Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First - And one of the Best
I'll keep this review short and sweet as other reviewers have already covered the novel in great depth ad with very good synopsis. This is a great introduction to the Death Force series and I would recommend this is where new readers start. It is far too good a series to be reading in the wrong order as I can guarantee you will feel the need to read more having read one...
Published 23 months ago by April

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dogs of War and Dirty Dozen in one...
In general well written and fluent.
But ... so many inconsistencies and so many errors in the art of war make this book lose the 3 stars.
For someone who looks for adventure type of a book (a teenager?) - may be good enough.
For someone with some military background - avoid - you'll be frustrated and won't reach the end of the book.

Still, there...
Published on 6 Oct 2009 by Rafal Gruszczynski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First - And one of the Best, 15 Oct 2012
I'll keep this review short and sweet as other reviewers have already covered the novel in great depth ad with very good synopsis. This is a great introduction to the Death Force series and I would recommend this is where new readers start. It is far too good a series to be reading in the wrong order as I can guarantee you will feel the need to read more having read one. There is quite a lot of setting up the series here, and Lynn spends a few pages introducing each character. Some readers may find these sections a bit dull. But stick with it. By the time you get into the adventure it is a great story - and will certainly get you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior Action Thriller, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Afzal (California) - See all my reviews
Death Force is a cut above the standard special forces action thriller. The characters are very well developed, and the team of men in the unit has been assembled with care, so that the skills and nationalities balance each other out. Matt Lynn has researched the story reasonably well, and there is a lot of skill in the way the tale is recounted. Some of the battle scenes are too over the top for my liking, and I don't think all the characters would have survive so easily, but all in all this is an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ex-Special Forces hunt a big payday, 7 July 2014
By 
Lee Hanley (London, England) - See all my reviews
A motley crew of ex soldiers from some of the most revered special forces teams in the world head to Afghanistan for a big payoff. They do this with grit, determination and a formidable set of weapons including the dreaded thermobaric. As you would expect nothing goes to plan and they have to use their skill and endurance to get out alive as they are pitted against a ruthless and determines set of enemies bent on their destruction. A fairly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping !, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Force (Paperback)
This was the first Matt Lynn book that I had read , and was a little cautious , but the writing style and content had me hooked from the very first page ! Made me late for work on a couple of occasions :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Force (Paperback)
this book arrived promptly and was as described I enjoyed reading it and have passed it on to be enjoyed by others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macho, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good story but it has a familiar ring to it. Once started it is difficult to put down even though you may know the end result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one!, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Jon Targs (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
I must say that i am fully fascinated of reading this book!Really, its fast-paced and contemporary story for me.I will recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for action fans, 11 July 2012
Those that love the fast paced action of Andy Mcnab and similar authors will definitely enjoy this. It's slightly different in that the characters main motivation is money but it adds a nice twist and the author still manages to create some empathy for them. The action scenes are thrilling and it definitely keeps you on the edge but there's a nice bit of humour injected in occasionally to provide a bit of comic relief. The prose is tight but descriptive and really creates a feeling of being in the midst of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting escapism, 10 July 2012
By 
This book throws you right in at the deep end, hitting you with action almost immediately. The pace is great and keeps you held throughout. I enjoyed the individual characters and found them each to be fairly well thought out.

As others have said if you're a fan of Chris Ryan et all, then you will not fail to enjoy this. Great action, not too predictable and highly descriptive language. Very easy to get lost in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD READ, 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Force (Paperback)
Something a bit different where it's money that drives guys when up against the Taliban, but you still feel for the characters even though the old King and Country bit is missing in this story! Wee bit predictable towards end, won't spoil it by revealing the ending but read it yourself and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Force
Death Force by Matt Lynn (Paperback - 25 Jun 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews