Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Up to the Usual High Standard of the Author
Paul Doherty has written several best selling mystery series including The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan, the Hugh Corbett medieval mysteries, and the Canterbury Tales of mystery and murder. As well as those he has also written several novels set in Ancient Egypt. In fact if there is a more prolific author than Mr. Doherty, I have yet to find them. Amazingly...
Published on 1 April 2008 by J. Chippindale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder's Immortal Mask
As usual Paul Doherty provides yet another good and exciting read. He has this knack of impossing a need to keep turning the next page and this book is no different in that respect. If you like Paul Doherty, you probably don't need me to say that this is money well spent.
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by Richard Stretch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Up to the Usual High Standard of the Author, 1 April 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Murder's Immortal Mask (Paperback)
Paul Doherty has written several best selling mystery series including The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan, the Hugh Corbett medieval mysteries, and the Canterbury Tales of mystery and murder. As well as those he has also written several novels set in Ancient Egypt. In fact if there is a more prolific author than Mr. Doherty, I have yet to find them. Amazingly his books do not seem to suffer in the slightest from the speed in which he seems to write them. I cannot honestly say that there is one one I have not enjoyed and I think over the years I have read all of them at least once. He lives in England and was and may well still be the headmaster of a school in London. Though how he finds the time to do both is beyond me.

This offering is book five in the Roman series. The other in the series are Domina, Murder Imperial, The Song of the Gladiator and the Queen of the Night. Yet again I am amazed at the quality of the writing and the obvious research that has gone into making this another winner for the author. Whether it be Ancient Rome, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece or Medieval England, seems to make little or no difference to this author. The words just seem to flow from the page and through the mind of the reader.

In this latest offering Claudia, secret agent of the Empress Helena, mother of the Emperor Constantine, finds herself once again called upon to track down a vicious killer who is stalking the streets of the eternal city. The killer has a liking for slaying the young women who sell their bodies. Is the killer the same person who went on the rampage before Constantine became Emperor and has recently decided to take up his bloody dealings yet again?

When Attius Enobarbus, friend and associate of the former Emperor is found stabbed to death at his villa just outside Rome, the Empress begins to wonder if the killings are connected in any way and insists that Claudia moves swiftly to find the killer or killers . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Easy Read, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like accessable historical crime you will like this. The story moves along at a good pace, a bit repetative in the descriptive parts but a good easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Murders Immortal Mask, 14 Mar 2009
By 
D. J. Newman (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries) (Paperback)
I really enjoy these ancient Roman mystery/Crime thrillers. They tend to follow the same pattern but always with a good twist that keeps you guessing.... a perfect beach read, or a rainy day get away from the TV novel.Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Rome Mysteries)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Murder's Immortal Mask, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Richard Stretch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As usual Paul Doherty provides yet another good and exciting read. He has this knack of impossing a need to keep turning the next page and this book is no different in that respect. If you like Paul Doherty, you probably don't need me to say that this is money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can recommend Paul Doherty's books for a slightly different take on ..., 27 July 2014
This review is from: Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries) (Paperback)
Can recommend Paul Doherty's books for a slightly different take on a time of Roman history which isn't usually covered by other authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries) (Paperback)
Happy with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries)
Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries) by Paul Doherty (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
£6.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews