Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a magnificent series this is!
Cato and Macro's third outing is the best yet. Having survived the full horrors of battle in the previous two books they find themselves embarking on a mission to rescue General Plautius's family from the clutches of some pretty bloodthirsty and terrifying Druids. As before, the principal characters are thoroughly three-dimensional and the dialogue crackles with smart...
Published on 14 Nov. 2002 by harold1069

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Scarrow's usual standard
This story is O.K. but is not as good as the previous tales. Some of the action feels somewhat forced and the depictions of Boudica and Prasutagus are a bit cliched, particularly the latter's dumb but descent barbarian act. On the other hand, it does have it's moments and the introduction of the Druids as bogeymen adds a nice new level of threat.
Published on 24 Mar. 2013 by William Axtell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when the eagle hunts, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
A. Shoesmith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
brilliant I have been following this author who wrote this series of books, also the characters are very believeable.
I strongly recommend this to anyone who likes roman history and a good storyline.
Well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping and didn't want to put down, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't think a small summary can do this book justice! As with the previous books you don't want to put it down, the detail it's written in transports to you to Roman Britain the land the Druids, a superb book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a series like no other!, 8 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
i think all the other comments really speak for themselves in regards to this book and the series as a whole, so i will just round it off by saying that this series is probably the best series of books ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say about Simon Scarrow's Macro and Cato novels. I love them. I am currently on number 5 and look forward to everyone as they are so exciting and excellently written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Eagle Has Landed, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
Simon scarrow's 3rd novel I believe. Series like this have a tendency to become repetitive but not 'the eagle' series. Have enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
A class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Left wanting more, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent edition in this series. I'm left thoroughly hooked and looking forward to the next instalment. I wonder what is in store for Marco and Cato next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so good for birthdays, 20 July 2014
By 
June Marie Birch (Holmfirth, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When the Eagle Hunts (Paperback)
Compulsive reading, bought as a gift for my husband, so far there are 13 books in the series, so good for birthdays, fathers day and other gift giving occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me spellbound, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read. The characters come alive from the first page and you get caught up in the events as if you where there with them. I Look forward to the next book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CATO & MACRO, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
3rd of a fabulous series of stories. Historically it asks and asnswers questions whilst adding a rollicking story. Cant wait to read them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When the Eagle Hunts
When the Eagle Hunts by Simon Scarrow (Hardcover - 26 Dec. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews