Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Praiseworthy Overview
For anybody who wants to read about the Campaign for the first time or for those who have read about it a long time ago, this would be an excellent overview to read. To the best of my knowledge, it contains the latest scholarship that refutes some of the exaggerations that have been around since the battle. One area that Mr Clark frequently visits concerns the number of...
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by Dave History Student

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars between two stools
Relevant to this review is that I live in Ukraine and had previously read books on East European history, especially of the 20th century. I was disappointed with several things, such as the first 66 pages being devoted to the events in Russia and Germany which led up to WW2 (done better in other books, and unnecessary for me); and then the next 100 pages are devoted to...
Published on 14 Dec 2011 by odessafile


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With an opening description of the two countries leaders, this book gives a clear insight into the lead up to the battle,and the reasons why it continued.

it describes the battle plans and the reactions to them and has some survivor statements within the text for certain days of the battle.

Leaves you amazed at how soldiers could sustain the level of ferocity for days on end with no replacements arriving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid treatment of the battle, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little plodding to begin, but quickly gives the proper treatment of the gruelling battle between the forces, the like of which would not be known in the west in WWII.

The diagrams could be clearer, it's true. Especially for ebooks, where animated diagrams are now possible. But that's a minor quibble for a fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good context and wide view, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a battle history, so if one is looking for a detailed staff analysis of the battle this is not it. What id does do well is explain the wider view of how political and industrial decisions shaped the outcome. At the same time however its not in the same class as Shirer's or Bullock's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kursk, 15 Dec 2011
I was very disappointed with this book. The story of the battle does not begin until halfway through the book. The first half cover the lead up to the German invasion of Russia and subsequent events, events better covered by other authors. The battle is dealt with at corps and division level The narrative is uninspiring. The maps are totally inadequate. Many places mentioned in the text are not on the maps. Moreover army units are sometimes labelled with Roman numerals and at others with Arabic numerals. This is confusing and smacks of sloppiness. In summary I wish I had not wasted my money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better maps please., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kursk: The Greatest Battle (Paperback)
A good read that put the battle into context of the war on the Eastern Front. I quite liked the introductions covering the actions and personalities leading up to the battle. Well told, with plenty of strategy, political background and personal stories to add colour. I did find it very irritating though to flip through the pages to find the relevant map to the text. They were nowhere near where they should be, and they were very difficult to read. Other than that five star, and a great book for any war buff. Well up there with Anthony Beevor and Max Hastings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Account, 8 Dec 2011
This is far and away the best account of Kursk that there is. It is brilliantly told story that carefully puts the battle in its proper context. The author manages to pull off the difficult trick of balancing the fighting from Berlin and Moscow, the general in his HQ and the soldier at the sharp end. The detail is wonderful and while it is a page turning read, I found the analysis extremely useful. I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent and immensely compelling account of an extraordinary conflict, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliantly written that was easy to read and understand. Which such an array of battle formations, tactics and strategy this could've been a very heavy and difficult read. But it was the complete opposite. Right up there with Stalingrad and D-Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars text book history, 15 Nov 2011
I did not buy this book thinking I was going to get a potted history of World War 2 for the first one hundred plus pages. Felt like filler to me. Battle part very good though.Ok book but not five stars by any standards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Historical Read., 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting book of a detailed account of the pivotal battle of the second world war. I found that once picked up it was hard to put down even though I well knew the outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a sound analysis, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A god read but could do with more, better quality maps. A battle ends to be followed on the ground, not to have a map to guide us is depriving us of full understanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kursk: The Greatest Battle
Kursk: The Greatest Battle by Lloyd Clark (Paperback - 24 May 2012)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews