Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Herculean effort!
Andy's second book is bigger, bolder and better than his awesome first effort, The Hunt For Atlantis.

The pace is unrelenting. The plot full of energy and exciting situations. The main man Eddie Chase is even more dynamic, daring and droll than ever. His one-liners are superb and he's a wonderfully original hero.

With hilarious tongue in cheek...
Published on 2 Jun. 2008 by Ben Peyton

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday fun
I'd been really looking forward to this book following Atlantis, and read it back to back with Excalibur on holiday. As before there's a nice load of set piece action scenes and a lot of Eddie one liners (particularly liked the running gag about Bond badies giving away their master plans). However during the first half of the book they seem to take precendence over the...
Published on 26 Aug. 2009 by Mark Mcclelland

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Herculean effort!, 2 Jun. 2008
Andy's second book is bigger, bolder and better than his awesome first effort, The Hunt For Atlantis.

The pace is unrelenting. The plot full of energy and exciting situations. The main man Eddie Chase is even more dynamic, daring and droll than ever. His one-liners are superb and he's a wonderfully original hero.

With hilarious tongue in cheek references to Austin Powers, Bond, Harry Potter, Dan Brown and even Bon Jovi(!) Andy has taken the action / adventure genre to a new level. This is a real page turner and you'll not want to put it down. Do yourself a favour and check this guy out. It's pure popcorn entertainment that takes you to a world of ridiculously fun literature.

Thanks Andy. Can't wait for the next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wild ride from Andy McDermott, 25 July 2008
By 
Alexandra Hemingway "readaholic" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book even more than the first one!

On top of their jobs, Nina and Eddie have personal problems to sort out. What couple doesn't face that? However, for the rest of us sorting out our problems and getting the job done doesn't involve chasing crazily all over the world, being shot at and solving deathly riddles!

Andy McDermott opens up the throttle on just about every conceivable mode of transport in this story and the pace is super-fast from the start to the finish. I guess I'll just have to re-read his books in other languages until the next one comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday fun, 26 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) (Paperback)
I'd been really looking forward to this book following Atlantis, and read it back to back with Excalibur on holiday. As before there's a nice load of set piece action scenes and a lot of Eddie one liners (particularly liked the running gag about Bond badies giving away their master plans). However during the first half of the book they seem to take precendence over the actual hunt for the Tomb. Once we reach the Tomb, its a bit blink and you'd miss it and I felt it was a bit rushed. I liked thae fact that Atlantis was referenced , linking the the two stories, but I thought the reason behind the baddies wanting the Tomb was a bit weak. The thing that make Eddie appealing is that unlike other heroes of this genre who have to have baggage or dark backgrounds or other problems weighing them down, his issues are far more real - ie male insecurites. I will definitely keep on reading McDermotts books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beach or holiday read, 5 Jan. 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) (Paperback)
Well, lovers of Clive Cussler and Matthew Reilly will enjoy this, but I have to confess I am no longer a fan of either author. But this is less over the top then Reilly while having the same non stop action style, which is ideal if you want something fast paced that you don't need to think about.
Mainly an action novel with a high body count and lots of swearing, with a slight bit of romance as the two lead characters, Nina (smart beautiful archaeologist) and Eddie (wise cracking ex SAS) have one or two problems with their relationship.
Mindless but fun in it's own way, ideal for a holiday where you want something not taxing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 25 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) (Paperback)
High speed enertainment highly enjoyable read its like Mathew Reilly books
for grown ups bring on the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLAM - POW - FULL VOLUME!, 14 July 2008
By 
N. Hart (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
About time some real action came along!

This book moves fast - races you from scene to scene but doesn't skimp and flit needlessly. Just what you need to get you up and going.

Bring on the next adventure! Go Eddie Go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tomb of Hercules, 3 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) (Paperback)
A very fast-paced, action packed, enjoyable read of fiction that takes place in various countries around the globe. Eddie and Nina's characters are becoming more evolved and defined since the first book 'Hunt for Atlantis'. Only a small section spends time in 'The tomb of Hercules' once it is found (which is a shame), with the story returning to the continuous chase of Eddie and Nina trying to catch up with the ever-changing bad guy. Never a slow moment with the story always on the move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bomb a tomb and an ex-wife, 7 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) (Paperback)
2nd book from the author and 2nd adventure for eddie and Nina. The titled Tomb of Hercules only begins more then half way through the book and not a good sequel comparing to the first adventure for the duo.

Other then a tomb, we can read where the story be able to link up to a nuke and to the intention to destroy the world for revenge of own downfall. Really, is just not the tomb and its secrets this book/story comes about - there are love lost for the heroes and love hate for ex-lovers. The wealth and secrets from the tomb is just for power to build another empire; in this case an 'underwater' world.

I should say go read, but do not expect a tight adveture; you will be tossing around a ride merely Eddie Chase run around and destroy everything. Rate 3 stars only. See what the next book does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rip-roaring read!, 16 Nov. 2009
By 
Robert Troi (Pencoed, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) (Paperback)
On my way through the airport I quickly picked up the first interesting book I saw to read. "THE COVENANT OF GENESIS" once on the plane I examined the book more closely, and discovered it was the fourth book in the series. So I didn't read it and bought the first book of the series at the next opportunity "THE HUNT FOR ATLANTIS" what a fantastic book I could not put it down, It's an edge of your seat roller coaster ride from start to finish. with great characters.
I then sent for the second book in the series "THE TOMB OF HERCULES" and and it was just as rip-roaring as the first book brilliant!
Hopefully the third book in the series "THE SECRET OF EXCALIBUR" will be here tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercules - Excellent, 24 July 2009
This review is from: The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) (Paperback)
After reading 'Atlantis', I had to read this. The first book in the series was fantastic and I did not think that Andy McDermott could live up to the first but I was pleasantly surprised that it did. The book is action packed and full of excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2)
The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) by Andy McDermott (Paperback - 13 Nov. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Hunt For Atlantis (Wilde/Chase 1)
The Hunt For Atlantis (Wilde/Chase 1) by Andy McDermott (Paperback - 12 Jun. 2008)
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (108)   
Buy new£8.99
In stock

The Secret of Excalibur (Wilde/Chase 3)
The Secret of Excalibur (Wilde/Chase 3) by Andy McDermott (Paperback - 14 May 2009)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (58)   
Buy new£6.39
In stock

The Valhalla Prophecy (Wilde/Chase 9)
The Valhalla Prophecy (Wilde/Chase 9) by Andy McDermott (Paperback - 31 July 2014)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (157)   
Buy new£3.85
In stock