Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as addictive as Gossip Girl!, 15 Jun 2008
This review is from: Notorious: An It Girl Novel (Paperback)
This series is just as addictive as the Gossip Girl series which is a real suprise to me as it doesn't have Blair or Serena in it, however there is an equally fabulous new cast of girls that Jenny from the GG books is trying to fit in with!
In this second book Tinsley has come back to the school after her expulsion has been changed and she really stirs things up, the book deals with the usual bitchy cliques but with some extra things like student/teacher relationships.
I love the OwlNet emails you get in the book, they give the series a Gossip Girl feel and I would defintiely recommend the series to fans of Gossip Girl who may feel slightly sceptical about, trust me, its just as jicy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 19 Oct 2007
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Jenny Humphrey has had nothing but boys chasing after her since she began attending Waverly Academy. Namely, the three hottest guys on campus! And one of them happens to be her current boyfriend, the sexy-manly-artist Easy Walsh.

Who just happens to be her roommate, Callie's, ex-boyfriend, who still likes him.

And with gossip like that, Tinsley had to start drama and tell Callie. So the two roommates have done nothing but ignore and avoid each other for a long time. But Easy does something not good behind Jenny's back.

What does he do? Will Callie and Jenny ever be friends? What stunt will Tinsley pull next? Well, you are just going to have to read this book to find out!

With every new IT GIRL book I read, I love Jenny a little more, and hate Tinsley a little more. Mrs. von Ziegesar has created characters that will keep you on your toes, and dying to know what will happen next!

Reviewed by: Taylor Rector
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3rd book in series, 28 Oct 2010
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
this is the third book in series and things are getting shook up. old passions are stirred up when the girls are on lock down for weekend but our fav gal jenny gets her heart broken instead. more hilarious fun from the waverley academy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish it was longer!, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Notorious: An It Girl Novel (Paperback)
Notorious was very good. Though with the arrival of Tinsley, I was expecting someone much more daring and exciting. I felt she was a bit disappointing, considering she was meant to be so much bigger than she actually was. I loved Jenny's character, and Cecily von Ziegesar (is that how you spell it..?) is an amazing writer. Without her quick, witty words, the book wouldn't be half as good.

I thought it was much too short though - that's probably cos I enjoyed it so much! I can't wait to find out what happens; I ordered the next two books. It's like a mini soap opera in a book, but much more intense and interesting. There's so much characters though, I can't remember what all of them looks like or acts like. All the characters are rather great though. I found myself so interested in it, I would act like they're all real. I would feel annoyed when something bad happened, or when Tinsley did something mean, I would say, "That bitch."

Over all, it's really good. Lives up to the first one; exactly what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 12 Jun 2006
By 
An avid reader of the fabulous Gossip Girl series, I was sceptical about the It Girl. However, they are equally delicious! I attend boarding school and it is NOTHING like Waverly Academy, however, if it was, I would be ecstatic!! In Notorious, Jenny Humphrey continues with her desperate attempts to be the It Girl. The It Girl's characters are much more easily related to than the Gossip Girl characters, because the protagonist is continually critised for looking different to the other characters. (She is presumably gorgeous, however, but it is pleasant to hear that everyone is insecure and filled with self-doubt!) Many issues in this book are totally unbelievable, and the characters are slightly one-dimensional. It is still a great read - and perfect for those pointless weeks in school, after the exams!!

Also, read the latest Gossip Girl - it is gorgeous!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love is never 'Easy', 24 Aug 2008
In the third book in this juicy series, Jenny is finally with her dream boy Easy, but when a trustee weekend at Waverley Academy comes up, it gives Callie, Easy's beautiful ex girlfriend, a chance to come back on the scene, will Easy be tempted to stray?
Theres the usual Tinsley scheming antics in this book and the 4 girls have all fallen out but are being forced to share dorms, Jenny with Callie of all people and Tinsley with Brett, which doesn't exactly work out well!
I do prefer the characters in the Gossip Girl series as I think they are more varied, but this spin off series is always well worth a read and I will definitely carry on buying them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the whole collection of it girl novels are amazing and this just gets better and better you get to understand the characters more it is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 1 Sep 2010
Great for any teen with nothing to read, a really enjoyable, funny and light read. Can't wait to read the next ones :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 8 Nov 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
NOTORIOUS contains more scandalous activity than a grocery store tabloid and is a far better read. Tinsley, Callie, and Brett were all best friends in room 303, living life at the top of the social food chain at Waverly Academy, until Tinsley is expelled and is replaced with another roommate, Jenny. Somehow Tinsley manages to gain re-admittance and quickly springs back into action, stirring things up with the new girl--and everyone else for that matter.

Jenny desperately wants to gain Tinsley's acceptance and finally be a part of the popular crowd, but along the way she begins to wonder what price she will have to pay for the life she dreamed of. To make matters worse she falls, hard, for Callie's estranged boyfriend, Easy, and is forced to choose between the boy she thinks she loves and her new friends.

The Waverly student body dresses in a wardrobe that will have every Sex in the City fan aching with jealousy and behaves in ways that would make Paris Hilton proud! Everything is described in perfect detail, and while some of the situations may seem a little far-fetched to the average reader, the thoughts and dialogue in the book are perfect. Although it is the second book in the series, you can quickly pick up where the story left off, and the characters are developed so completely that it feels as though you know their pasts already... or do you? The story ends in a way that will leave readers dying for the next book in the series and yet ties up most of the story lines contained in NOTORIOUS. Be prepared, though, because this is a hard book to put down!

Reviewed by: Allison M. Rotonda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all you aspiring It Girls, 6 May 2007
By 
Jenny Humphrey is the somewhat plain yet undeniably likeable main character in this series of novels. She has joined ultra trendy Waverly Academy (boarding school) and is in a constant battle against the bitchy Tinsley Carmicheal to be the ultimate It-Girl. In this particular book, she also catches the eye of the hottest guy at Waverly - Easy Walsh! But he was Callie's boyfriend first and now everyone is calling Jenny a boyfriend-stealing slut!

This book is such an easy yet enjoyable read and the characters can often be related to people you know of personally. Tinsley Carmicheal reminded me of a certain Paris Hilton so if you like Paris and all her celebrity buddies plus a generous helping of bitching and backstabbing sprinkled with some flirting and partying, you will LOVE this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Notorious: An It Girl Novel
Notorious: An It Girl Novel by Cecily Von Ziegesar (Paperback - 7 Feb 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews