Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This autumn's must-read
Whether you've read The Interpretation of Murder or not, this is sensational. It starts with the biggest terrorist attack in US History, before 9/11. Like most other people, I had never heard of the September 16th 1920 bombing in New York - a crime which to this day remains unsolved - but it makes for a fantastic backdrop to the story and pulls you in from the very first...
Published on 17 Sep 2010 by LaPalma

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow up to a cracking first book
I've erred on the side of generosity with 3 stars here, I'd have like to have given 2.5. It wasn't awful but it certainly failed to live up to the excellent 'An Interpretation of Murder'. There was a Dan Brown-esque pace with the plot where there was constantly something happening and moving the plot forward so it should have been relatively easy to stick with it and...
Published 17 months ago by P. Jeffrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This autumn's must-read, 17 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Hardcover)
Whether you've read The Interpretation of Murder or not, this is sensational. It starts with the biggest terrorist attack in US History, before 9/11. Like most other people, I had never heard of the September 16th 1920 bombing in New York - a crime which to this day remains unsolved - but it makes for a fantastic backdrop to the story and pulls you in from the very first page. Jed Rubenfeld has an incredible talent for turning the pace up and down at just the right moments throughout and his characters are so believable you feel like you know them personally by the end. It's packed with twists and turns and is a truly explosive read - read it before everyone else does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `an engaging sequel', 23 Sep 2010
By 
Paul Grainger (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Hardcover)
In his last novel, The Interpretation of Murder, and in this present one, Jed Rubenfeld demonstrates a richness of characterization that few of his fellow-practitioners in the historical fiction genre can match.

Once again the reader makes the acquaintance of doctor of medicine Stratham Younger, Captain James Littlemore of the NYPD and a real-life Sigmund Freud. This trio is augmented by a love interest, Colette Rousseau, and the world-renowned scientist Madame Marie Curie.

This blend of fictional and factual characters forms the cast of an intriguing story that has as its backdrop the Wall Street bombing of 1920. It is a story with several threads:
There is high level corruption in the world of banking; an obsessive interest in the use of radium treatment as a cure for illness, encouraged by the industrial sector; and the promotion of one of Freud's major theories, the death instinct.

To say more would perhaps mar the enjoyment of a potential reader. Suffice to say that Rubenfeld's fertile imagination, incorporating historical facts in a narrative replete with action scenes, romance and intrigue - not to forget numerous twists and turns - has been a pleasure to experience..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect thriller. Intelligent and impossible to put down!, 17 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Hardcover)
I loved the Interpretation of Murder so was really looking forward to Jed's new book and it has lived up to (and exceeded) my expectations! I think it's even better than his first book. I haven't read anything this good in ages. The characters are brilliant, the pace is so fast you practically rip through the pages - it's amazing that the historical detail adds to the writing and doesn't slow it down.

I recommend this to fans of The Interpretation of Murder and to anyone who hasn't read Jed Rubenfeld yet! Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow up to a cracking first book, 7 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Paperback)
I've erred on the side of generosity with 3 stars here, I'd have like to have given 2.5. It wasn't awful but it certainly failed to live up to the excellent 'An Interpretation of Murder'. There was a Dan Brown-esque pace with the plot where there was constantly something happening and moving the plot forward so it should have been relatively easy to stick with it and finish. However, I really struggled to get through this due to some really cardboard characters and plot 'twists' that were both very signposted and yet unbelievable? I suspected I wasn't going to enjoy the book when we have one of the main characters in danger within the first few pages when we barely knew her and she'd probably uttered barely a dozen lines; I just didn't care about her enough to be bothered what happened to her? And that continued throughout the book, at no point did I feel any kind of concern for any of the main characters. It's safe to give this one a miss, imho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well put together, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Paperback)
Whilst I may not fall in love with a writer's style, I can appreciate the skills behind it. Here Jed delves into a piece of American History that I was completely ignorant of, the Bombing of Wall Street in September 1920. Whilst this crime was never solved, the mystery woven within offers a plausible reasoning behind it.

The characters are intriguing and whilst they don't tick all the boxes for me, they suit the world that they inhabit beautifully. It's their personal interactions that help the reader adapt to the time period, it's the character smarts that drives the story forwards and it's their caring natures that help to sell the final part to the reader.

It is well written, the pace is satisfactory and the author knows what they're doing and how to do it well. It was definitely interesting and whilst it won't make my personal top reads for this year, for the reader of Historical Fiction Crime stories there are a lot worse tales that you can spend your hard earned money on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A intelligent and expertly-woven historical thriller, 17 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Hardcover)
The Death Instinct manages the clever feat of being a thrilling and exciting page-turner of a read, whilst being so incredibly crammed full of interesting historical facts and events.
It opens with a dramatic terrorist attack on Wall Street - like the other reviewers, I was not previously aware of this event and was fascinated to learn that it had taken place.
The author has woven together an intricate fabric of fact and fiction, creating for the reader his own intriguing version of events. New York c. 1920 is so expertly painted that I felt completely transported into the events and mind-set of the era.
By the time I reached the end of this fast-paced novel, I felt I had learned so much - all of which I wanted to share! Freud appears, as does Marie Curie, and there are so many stories entwined in the main plot, all of which culminate in a fantastic finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Second rate thriller, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Paperback)
What a disappointing follow up to his first book.The plot is ridiculous,the characters are poorly drawn and the whole thing just does not work.I can see it ending up as one of those afternoon TV movies on Channel 5 or on one of the satellite movie channels.The author should stick to his day job as a law lecturer and not produce second rate efforts like this;another author trading on the success of a very good first novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action, terrora d greedy bankers 1920-style, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Paperback)
Compared to the author's first book, this one is of a rather more curious nature. We are reintroduced to the enigmatic, swashbuckling hero, Dr. Stratham Younger, who seems to have been everywhere and can do anything; his regular friend, NYPD Captain James Littlemore and not forgetting Sigmund Freud. The love interest is provided by a cosmopolitan girl who has worked alongside Marie Curie and has taken to applying her X-Ray qualifications on the field of battle - which is where Colette and Younger first meet.

So, all this for which the story is initially ingnited by a huge bomb blast in the centre of New York in late 1920. It is a very complex thriller, with attempted kidnappings, lurking killers, exceptionally greedy bankers, Mexican stand-offs and goodness knows what else.

For my money, the book is let down by too many stereotypical characters such as the Balkan killers, the American Senators and the mute brother of Colette who is still able to save the day more than once.

However, if you get over this, the book races away throwing up a myriad of red herrings, false trails and corrupt people, resulting in a really good action thriller where fact is blended with fiction to great effect. Where we cross continents, melt into cities and deal with a collection of unsavoury characters in almost each chapter. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good read, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death Instinct (Paperback)
This follow up book hit the spot again. I like how Jed uses events and people from the past to weave his stories. Would like another book please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Author to follow, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book I've read by this author and he really writes very eloquently. I read so many books quite quickly but with this one I really took time to enjoy the language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Death Instinct
The Death Instinct by Jed Rubenfeld (Paperback - 28 April 2011)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews