Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars70
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2008
Andy's third book is another belter. It's more character driven than his previous two although there is still plenty of action and set pieces.

We see a more human side to Chase as he trys to come to terms with who he is and why he does what he does. There's interesting conflict between him and Nina and also with his family. Nice to see these new charcters introduced. Eddie's grandmother will make you laugh out loud.

The baddies are all suitably evil and the story is extremely interesting. The legend / myth of King Arthur is explored deeply and you'll be surprised at what's real and what isn't.

As usual, there's also lots of humour amongst the action. A big lorry has just been taken by Eddie and his exit line is, "Let's truck off". If you can't laugh at that then maybe you should check your pulse to see if you're alive.

As action / adventure books go this is another superb effort. Andy knows want he wants and what his readers want and he delivers in style.

Thanks again, Andy!
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
Wow - another great read from McDermott. I won't go in to the story too much (because I'm not really sure that I totally understand it) suffice to say that King Arthur's sword Excalibur is being hunted by bad guys so that they can harness `earth energy' and start world war three......or something like that?! (who care's)

McDermott's writing style is excellent, very cut-and-thrust (if you'll excuse the sword pun) and highly charged as his central characters lurch from one death-risking crisis to another. His locales are great (I especially loved the early set-piece in Bournemouth) and the character of Eddie Chase remains a fantastic creation. His James Bond-esque manner and are one-liners are classic and I know I've said it before (see my review of `Atlantis') but he's truly sexy. His liaise-faire attitude, quick wit and unbendable loyalty make him a fab literary creation, despite the fact that he's not written in classic `hunk' style. Eddie's fiancé and sidekick Nina Wilde is also less irritating in this third instalment too - she even cracks some one-liners that match Eddie's. Great stuff.

My only compliant - and it's a small one - is that, by now, McDermott's readers will know his story structure and (like in any good Bond film) that everything will be alright in the end. Therefore, I found that the last 100 pages or so to be unnecessary and a little dragging. Once the bad guys are beaten in the climatic finale, there's no need for an extra addition of trauma before things are nicely rounded off. Also, since his last three books have been 600+ pages (phew, that's a lot of reading) then we won't complain if he scrimps on the occasional novel and doesn't give us `extra time'! However, since he's published about 4 books since then I'm sure that my critique is too late to make a difference...

As I've said before, this is a `boys read' and if you don't like explosions, near death situations, guns, blades, death and everything else that comes with it, then maybe this won't be for you. However, if you're a fan of James Bond (the Roger Moore era) and enjoy a touch of comedy every now and then (to lighten the mood, think Monty Python in this particular case) then you may find a gem in this author and his Eddie Chase/ Nina Wilde series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
In this third book in the series, the characters have moved on. We finally get to meet some of ex-SAS bodyguard Eddie's family, with mixed but enriching results, and heroine Nina and he are busily planning a wedding. However with the arrival of a slightly barmy old friend, a DARPA agent, and a host of nasty Russian hired killers, things are soon on a runaway slope into yet more fast-paced action. The plot this time is another enjoyably far-fetched one centering on the search for ancient sword Excalibur. McDermott manages to recognise the absurdity of his ideas and meets them head-on. By doing this, he enables you to get all your doubts and incredulities out of the way almost immediately (usually voiced by the main characters) and you can then get on with enjoying the consistently inventive action. The action scenes are clever, well planned, and usually involve unexpected or unusual elements that keep them fresh. The cheeky and barbed banter between the central couple is well pitched and very amusing, and the bad guys manage to be truly dastardly. A novel for those who enjoy the far fetched action and grand drama of novelists like Clive Cussler, but also appreciate the slightly harder hitting aggression of action novelists like Chris Ryan. This is a pretty perfect marriage of the two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
This book is a good read. It is not as good as 'Atlantis', the first in the series but still worth it. This instalment is more of an action adventure rather than focusing on the myth of Excalibur. It does however follow the same tried and tested plot of the previous two books and we discover more about the characters, Wilde and Chase. I enjoyed reading the book and if you have fully appreciated the first two then this book is for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
Is Eddie growing up with Nina's influence?

Great book, as action packed as I've come to expect from Andy. Though this time the humour is even better, with laugh out loud lines and scenario's that paint more than just a pretty picture.

Can't wait for the next book in the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 January 2012
The book reads like an overlong screenplay for a direct to video action movie. I guess the publisher was looking for an author to rival Matthew Reilly. The paper thin characters crash from one life threatening situation to another. The set pieces are heavily contrived and each one takes place alongside an army of exclamation marks. I'm not a book snob by any means but this isn't a patch on Reilly and neither are as good as an early James Twining or an early Dan Brown; they might look the same, have a decent amount of reviews, but they aren't in the same league. If this was published to get young boys back into reading then fair enough, I'd hold off the criticism, but it wasn't and I was duped. I'm upset because I paid full price and then struggled through to the bitter end. My local library is doing a six book challenge - a scheme to get less confident readers into books - this is heading for that pile.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2010
This is another great book in the Mcdermott Nina and Chase saga - I loved all the others and red them in order which helps build up to the climax of each book and leaves you desperate to get your hands on the nexThe Secret of Excalibur (Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase 3)t. This is a book made for widescreen - who nows but with enough imagination you are there follwing every exciting twist and turn. see alsoThe Covenant of Genesis (Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase 4)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Andy's third Wilde and Chase adventure has a great mix of archaeology - this time centred around King Arthur's sword - great, well thought action sequences and great set pieces. The plot is thought out with plenty of twists.The action is breathtaking, and there are also emotional bits, especially from Chase's side. There's a great human element thrown in here amongst the mayhem. Only criticism is that it's a bit overlong.

Rex Grainger - the author of Elixir Stone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
Loved the ongoing relationship growing pains between Eddie and Nina, the introduction of Eddies family and the ever present cultural references. This was definitely better structured than Hercules, and for two thirds of the book is actually about the search for the sword. There was the usual high body count and skin of the teeth escapes, but there is an attempt to recognise the human emotions of the main characters.

Given that there were again references back to Atlantis (one fairly significant) and Hercules, what I interpreted to be a link to the next novel and a teaser ending I sense some broader story arc / thread emerging. So, I'm looking forward to the next books.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
If you like films that are slightly far fetched, like Die Hard, where one man is more than any normal man, this is a book for you. action packed and a great story line.

It's not essential, but I'd advise starting at the start of this line of books as they have the same character all the way through them and gives you more of a back story.

after you read this, you'll want to read the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.