Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first consulting detective
As a fan of Conan Doyle's work (not just Sherlock Holmes, but the Professor Challenger Lost World stories too) I have a large number of books and audio versions of his work. Some of them are great, some are good and some are absolutely awful - this, however, is one of the better ones.

Once I had managed to get past the initial "Cadfael is reading Sherlock...
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by Su

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How could he kill off Sherlock???
This was to have been Conan Doyle's last set of Holmes tales but as we know now due to fantastic public demand he was brought back from the dead to live another day and solve three more volumes of cases.

Conan Doyle had wanted to kill off Holmes and concentrate any more "serious" writing projects:

"I must save my mind for better things," he wrote to...
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by David Spanswick


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first consulting detective, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a fan of Conan Doyle's work (not just Sherlock Holmes, but the Professor Challenger Lost World stories too) I have a large number of books and audio versions of his work. Some of them are great, some are good and some are absolutely awful - this, however, is one of the better ones.

Once I had managed to get past the initial "Cadfael is reading Sherlock Holmes" feeling I was able to close my eyes and become immersed in the reminisces of Dr John Watson.

A total of 11 stories told in 9 hours 5 minutes over 8 discs.

Several of the stories are divided across 2 discs.

Disc 1
- Silver Blaze
- Yellow Face (starts at track 20)

Disc 2
- Yellow Face (continued)
- Stockbrokers Clerk (starts at track 12)

Disc 3
- The Gloria Scott
- The Musgrave Ritual (starts at track 15)

Disc 4
- The Musgrave Ritual (continued)
- Reigate Squires (starts at track 9)

Disc 5
- Crooked Man
- Resident Patient (starts at track 15)

Disc 6
- Resident Patient (continued)
- Greek Interpreter (starts at track 10)

Disc 7
- Naval Treaty

Disc 8
- Naval Treaty (continued)
- The Final Problem (starts at track 6)

There has always been some debate over the number of stories that were contained in "Memoirs". When this series of stories were originally published in "The Stand Magazine" they included "The Adventure of the Cardboard Box" (aka the severed ear), but this was dropped from the original UK publication of "Memoirs" (and it appeared in the Last Bow volume in the US). No-one is sure why, some say it was Conan Doyle who wanted it pulled and others put the blame on the publishers. The "Cardboard Box" was later reinstated into "Memoirs", but does not appear in this set but hopefully will be in the "Last Bow" when it is released.

My only real problem with the set is with the box the discs come in. The discs are grouped together on a spindle rather than being separate - this means that to find, say for example, disc 6 you have to remove most of the disc to find the one that you want, this removal, no matter how careful you handle the discs, will cause a certain amount of scratching to the playing side of the discs.

I was introduced to the Sherlock Holmes stories as a child and they are stories - I return to over and over again. They are some of the best detective stories I have ever read and Derek Jacobi does a great job reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes: Arthur Conan Doyle, read by Derek Jacobi: Eleven more elementary tales, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is specific to the unabridged audio book read by Derek Jacobi.

Published monthly in the Strand Magazine in 1892/3 and collected together as a book in 1894, the memoirs of Sherlock Holmes include some of the best of his short stories. Silver Blaze, Crooked Man, Musgrave Ritual and, of course, The Final problem, have gone down in literary history as thrilling tales of adventure and deductive reasoning. The tales cover a broad range, from Holmes' recounting of adventures in 1880 and 1881 (prior to his meeting Watson) to his faithful Boswell, through to the Final problem set in 1891. So in this collection we get Holmes' first cast, and what Doyle thought would be his last.

Doyle gives us a series of mysteries that give their thrills either through astonishing displays of deductive reasoning (Silver Blaze, Musgrave Ritual), from action and adventure (The Final Problem, The Gloria Scott), mixtures of the two (Reigate Squires) and occasionally from a good old fashioned slice of Gothic Horror (Musgrave Ritual again). Problems are not always satisfactorily resolved (The Resident Patient, The Yellow Face), but the telling of the tale is always thrilling.

This set follows the tradition of not including the contemporary story `The Cardboard Box', so there are only eleven stories here. Nonetheless it is a five star collection of tales, and consists of:

"Silver Blaze"
"The Adventure of the Yellow Face"
"The Adventure of the Stockbroker's Clerk"
"The Adventure of the Gloria Scott"
"The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual"
"The Adventure of the Reigate Squire"
"The Adventure of the Crooked Man"
"The Adventure of the Resident Patient"
"The Adventure of the Greek Interpreter"
"The Adventure of the Naval Treaty"
"The Final Problem"

Derek Jacobi's full text reading, on 8 discs, is a real pleasure. It is the next best thing to reading the actual book. Jacobi provides a great narrating voice, slipping into the role of Watson relating events perfectly. You almost feel as though you are sat next to Watson in his club as he reminisces on his adventures with his friend Holmes. And as he recounts the events leading up to Holmes' death at Reichenbach Jacobi really conveys the sorrow that Watson feels for the loss of his friend. It's masterful. I enjoyed listening to this immensely, and look forward to getting more in the series. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Over the last year I've listened to quite a few audio books, at first I wasn't too keen but now I love listening to them as I can also get on with other things whilst I listen.

Both my brother and I are huge Sherlock Holmes fans especially the old films starring the great Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce. :-)

There are 8 CD's in this collection and this version is narrated by the great Derek Jacobi, in my eyes he does an excellent job. :-)

I'm not going to go into any of the story plots as I don't want to spoil it for anyone.

All can say is if you're a fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle great detective Sherlock Holmes then I know you'd enjoy this audio collection. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes: Arthur Conan Doyle - More elementary tales, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Published monthly in the Strand Magazine in 1892/3 and collected together as a book in 1894, the memoirs of Sherlock Holmes include some of the best of his short stories. Silver Blaze, Crooked Man, Musgrave Ritual and, of course, The Final problem, have gone down in literary history as thrilling tales of adventure and deductive reasoning. The tales cover a broad range, from Holmes' recounting of adventures in 1880 and 1881 (prior to his meeting Watson) to his faithful Boswell, through to the Final problem set in 1891. So in this collection we get Holmes' first cast, and what Doyle thought would be his last.

Doyle gives us a series of mysteries that give their thrills either through astonishing displays of deductive reasoning (Silver Blaze, Musgrave Ritual), from action and adventure (The Final Problem, The Gloria Scott), mixtures of the two (Reigate Squires) and occasionally from a good old fashioned slice of Gothic Horror (Musgrave Ritual again). Problems are not always satisfactorily resolved (The Resident Patient, The Yellow Face), but the telling of the tale is always thrilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes: Arthur Conan Doyle - More elementary tales, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Published monthly in the Strand Magazine in 1892/3 and collected together as a book in 1894, the memoirs of Sherlock Holmes include some of the best of his short stories. Silver Blaze, Crooked Man, Musgrave Ritual and, of course, The Final problem, have gone down in literary history as thrilling tales of adventure and deductive reasoning. The tales cover a broad range, from Holmes' recounting of adventures in 1880 and 1881 (prior to his meeting Watson) to his faithful Boswell, through to the Final problem set in 1891. So in this collection we get Holmes' first cast, and what Doyle thought would be his last.

Doyle gives us a series of mysteries that give their thrills either through astonishing displays of deductive reasoning (Silver Blaze, Musgrave Ritual), from action and adventure (The Final Problem, The Gloria Scott), mixtures of the two (Reigate Squires) and occasionally from a good old fashioned slice of Gothic Horror (Musgrave Ritual again). Problems are not always satisfactorily resolved (The Resident Patient, The Yellow Face), but the telling of the tale is always thrilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Memoirs ..., 4 Aug 2012
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sir Derek Jacobi was a wonderful choice as narrator of this selection of Sherlock Holmes stories. There are some wonderful short stories here which will keep you entertained - my favourites being Silver Blaze, The Musgrave Ritual and The Resident Patient. Jacobi is faultless and that's what you want in an Audiobook - someone who enhances the tale in the telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How could he kill off Sherlock???, 4 Mar 2011
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was to have been Conan Doyle's last set of Holmes tales but as we know now due to fantastic public demand he was brought back from the dead to live another day and solve three more volumes of cases.

Conan Doyle had wanted to kill off Holmes and concentrate any more "serious" writing projects:

"I must save my mind for better things," he wrote to his mother at the time, "even if it means I must bury my pocketbook with him."

Thankfully he was persuaded to resurrect his famous detective and not only brought him back to life but established a literary figure that it will be impossible ever to kill off and there may well be new Holmes stories written well into the next century. He has become almost an historic rather than a fictional figure.

This CD set is a cover to cover reading of the stories collected in the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes and they are wonderfully read by the fruity-voiced Derek Jacobi, a welcome addition to the Holmes readers which include Basil Rathbone, David Timson, Christopher Lee, Peter Cushing and even the latest reincarnation Benedict Cumberbatch.

My only problem with this set is the dividing up of the stories so many start on one CD and end half way through the next one. This feels just like bad organisation, poorly assessed recording techniques or maybe unnecessary thrift. I feel each of the cases deserves a CD of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value set, 23 Feb 2011
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I must admit when I ordered this I wasn't really expecting such a hefty set. 11 stories on 8 CDs spanning just over 9 hours is extremely good value for around a tenner. You know when you're getting Sir Derek Jacobi reading (which is what drew me most to this product) it's going to be top quality and he certainly didn't let me down here. Every story is well read and really, seeing as these are straight readings (no full-cast audio drama or sound effects here), it probably needed someone of his gravitas to pull it off. Others have mentioned to story titles so I'll just leave it there with a recommendation for a great value set of Sherlock Holmes tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition, 19 July 2013
By 
K. Sherwood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read most of the Sherlock Holmes novels and was surprised that the spelling of the product was American,
But it was a freebie so I can live with that.I will look for future publications for my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just be warned, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is published in American English. It's an English book written by an English Author about an English 'hero' but has been converted to American.

It spoiled the reading experience for me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Sherlock Complete Set 4)
£6.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews