergs in the antarctic and taking on Janjaweed murdering thugs this is his best ever. Matthew Reilly has some work to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old, 7 Nov 2010
By 
A. J. Bradbury "Andy B." (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Covenant of Genesis (Wilde/Chase 4) (Paperback)
I didn't actually discover Andy McDermott's Nina and Eddie books until a few months ago, when I bought a copy of 'The Cult of Osiris' - which is number 5 of the series.

I thoroughly enjoyed TOC and have subsequently read the other 4 books - in order of writing.

Unhappily I have to say I found 'The Genesis Covenant' a big let down, far below the quality of 1, 2, 3 and 5 in the series.

In the first place, if you've read 'The Tomb of Hercules' then a lot of this is going to be very familiar - desert locations, dome-shaped buildings, etc. - only not on such a grand scale as in 'Hercules.

Likewise the basic plot - which is totally uncredible - makes numerous references to the Atlanteans which won't be fully comprehensible iunless you've already read the first book in the seies - 'The Hunt for Atlantis'.

Nor will the exact nature of the US President's role in the story be clear until readers get to the end of 'The Cult of Osiris'. (This is another character carried over from a previous book - in this case from 'The Secret of Excalibur', if I remember correctly - though he wasn't yet President in that story.)

Returning to 'The Genesis Covenant', the entire story hinges on a load of nonsense allegedly depicting Darwinism - which McDermott either doesn't understand very clearly, or deliberately distorted for the sake of the story. Probably not of much interest to most readers, but a constant jarring note to anyone who has even a basic knowledge of the subject.
The reason I mention this is really because it is the key to the "big surprise" plot twist that underlies the whole story. Though I seldom spot the murderer in crime novels, the nature of the "big surprise" in this book seemed pretty obvious from a point about halfway through the story, though we have to wait about another 200 pages, or more, for McDermott to lay it all out in black and white.

In the end the story doesn't so much end as just run out of road.
Were the publishers screaming for the manuscript. perhaps? Either way I can't really see any good reason for recommending this book.

I see that a numder of reviewers are complaining that the 6th book in the series (which I haven't read) is definitely sub-standard.
Personally I'd have to say it looked to me like the quality was already falling off in this book, revived to a significant extent in 'The Cult of Osiris' and then - it appears - fell off again in 'The Sacred Vault'.

As has been suggested, maybe McDermott would benefit from a year off (he must surely be able to afford it).
Since 2007 we've had 6 Nina and Eddie novels, five of them around 600 pages long, and the next book due out at the start of 2011. That's a pretty outstanding production schedule by any standards. The man deserves a rest. In my 'umble opinion, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top adventure, 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Covenant of Genesis (Wilde/Chase 4) (Paperback)
You know exactly what you're going to get with Eddie and Nina, and personally I think its the best since Atlantis. Apart from the incredibly well written action set pieces, the character development(especially Ninas) is well handled and doesn't overshadow or slow down the pace.

The theme is very similar to "The Atlantis Code", as is one of the key plot mechanisms, the now mandatory secret Vatican society. However even that coupled with that other hackneyed plot mechanism of the presidential cover up doesn't detract from proceedings, and all leads to what I found to be a far more satisfying denouement than "The Atlantis Code".

There are references to all the earlier Eddie / Nina adventures, which won't detract from the story if you are new to the series, but which do leave the feeling that there is some overall arc joining all the adventures together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fine read, 27 April 2010
By 
Neil Crowe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the fourth installment of the Eddie and Nina stories and Andy McDermott has pulled another rabit out of the hat. A plan to wipe out most of the worlds population by a maniac scientist has to be thwarted. Again we are treated to the easy reading and fast paced action in this James Bond-esque thriller. Couldn't put it down and read it in a day. Already ordered the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced adventure, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Covenant of Genesis (Wilde/Chase 4) (Paperback)
This is more of the adventures of Nina and Eddie, Nina could best be described as a female "Indiana Jones" and the theme is similar, lost temples and artefacts etc. If you have read previous books in this series it is the subject of another unlikely quest however it is none the worse for that, the plot holds together and the characters are well developed. Although this works well as a stand alone novel it would be best to read the previous ones in sequence as this one gives considerable spoilers regarding previous books in the series.
Early in the book it is obvious that someone is out to destroy evidence of an early civilisation that Nina has found together with anyone who has been involved in the find, although the plot is fairly obvious there are many twists and turns before the final scenes. After all the action the end of the book slows in pace and sets up for the next in the series "The Cult of Osiris"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Covenant of Genesis (Wilde/Chase 4) (Paperback)
Let me summarise the plot for you:

Action - banter/witty quip - betrayal/twist - change location. repeat.

It's really that simple and if you scratch away at any aspect of the plot then it is more full of holes then a tramp's socks.

Archaeologist Nina and her ex-SAS (of course!!) boyfriend Eddie have the habit of digging up all sorts of old lost relics and treasures. Not little ones, I mean things like Atlantis and Hercules' Sword. In this, their fourth adventure, they discover evidence of a civilisation that pre-dates known history. These types of plot obviously require a mega rich bad guy or an evil secret society, and in this case we get the secret society option.

Of course the secret society (yes, of course it is called The Covenant of Genesis) is incredibly powerful and wants to erase all evidence of the civilisation. So...

Action - banter/witty quip - betrayal/twist - change location. repeat. For about 600 pages.

I saw it very much like an Indianna Jones film, very fast moving with loads of action and banter, but all gloss and no substence. The action is quite violent and tongue in cheek, and some of the one liners and comments delivered by Eddie can be quite amusing. Think of the Roger Moore James Bond, nobody can be despatched without a quip!

But it doesn't pretend to be anything it's not. It tries to add a bit of fun to the more traditional search for ancient relics/treasure stories that Dan Brown sadly generated, but manages to maintain it's standards and expectations unlike recent efforts from the likes of Matthew Reilly.

Harmless fun, but you will forget the entire thing a day after you finish it. Ideal for aeroplanes and the beach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the covenant of genesis, 9 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was yet another excellent book by andy mcdermott
the plot was brilliant i read the book in 4 days as i just couldnt put it down it is action packed with the usual humour they are looking for an acient civalisation
who moved to escape the beast (but who are the beasts)i dont want to give too much away but they find clues along the way leading to other places. three religions are involved and the president plus our friend lady blackwood
curruption all over the place.
enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Covenant of Genesis, 18 Oct 2009
By 
J. G. Tear "Teardrop" (West Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Covenant of Genesis (Wilde/Chase 4) (Paperback)
This is true to Andy Mcdermot's style, fast paced and unable to put the book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Covenent Of Genesis, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. D. Pearce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book by Andy McDermot was absolutely brilliant, as was his earlier novels.
Just could'nt put it down, and am looking forward to any future titles with Nina Wilde and Eddie West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Covenant of Genesis (Wilde/Chase 4)
The Covenant of Genesis (Wilde/Chase 4) by Andy McDermott (Paperback - 17 Sep 2009)
7.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews