Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly Funny
This was my first Midsomer Murder and even thought I had a fair idea who the villain was, I very much enjoyed it.

The beatnik/new age characters in the big house are nicely and not unsympathetically drawn for all their weirdness - Barnaby and Troy do not appear until page 135.

Barnaby is much the same as you get in the TV series, but Troy is a much...
Published on 25 Aug 2008 by L. Murphy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
Compared to the first two Barnaby novels, this, I find, is only really OK. It takes a very long while to get going, and with all the "New Age stuff" and dialogue, sections of the story can get a bit confusing. The only reason I would recommend anyone to read this, is if you want to make sure you read all the novels featuring Inspector Barnaby.
Published on 24 Jun 2010 by Cederqvist Helen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly Funny, 25 Aug 2008
By 
L. Murphy (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first Midsomer Murder and even thought I had a fair idea who the villain was, I very much enjoyed it.

The beatnik/new age characters in the big house are nicely and not unsympathetically drawn for all their weirdness - Barnaby and Troy do not appear until page 135.

Barnaby is much the same as you get in the TV series, but Troy is a much more thuggish character, not too bright, racist, and given to making obscene advances to his female colleagues. They in turn deflate him with a few words instead of reporting him and getting him sacked. All jolly good fun.

Very witty writing with plenty of contrasting characters to keep the fun going. I find myself wondering what the author would do with a different cast and I intend to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy disguise to break, 22 April 2009
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very easy read. Not memorable but a good comfort read when the reader needs something light to take away life's stresses. Not being very into New Age this was not the best Midsomer Murder for me but it does have a quaint appeal and is easy to lose oneself in - a true test of relaxation in one's choice of reading. I certainly would not discount this. I do like to become involved in Barnaby's family life which he manages to sustain despite the demands of each case - a rare gift for anyone involved in the solving of crime. Most crime fiction novels have a stressed detective and either a long-suffering partner or a divorce. Barnarby cares for his profession and his family. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death In Disguise (Kindle Edition)
The village of Compton Dando is ambivalent about the group of people at the big house. They are some sort of religious cult and commune but they also hold courses for interested people. Even Joyce Barnaby - wife of Detective Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby has attended one of their courses. When the leader of the commune is stabbed to death Tom Barnaby finds himself spending more time that he wants to with the inhabitants of manor. Businessman Guy Gamelin is visiting the house to try and persuade his daughter Sylvia not to hand over her trust fund to the community. More deaths will happen before Troy and Barnaby can get to the bottom of what is happening in the commune.

I enjoyed the portrait of the community know as the Lodge of the Golden Windhorse and thought it was very well done. The arguments which happen between people who are trying to become spiritually pure and enlightened were amusing and the characters themselves refreshingly different. Barnaby and Troy are sceptical of the whole set up and find questioning the suspects - everyone in the community - more difficult than they expect. Secrets seem to be rife and can be misleading and people's behaviour seems very strange.

This is quite a long book, more than four hundred pages in the print edition, but it kept my attention right up until the end. I did think I'd worked out who had committed at least one of the murders but I couldn't work out the motives but I still kept reading to find out what happened. I liked the way the author explained what happened to all the characters after the case had been solved as it gave me a sense of satisfaction that life continued after the trial. This is an enjoyable classic crime novel and part of the Troy and Barnaby series though the books can be read in any order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death in Disguise, 6 April 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death In Disguise (Kindle Edition)
This is the third in the Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby series, following on from The Killings At Badger's Drift and Death of a Hollow Man. It is set largely in a New Age Commune, in the village of Compton Dando, where the 'Master' oversees a group of believers, mystics and those who merely seek refuge under the roof of the Manor House. Barely have the group recovered from an inquest into the 'accidental' death of one of their members, found dead at the foot of the stairs, when another tragedy befalls them. The Master has invited the wealthy, estranged father of one of his flock, Suhami (real name Sylvie Gamelin) to dinner. Soon, Sylvie will come of age and is due to inherit a large trust fund. As money, jealousy, love and need rear their heads, the next death cannot be called an accident.

Barnaby and Troy investigate the murder, they struggle with the members of the commmune who have secrets to hide and beliefs that the more level headed policemen find bizarre. As the commune struggles to come to terms with the changes they face, a sense of 'family' and belonging pervades this novel. Barnaby himself feels guilt - pulled one way by work and the other by the needs of his wife and daughter.

This is a well plotted mystery, with an interesting plot and well rounded characters. The Barnaby series is a satisfying one, as the books (which often remind me of P.D. James) take a group of people (such as those in the commune, or, as in the previous novel, an amateur dramatic society) and let you become really involved in their lives and problems. This is a good addition to a great series and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two great murder mysteries, 15 Oct 2002
By 
Not only is one of these books a great read but you get two books for the price of one is that a deal or what and in each facinating story there are always lots of murders so it will take you longer to read it because you will have to go back and read it again to realize how Barnaby solves the murder and also you have to keep up with all the victims and characters.
The books are just like the series but in more detail.
Midsomer Murders is a truly brilliant read and i highly reccomend it for those who want to solve mysteries and it is always good to puzzle over it and find out who did it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 24 Jun 2010
By 
Cederqvist Helen (Gothenburg, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Compared to the first two Barnaby novels, this, I find, is only really OK. It takes a very long while to get going, and with all the "New Age stuff" and dialogue, sections of the story can get a bit confusing. The only reason I would recommend anyone to read this, is if you want to make sure you read all the novels featuring Inspector Barnaby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Written, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death In Disguise (Kindle Edition)
Caroline Graham is a great murder detective writer, her books keep you interested throughout and this one is no different, a very good read, if you enjoy the Barnaby cases you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyment limited, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Death In Disguise (Kindle Edition)
There's only so much an author can achieve when all the suspects are equally nutty. These characters strained hard for my interest and failed, apart from the daughter-obsessed tycoon (brilliantly believable).
The eventual explanation for three killings was acceptable but laboriously explained and Barnaby had to rely on pure chance, the solution popping up on its own accord. There's a knife murder achieved in a complicated way I could not accept. The humorous passages involving Barnaby's family gave me more joy than the somewhat boring hunt for the killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Death in Disguise, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death In Disguise (Kindle Edition)
"Death in Disguise" was my second foray into the world of Chief Inspector Barnaby. It was a bit slow to start off and a long wait for Barnaby to make his appearance. It was a great read though, with many interesting characters, some who seem quite exotic in the quiet village of Compton Dando. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best and certainly the funniest..., 23 Aug 2013
By 
H. Lacroix (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Disguise (Paperback)
I was a little wary of this one, not of course fearing Caroline Graham would have lost her touch but rather fearing, since she always meticulously sets the scenes that the astral mumbo jumbo might be abundant and hard to take. And so it was at first! Reading about the New Age community meant reading quite a lot of nonsense and being more than a little confused by all those celestial bodies the adepts communicate with. And knowing from a previous review that Barnaby didn't appear until page 137 (which in fact was rather page 152) I thought I might be overwhelmed by it all. This wasn't the case in fact because Caroline Graham wrote so many funny lines that were like little pearls strewn here and there that the experience started to be intensely entertaining. There were also the pages concerning the Gamelins, where the mumbo jumbo couldn't be used, and although their characters were far from appealing, those pages written in good plain English provided a nice rest from all the regressions and astral cleansing of the community .All in all it was an excellent reading experience, a good mixing of appalling and endearing characters (Gamelin for the appalling and Arno and May for the endearing ones) and as always an incredibly detailed, interesting and convincing rendering of varied personalities. Graham really never fails in describing someone spot on and making them intensely real for the reader even when their roles as masters or adepts could easily lead a lesser writer to write caricatural portraits. Not so here! There's talent aplenty even when describing the goat Calypso. A very good mystery with a great number of very witty lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death in Disguise
Death in Disguise by Caroline Graham (Paperback - 20 Sep 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews