Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads Like a Script for a Hilarious Slapstick Comedy
To write for television, you have to create a memorable scene and finish it within 90 seconds. That's tough for comedy because you have to end each scene with a laugh. As wonderful a novelist as Janet Evanovich is, there's an even better script writer hidden inside her novels.
In Eleven on Top, Janet Evanovich has created a memorable scene and laugh every page and a...
Published on 27 Aug 2005 by Donald Mitchell

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars back on form (but only just)
Finally the eleventh book is here, having read the whole book in just under a day and a half i was plesantly surprised with this one. It was far better than Ten Big Ones which was really disappointing!!!In this one Steph has alot more interaction with Ranger (which will thrill all the babes and annoy the cupcakes), there are a few laugh out loud moments in the book and i...
Published on 20 Jun 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads Like a Script for a Hilarious Slapstick Comedy, 27 Aug 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
To write for television, you have to create a memorable scene and finish it within 90 seconds. That's tough for comedy because you have to end each scene with a laugh. As wonderful a novelist as Janet Evanovich is, there's an even better script writer hidden inside her novels.
In Eleven on Top, Janet Evanovich has created a memorable scene and laugh every page and a half. That's very tough to do, but she's done it!
Although most will not want to put the book down (who wouldn't want to laugh almost nonstop to the end of a book?), you can read this book before going to sleep knowing that you'll reach a naturally breaking point every page and a half.
Much of the humor is visual. It's a remarkable strength of the writing in this book that you can so easily see the slapstick. Few writers can capture slapstick in writing. Eleven on Top marks a new high in Ms. Evanovich's talent in this regard.
If you don't know Ms. Evanovich's writing, it's very much on a par with the very best scripts that Lucille Ball used in her shows with Desi.
Oh, yes, there is a plot. But it's there mainly for people who cannot enjoy a book without a plot. Almost any other plot would have done as well.
Stephanie finds that bounty hunting is just too disgusting for her . . . and quits Vinnie. For the first half of the book, she lurches violently from one job-related adventure to another. In between, Lulu persuades Stephanie to "assist" in capturing a particularly recalcitrant scofflaw. In the second half of the book, she finds a job she likes . . . but it has other complications that you'll love reading about. Someone is also stalking Stephanie and threatening her life. Morelli is obsessed with Stephanie's body . . . and Stephanie finds she "likes" the attention. Under duress, Stephanie swears off sugar . . . with sexy consequences. The sexual tension in this book is really hot! In her spare time, Stephanie also plays "maid-of-honor-to-be" for her sister with more humorous consequences.
The story has a better balance between the Ranger and Morelli sections than many of the others in the series. I generally like the books that have lots of Ranger in them better than the ones that are all Morelli or crime fighting. Ranger's mystery is more appealing to me than Morelli's lust.
If you like sexy humor, I thought that Eleven on Top was a new high for Ms. Evanovich as well. The flirtatious comments are wonderful!
Smile while you laugh and laugh through your smiles with Eleven on Top!
Don't miss this book!!! It's the fun read of the summer of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plumtastic!, 11 July 2005
By 
M. J. Ayling "Mel Ayling" (NE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
Another fantastic episode in the crazy world of Plum. Yet more fantastic tension from the Ranger/Morelli quandry. And with Lula at large in the world of bounty hunting absolutely hilarious from start to finish! Roll on number 12!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars back on form (but only just), 20 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
Finally the eleventh book is here, having read the whole book in just under a day and a half i was plesantly surprised with this one. It was far better than Ten Big Ones which was really disappointing!!!In this one Steph has alot more interaction with Ranger (which will thrill all the babes and annoy the cupcakes), there are a few laugh out loud moments in the book and i actually think Lula gets all the best lines!!!However i did get the feeling that the author is going over alot of old ground, and the series needs to end soon the love triangle between Ranger, Morelli and Steph is becoming a tad repetitive!!
Nevertheless those who have been waiting since the last book will not be disappointed in this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The jelly squirts from Stephanie's donut, 14 Aug 2005
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
The previous installment in the Stephanie Plum series, TEN BIG ONES, was published in June 2004. In November, author Janet Evanovich apparently launched a new heroine with METRO GIRL, a book I investigated and decided I had no interest in reading. I thought perhaps Evanovich was done with Stephanie. But either I was wrong, or Janet came to her financial senses. In any case, Plum has returned in ELEVEN ON TOP. I admit it; I'm hooked for life on this trashy series.
Thirty seconds into ELEVEN, Stephanie quits her job as a bond enforcement agent working for her cousin Vinnie in Trenton, NJ. True to form, however, brief gigs in the local button factory, Kan Kean Dry Cleaners, and Cluck-in-a-Bucket just don't work out. And it shouldn't be a surprise to any series aficionado when Cluck-in-a-Bucket goes up in flames while Stephanie is on duty.
Everything Plum fans have come to love about Stephanie's personal and public comic misadventures are present in ELEVEN in satisfying excess: explosions, fires, accumulating corpses, tumbles into messy organic debris, and her dysfunctional relationships with Trenton cop Joe Morelli and the hottie Ranger.
Yeah, it's incredibly sophomoric, but great fun. And Plum reveals a new side to her personality when she attempts to quit sugar intake cold turkey. Indeed, the man in Stephanie's life witness to her to voluntary abstention from cookies and donuts had better have the sexual stamina of an eighteen year old. A Plum Assignment if you ask me. Is Morelli up to the task, you think?
I'm perhaps overreacting with five stars. But I'm just so ecstatic that Stephanie is back. I only wish that Evanovich would sign a Hollywood picture deal with Sandra Bullock in the lead role. Janet, work with me here, will ya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evanovich hits the target again!, 18 Mar 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
i love this book so much that i have re-read it over and over again. Janet gives the readers the best of crime, roamnce, mystery, humour and this book embarces all those qualities!
Stephanie quits the bonds office this time, which i thought was a good way of adding more hunmour into the book as she trys out other jobs and fails to keep them! theres playful flirting with Ranger which was funny and sexy at the same time. Steph is with Joe this time around, which in my opinion should stay that way!
another great book! i can't wait till twelve sharp comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Ten Big Ones, not as good as One for the Money, 2 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
This is a madcap adventure with a lot of slapstick - the eleventh in the Stephanie Plum Series. If you are new to the series, start with One for the Money and work your way through them.
Most of the great characters are in Eleven on Top - Morelli, Grandma Mazur, Lula, Ranger, Grandma Bella, the powder blue Buick, Bob the dog and Rex the Hamster and Stephanie's immediate family. It is like catching up on old friends.

Grandma Mazur and Grandma Bella have a ridiculous but hilarious fight at Stiva's Funeral Home; it is laugh out loud action. And you have to read about the mole - it will make you squirm and laugh at the same time. Plus Stephanie's declaration that she can play the cello - we have all done something similar and but not let it get that far. As usual, cars driven by Stephanie are blown up and she is shot and has little regard for her safety, she is saved from a tight spot at the end and lives on for book number 12.
Stephanie's inability to hold a job until Ranger comes to the rescue is funny but wears a bit thin. Lula's antics are very entertaining and she has taken on Stephanie's mantle as the most absolutely hopeless bounty hunter. Lula is in top form.
Stephanie is much closer to Morelli, and he to her, but it is still really annoying in that she can't even tell him she loves him which is pathetic given his declarations. He is so nice, and you know they are made for each other, so her behaviour seems very juvenile.
There's lots of flirtation with Ranger, and it sounds as if we may hear more about his secret/past life in future books. He kind of gives me the creeps though, however sexy he is and how much cares about Stephanie. I prefer her with Morelli as it is much more realistic and enjoyable to read than the fantasy of Ranger. I'd love to see her married/engaged or have a child with Morelli while still working for Ranger because I think there is more mileage in that than Morelli putting up with her inability to commit or declare her feelings. I really hope Ms Evanovich rounds out the relationship more in the next book. In this one it is as if they are still high school kids.
I read the book in 4 hours and I really wish it had more to it. There are some really funny moments and some fast paced action, but you have to suspend belief to enjoy it. It is much better than Ten Big Ones but not as good as One for the Money. It is worth getting out of the library or sharing with a friend rather than waiting for the paperback, but maybe not worth 14.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit over the top, 22 Jun 2005
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
Stephanie decides that being a bounty hunter is just too dangerous, so she quits her job and tries to find something safer. She has very short stints working at the button factory (fired before she starts work), a dry cleaners,and Kluck-in-abucket, before she ends up working for Ranger. The trouble is, someone is still trying to kill her, and her cars are getting blown up at an alarming rate.
Also, her sister Valerie is getting married to Albert Kloughn, and she is expetec to walk up the aisle in eggplant. Also, for no very good reason, she has told her family that she knowns how to play the cello (she can't) and they are expecting her to play it at the wedding. Then she decides she is going to give up eating sugar. Could her life get any worse?
Stephanie's adventures are still very entertaining, but I found this one slightly less gripping than the previous volumes. I miss the terrible Vinnie, who is one of my favourite characters. There are still plenty of funny scenes, my favourite is the fight between Grandma Mazur and Grandma Bella (in the funeral parlour naturally, where else?), but I occasionaly found myself wondering how much longer Stephanie can go on stringing Morelli along without making a committment, I found myself muttering irritably "Make up your mind, can't you?". And the denoument seemed to me just too wildly improbable.
Oh well, never mind, you don't read Stephanie Plum novels for the realism, you read them for the laughs, and there are still plenty of those, if not quite as many as in previous episodes, there are still more than in most books written by other authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same story, different title, 26 Oct 2006
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Stephanie Plum 11) (Paperback)
I have enjoyed many of the books in this series, but by 'Eleven on Top' I have truly had enough of the formulaic, and unimaginative series.

Book after book has contained the same structure as this one, a tease here about Stephanie's relationships, a suprise there when something ridiculous and over the top happens to a central character, a sudden end to the story with one chapter to go. The trouble is, these aren't mysteries, they are not even complex enough that as a reader you can have fun figuring out whodunnit.

This one doesn't hit the mark on the funny scale either - the jokes are getting tired and reworked. Rather than having built solid interesting characters (which could have been well done over 10+ books), their fragmented and random behaviour means you don't really feel you know them.

I'm afraid this is the end of the line for me and the series. I agree with another reviewer who said borrow it from the library if you need to check first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and capturing, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Miss P. Gallucci (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was recommended it as a nice reading an it actually is. I will try some more by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as usual got lost in Stephanie and co,s world extremely funny, if you have not tried janet evanovich,s books you are missing out,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9c45dc)

This product

Eleven On Top (Stephanie Plum 11)
Eleven On Top (Stephanie Plum 11) by Janet Evanovich (Paperback - 20 Nov 2012)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews