Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting mix that's easy to read
Of the collection, I'd already read How To Speak To Girls At Parties and A Study In Emerald before and of the two, I think that A Study In Emerald is the stronger story. For those who don't know, A Study In Emerald is a hybrid of the Sherlock Holmes stories and Locecraft's Call of Cthulu, set in an alternative world where the Old Ones rule over man and one of their number...
Published on 26 Jun. 2007 by I Read, Therefore I Blog

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Narnia- the Unexpurgated version?
I found this disparate collection disappointingly weak. Narrative structure dissolves into purple prose, and women are uniformly portrayed as temptresses and unpleasant destroyers of men.
Worst, is the Narnia ' Problem of Susan' story which involves a dream sequence of laughable bad porn content. Gaiman gets a myth, turns it this way or that way, deconstructs it and...
Published on 9 Jan. 2013 by PenFriend


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful collection, 9 April 2013
By 
A. Browne "avid reader" (Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fragile Things (Paperback)
This is a wonderful collection of short stories. In this book we get to see the breadth of Neil Gaiman's imagination. I loved 'other people' I maybe a little slow but I did not see the ending coming. I was so caught up in the story. This is the joy of the short story format and Neil Gaiman is an expert practitioner of the art. I am going to have to check out American Gods next and experience one of his longer novels. (it's on the bookshelf waiting to be read )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fragile things, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragile Things (Kindle Edition)
Good book of short stories. Would recommend to neil gaiman fans but would recommend one of his novels for first timers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fragile things, 16 Jun. 2010
By 
janey b (salisbury wilts uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragile Things (Paperback)
These are typical Neil Gaiman stories,some are clever,some make you go "urghh" but all are good.I love the way he can make something outlandish seem perfectly natural.The stories are not overly long,so can be squeezed into a short break if you want to read something other than the newspaper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragile Things (Paperback)
I can't say much more than other reviewers have, except that this book is full of wonderful and astounding stories. I read the book and found I enjoyed every story in its own way - they're witty, imaginative and different. But what else can be expected of Mr Gaiman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable - try Smoke and Mirrors instead, 25 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Fragile Things (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Neil Gaiman's books so I had high expectations of another short story collection but this book left me completely cold. I particularly loved Smoke and Mirrors. Best part of a year after reading it so many of the stories still stick in my head: the wedding present, the cat, the playboy girl, the angels, snow white, the hollywood hotel, the troll and the genius 100 word santa story in particular. It is two weeks since I finished Fragile Things and I'm struggling to remember a distinct story out of it. Only the Shadow novella stands out, and then only because of its complete failure to repeat the great trick from American Gods of making the absurd believable.

Don't get me wrong, it's still Neil Gaiman so it is well written with some great lines and imagination and there are a lot of worse ways of passing a few hours but I couldn't find any of the fire and bite and connection I got from Smoke and Mirrors. The stories seemed much more similar to each other and the themes of disappearances and the ghosts/gods/monsters among us never seemed to let up to give some variety or surprise at the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short fictions & wonders, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragile Things (Paperback)
Excellent book, well written and an excellent collection of short stories and poetry. Gaiman is still as impressive as ever, a sure-hit with fans of his work and an excellent introduction for new-comers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at its best, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragile Things (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and imaginative, I loved every page. Each story keeps you guessing and wondering. Especially enjoyed the twist in the Sherlock Holmes story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars neil gaiman is great, 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragile Things (Paperback)
Brilliant, fantastic, funny, quirky, and thought provoking. A great selection of brilliant short stories for fans of this entertaining author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effortlessly Creepy, 10 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragile Things (Kindle Edition)
Neil Gaiman is, in my opinion, one of the most consistently good writers of this generation. He is a fantastic novelist as well as an exceedingly good short storyteller - many authors can only do one or the other. Short stories are, in some ways, things authors to do practice their writing, free to experiment. Most of Neil's stories have an interesting background behind them and the book contains a preface with a list and explanation of each item.

Much of Neil Gaiman's writing is his take on popular literature and mythology. 'A Study in Emerald' tackles Sherlock Holmes, the now very famous American Gods and the short novella in this book looks at Norse mythology and there's even a story about Narnia, but not like you know it. There are some downright weird stories here, some obviously experimental, some that you probably aren't going to understand, but all are compulsively readable. I won't go into detail for fear of spoiling the many twists and turns.

My favourites were:

Instructions
Good Boys Deserve Favours
A Study in Emerald (won a Hugo award and worth the price of the book)
Other People
Monarch of the Glen (fans of American Gods should read this)
Goliath

You probably won't like every story in here, that's fine: It's an anthology, you're allowed to. Think of this not as a book, but as an album, some of the songs you hate, some you like, and all of them raise the hairs on the back of your neck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. G. M. Buller "Graum the bookish" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fragile Things (Paperback)
Having read three of his novels first I was looking forward to this collection, boy was I disappointed. The poetry is at best average,and the stories are mostly pointless. There are a couple of gems, however, but others may find something more of worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fragile Things
Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman (Paperback - 5 April 2007)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews