Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
This book tells the story of Romy Kilkenny and her family. She is house sharing with Keith in Australia having travelled the world on archealogical digs. She is called back home to Ireland to look after her glamorous mum who is due to have an operation and needs looking after. Unfortunately Romy's mum who lives the life, and looks like someone 20 years younger, manages to...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by Best Crime Books

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I have been a fan of Sheila O'Flanagan for some years and have read all her books but really strugggled with this one. The characters were by and large two-dimensional cardboard cutouts. I got to the end feeling as if I hadn't really got to know Romy. It just wasn't credible that she would have caved into pressure from the family she loathed, given up a promotion and come...
Published on 22 Sep 2009 by Miss L. D. Masters


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 11 Aug 2008
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone Special (Hardcover)
This book tells the story of Romy Kilkenny and her family. She is house sharing with Keith in Australia having travelled the world on archealogical digs. She is called back home to Ireland to look after her glamorous mum who is due to have an operation and needs looking after. Unfortunately Romy's mum who lives the life, and looks like someone 20 years younger, manages to rub Romy up the wrong way from the moment she arrives back. Romy has to deal with her fiercly independent half sister who is living in New York and her half brother Darragh and his wife Giselle. Darraghs life revolves around his fathers company that he runs and Romy finds herslef stuck right in the middle of her family and their problems. This is a great story that was thoroughly enjoyable to read. Sheila O'Flanagan never skimps on story and this book is well worth getting. The characters are loveable and the story told at a great pace, I didn't feel that the story was rushed at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect holiday sunlounger chick lit read, 22 Jun 2009
This review is from: Someone Special (Paperback)
If you like your chick lit to be warm, humorous, easy to relate to and entertaining with some darker moment surprises along the way then this is for you. Perfect for holiday reading. I don't like to give away the plot - you want to discover that for yourself - but I think that most of us can relate to the family dynamics and characters played out in this engaging book of extended families, sibling rivalries, perceived favouritism, domestic violence, family businesses, self understanding and, of course, romance. Totally believable and well written, you may well know somebody just like one of these characters. Stretch out with a cool cocktail and enjoy - make room in your suitcase & don't forget to pack it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Miss L. D. Masters (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Someone Special (Hardcover)
I have been a fan of Sheila O'Flanagan for some years and have read all her books but really strugggled with this one. The characters were by and large two-dimensional cardboard cutouts. I got to the end feeling as if I hadn't really got to know Romy. It just wasn't credible that she would have caved into pressure from the family she loathed, given up a promotion and come home from Australia just because her mother, Veronica, needed an operation. The character of the man-eating Veronica was just a joke and the part where Kathryn's husband comes over to Ireland was downright silly and melodramatic. In a nutshell, it's OK for a wet weekend, but frankly not one I'll be rushing to re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great, 14 July 2010
This review is from: Someone Special (Paperback)
I really did enjoy reading this book, however I always felt there was something missing. The title 'someone special' would give the impression of romance - well it did to me, however it was more about the dynamics of a family and the ins and outs of I suppose what you would call a modern family. Although towards the end it all came together a bit too like a fairytale for me. Don't get me wrong I love fairytales however it either is or it isn't and in this case I was never too sure....It dealt with a lot family issues, domestic violence, mother/daughter relationships, will they/won't they romance, step brother/sister relationships etc and then at the end it just came together all too well I think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ!, 6 July 2009
By 
S. Kaur (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Someone Special (Paperback)
I really liked this book because it's easy to read and is a good size (thick!). Therefore, the novel progresses steadily, and generally is a great book to read that doesn't get boring for a moment.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever plot, 27 Aug 2008
By 
H (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Someone Special (Hardcover)
This book kept me hooked. I was intrigued as to the mystery surrounding Romy's poor relationship with her mother, Veronica. And the issues all the main characters have are quite something! Romy has a difficult relationship with her half-brother, Darragh, and her half-sister, Kathryn to say the least. Each of them have flaws, but are none the less likeable for it, and you can understand their behaviour too. Romy having to go home to Ireland to look after her mother makes for an interesting plot. Then there is the subject of her relationship with her best friend, Keith, Darragh's obsession with the family business, Kathryn's questionable marriage and Veronica's concern about growing old. An enjoyable read. I would have given it 5 stars, but I felt that there could have been a little more in the way of Romy's romance. It was dealt with quite briefly in the end, but perhaps it was fitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone Special (Kindle Edition)
Fab escapism perfect for bedtime or holidays. If you are a sheila o Flanagan fan you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Someone Special Shelia O'Flanagan, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone Special (Paperback)
Just what I wanted, very fast delivery, will use again and very good quality. It has been a great read and truely recommended. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lost that normal sparkle, 15 April 2013
By 
F Keegan (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Someone Special (Paperback)
O'Flanagan turns her hand to dealing with the complex relationships found in families where step siblings exist.
Romy is the protagonist who relishes her job in Australia as an archaeologist. Her step brother Darragh shames her into coming home to look after her socialite mother Veronica who needs back surgery and help in her convalescent period. As Romy has never really got on with her mother this sounds like hell on earth and despite looking for excuses to avoid coming home feels obliged as both Darragh and his sister Kathryn are unable to help.
Kathryn is an account specialising in fraud investigations in the US , married to Alan she has the perfect lifestyle and simply cannot drop everything to come home. Darragh and his wife Giselle live close to Veronica but Giselle is heavily pregnant and cannot take on the responsibility and of course as MD of the family business Darragh is far too busy to help. In their eyes Romy is the only one without a responsible job and therefore must come home.
Veronica has tried to be a good mother, married 3 times she is a social butterfly and looking good is important to her, Romy is the complete opposite and sparks fly often as she grew up feeling unloved compared to true blood siblings Darragh and Kathryn. The novel explores the mother / daughter relationship in the convalescent period .
I normally love this author but lately have found her books to be a bit of a struggle, I found this bland and myself not caring about any of the characters and their exploits. It did pick up during the last 100 pages but too late to save the book for me. I have a further two of her novels waiting to be read but will be in no hurry to pick them up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars someone special, 26 July 2012
This review is from: Someone Special (Hardcover)
The most boring book i have ever read !!!!!!
Do not waist your time. Completely unrealistic and over dramatic.I did not enjoy even one chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6463dbc)

This product

Someone Special
Someone Special by Sheila O'flanagan (Hardcover - 7 Aug 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews