Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Up to the Usual High Standard of the Author
Paul Doherty has written several best selling mystery series including The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan, the Hugh Corbett medieval mysteries, and the Canterbury Tales of mystery and murder. As well as those he has also written several novels set in Ancient Egypt. In fact if there is a more prolific author than Mr. Doherty, I have yet to find them. Amazingly...
Published on 10 Dec. 2007 by J. Chippindale

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Even the worse book has its good page: the last one
that is what John James Osborne said and I was reminded of that when reading Paul Doherty's "The Templar".

I am actually quite shocked that I had to say this as I am otherwise a huge fan of Paul Doherty and have more of less all of his books. But "The Templar" is unfortunately not one of them. It is terribly boring, is all over the place and does not have a...
Published on 19 Feb. 2008 by Amelrode


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Even the worse book has its good page: the last one, 19 Feb. 2008
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
that is what John James Osborne said and I was reminded of that when reading Paul Doherty's "The Templar".

I am actually quite shocked that I had to say this as I am otherwise a huge fan of Paul Doherty and have more of less all of his books. But "The Templar" is unfortunately not one of them. It is terribly boring, is all over the place and does not have a great flow. It drags on and on and does not seem to get to the point. It was a real drag to finish this book. It is so non-Doherty like. I simply do not get it what possessed Doherty to write in such a way. He can do so much better as he has proved many times before. Doherty writes an awful lot and maybe he needs a little break. This is unfortunately a shocking disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to standard, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
Samuel Houston "Sam1" (Perth Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Templar (Templars 1) (Paperback)
I'm having a hard time reading and finishing this book. Not his best.

It just doesn't grab my interest and doesn't seem to flow at all. And Eleanor is jus a pain in the arse.

There are better books about the Templars. It's really a pity because normally Doherty is an excellent writer.

Time to get back to Brother Athelstan and Hugh Corbett, where he excels. I miss Brother Athelstan and Lord Horsecruncher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better read a real history of the crusades, 28 Aug. 2008
By 
Bart Coessens (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Templar (Templars 1) (Paperback)
I had a hard time finishing this book. Although the crusades (especially the first) are one of my main interests. In his appendix the author states that he based his book on Tyerman's 'A new history of the crusades'. I would recommend everyone to read Tyerman instead of Doherty. I really have the impression that Doherty made a (very) simplistic abbreviated version of the first chapters of Tyermans' masterpiece, mixed in some mystery, some love affair, et voilà, a new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Up to the Usual High Standard of the Author, 10 Dec. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Paul Doherty has written several best selling mystery series including The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan, the Hugh Corbett medieval mysteries, and the Canterbury Tales of mystery and murder. As well as those he has also written several novels set in Ancient Egypt. In fact if there is a more prolific author than Mr. Doherty, I have yet to find them. Amazingly his books do not seem to suffer in the slightest from the speed in which he seems to write them. I cannot honestly say that there is one one I have not enjoyed and I think over the years I have read all of them at least once. He lives in England and was and may well still be the headmaster of a school in London. Though how he finds the time to do both is beyond me.

This is the first book in a new series about the Templar Knights. In fact starting in 1095 it encompasses the founding of the Templar Order. An order that was founded to aid the safe passage of pilgrims on their journey to the holy city.

1095 and the call to arms has swept across the whole of Europe. The Crusade is just beginning, to free Jerusalem from the grasp of the infidel. The Knights of Europe are gathering for what they feel is their duty to Christ the Lord, to free the Holy Land from the non believers. Hugh de Payens and Godefroi of St. Omer are two of the knights who will soon be at the forefront of the Templar Order. Other knights from all over Europe are leaving their lands and their loved ones and making haste towards Jerusalem.

This is a story of some of the hardships they have to face on their journey and some of the wonders that they encounter along the way. Sights that they would never have seen if they had not left their own lands to fight in the cause of the Lord. Some have safe passage but many of them will fight and die before they even see the holy city . . .

Paul Doherty can tell a good story as well as any author I know and though this book has only just been published, I can't wait for the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful work of history-based fiction, like all of Paul Doherty's other books I've read, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar (Templars 1) (Paperback)
This is the first of the two history-based novels in Paul Doherty's Templar series. It chronicles the first crusade and the beginning of the Templars. Like the other book in the series (The Templar Magician), the Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan, and the Hugh Corbett mysteries, it's a great read. The hardships suffered by the crusaders are staggering and artfully portrayed, as is the founding of the Templars by Hugh de Payens. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, really enjoyed it, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar (Templars 1) (Paperback)
Excellent book, really enjoyed it. Paul Doherty is a new author to me but will be looking for more of his novels from today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They loved it, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar (Templars 1) (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for, let's say, not a big reader. They loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doherty Hits the Mark Again, 30 May 2008
This review is from: The Templar (Templars 1) (Paperback)
Though he's one of the best writers of historical mysteries around with such books as The Rose Demon, The Year of the Cobra and The Waxman Murders, Paul Doherty isn't one you'd normally associate with the big blockbuster Da Vinci Code theme. But all this could soon change with his terrifically enjoyable book The Templar. With its giant canvass and bursts of high adventure, Doherty enters a new (for him) arena of the First Crusade.

Starting off with a cast of characters, maps and a foreword which all help to set up the novel that is written in a style different to any of Doherty's previous novels. He states that it is all based on original documents and personal diaries written by a variety of people. Told as if written in the form of a journal, the premise of the novel is simple: the First Crusade was launched in 1095 by Pope Urban II with the dual goals of liberating the sacred city of Jerusalem and the Holy Land from Muslims and freeing the Eastern Christians from Muslim rule. Within this oncoming bloody conflict there comes the founding of the mysterious group of the Templar Order, and part of their quest is to find the relics of Jesus that are said to lay in the grounds of the Holy City.

Key figures in the novel are Hugh de Payens and Godefroi of St Omer, the soon-to-be founders of the Templar Order, and Hugh's younger sister, Eleanor (and there were women in the early days of the order). As they march with other crusaders we discover that there is more at stake than the liberation of the Holy City. Here Doherty weaves in a mystery set against the vividly described hardships and bloodshed as he takes us across Europe, Byzantium and onto Syria.

The success of The Templar is just how much of Doherty's unique voice has been infused into the realm of historical mystery writing. He gives us the heroic themes we want and deserve for such a fascinating subject matter. Doherty proves he can take on big commercial themes with style and hopefully, keep us entertained with future adventures in the Holy Land for The Templar is just the start of the Crusades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templar (Templars 1)
The Templar (Templars 1) by Paul Doherty (Paperback - 17 April 2008)
£6.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews