Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sun, sea, sand... and another great Phillipa Ashley read
Phillipa Ashley's fourth and latest novel is a chip off the old block: her fans everywhere will love it. `It Should Have Been Me' tells the story of Carrie, battered and bruised by the breakdown of her ten year relationship with solid farmer fiancé Huw, to whom she had been about to be married. Her friend Rowena - fellow stalwart of the local am dram - decides that...
Published on 4 Mar 2009 by Monica

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing!
I loved PA's Decent Exposure, Emma and Wills story was sassy, funny, smart and wonderfully romantic. I immediately bought this book expecting more of the same but was disappointed I'm afraid; I found the story disjointed, the characters weren't well rounded and the relationship didn't have the chemistry it needed. To be honest i struggled to read the whole book and could...
Published on 3 May 2010 by CRYSTAL CLEAR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sun, sea, sand... and another great Phillipa Ashley read, 4 Mar 2009
This review is from: It Should Have Been Me (Little Black Dress) (Paperback)
Phillipa Ashley's fourth and latest novel is a chip off the old block: her fans everywhere will love it. `It Should Have Been Me' tells the story of Carrie, battered and bruised by the breakdown of her ten year relationship with solid farmer fiancé Huw, to whom she had been about to be married. Her friend Rowena - fellow stalwart of the local am dram - decides that what she needs is a bracing girls-only road trip in a vintage VW camper van (known to the initiated as a `splitty' after the unusual split windscreen), in search of sun, sand and (if it happens to turn out that way) uncomplicated sex. Things take a surprising turn when Rowena is offered a chance-of-a-lifetime acting job in London, and persuades the sexy Matt Landor to stand in as Carrie's travelling companion.

In a way, the result of this month of enforced close proximity is never in doubt - and yet the path by which we reach the typically sweet ending is never predictable for a moment. The story unfolds with all the usual, wonderful Ashley ingredients: tensions and misunderstandings aplenty, a wealth of quirky and individual supporting characters (including a clan of hippy surfers) and a great many laughs as well as poignant moments - all of it set against the backdrop of the beautiful west country coastline.

The central romance is carefully crafted for a slow, believable build. Humanitarian doctor Matt, with his own troubled past, cuts a powerfully magnetic figure, and Carrie is a typical Ashley heroine: sensitive and vulnerable but also tough and sassy - a woman who can take down a floral display with a jet of hosed water as soon as look at you.

`It Should have Been Me' is a great romp, a page-turner from start to finish. But it is also tender and sweet - I defy you to finish it without a smile on your face and a lump in your throat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect escapist read, 17 April 2009
This review is from: It Should Have Been Me (Little Black Dress) (Paperback)
This is my third Phillipa Ashley novel (Decent Exposure (Little Black Dress) and Just Say Yes (Little Black Dress)being the other LBD books I've read)and with It Should Have Been Me, Phillipa Ashley has notched up yet another hit.

ISHBM is the perfect escapist read. I raced through it, desperate to know what happened between heroine Carrie - on the rebound after being dumped by her long-time boyfriend Huw - and the delectable doctor Matt Landor. When these two find themselves on a road trip to the West Country sharing a VW camper van named Dolly, you just know the romantic sparks are going to fly. There's plenty of trademark Phillipa Ashley humour along the way and the descriptions of Cornwall are fabulous. Phillipa's existing fans will love ISHBM and for anyone new to her LBD books, ISHBM is a wonderful place to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been there, done that!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interested to see the couple of poor reviews mention the lack of chemistry. I knew a man whom I loathed and we constantly scored points off each other. Then slowly the relationship changed and we became friends then lovers. Love to say it was Happy Ever After in my case, but sadly not the case. So the relationship between Carrie and Matt rang bells with me and was very true to life! Loved the story line and, having lived in Devon, loved the settings too. And the next one please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was great good read, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love the little black dress company I've never been disappointed what a great book
Can't wait to start my next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love in a VW Camper!, 24 Sep 2012
This one will make you leap into the nearest VW camper van and head for the coast. Although not my favourite of Ms Ashley's, it has all her trademark humour and sexiness. A good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing!, 3 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Should Have Been Me (Little Black Dress) (Paperback)
I loved PA's Decent Exposure, Emma and Wills story was sassy, funny, smart and wonderfully romantic. I immediately bought this book expecting more of the same but was disappointed I'm afraid; I found the story disjointed, the characters weren't well rounded and the relationship didn't have the chemistry it needed. To be honest i struggled to read the whole book and could have very easily put it down half way through. Not her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It Should Have Been Me (Little Black Dress) (Paperback)
was quite diappointed, cos how funny could be two people who hate each other stuck in VW camper for a road trip. there was a lack of chemistry between thhe two main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Should Have Been Me (Little Black Dress)
It Should Have Been Me (Little Black Dress) by Phillipa Ashley (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
£5.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews