Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His best work since 'Early One Morning'
Robert Ryan is back on form with this follow-up to 'The Last Sunrise'. I was particularly impressed with the development of James Hadley Webb's character and the description of the amorality of the time and place.

It is based on real events and you do get a real sense of what it must have been like to endure life in Berlin in 1948, though I could have done with...
Published on 3 Sep 2008 by G. Shaw

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK but.
I bought this book after reading 'Empire of Sand' which was excellent. I was not so drawn by this book it is also a little short. Not great 'its OK'.
Published on 10 Nov 2009 by Crimas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His best work since 'Early One Morning', 3 Sep 2008
By 
G. Shaw (Nr Winslow, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dying Day (Paperback)
Robert Ryan is back on form with this follow-up to 'The Last Sunrise'. I was particularly impressed with the development of James Hadley Webb's character and the description of the amorality of the time and place.

It is based on real events and you do get a real sense of what it must have been like to endure life in Berlin in 1948, though I could have done with slightly more on what was happening in the rest of the world during the period of the Berlin airlift.

I think the book works better if you have read 'The Last Sunrise' as the book does both include characters from that book and answers some of the questions that were left outstanding at the end of the last book.

Overall a very good read and a great return to form for Ryan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good read, 24 July 2009
By 
M. Sear (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dying Day (Paperback)
Purchased for a holiday read - and it is almost perfect for that. Not to heavy but not too light either. A story full of intrigue and written in perfect "sunlounger" style. Doesn't take a lot of effort to read it, but if I had wanted that I would have bought a book that was designed to test my mind. This isnt and didnt! Fabulous for holidays or just a nice little read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable, interesting read, 25 Nov 2013
By 
broomers49 (Hemel Hempstead, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying Day (Paperback)
I have read 5 books by Robert Ryan dealing with WW2 and just after and have enjoyed them all. Excellently researched historical stories about unusual happenings and people. Good starters for more delving into history. Well written, believable characters, good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying Day (Paperback)
Another masterpiece of a novel from Robert Ryan. He really knows how to pull the reader in and the detail in his writings is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK but., 10 Nov 2009
By 
Crimas (E R Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying Day (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading 'Empire of Sand' which was excellent. I was not so drawn by this book it is also a little short. Not great 'its OK'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dying Day
Dying Day by Robert Ryan (Paperback - 4 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews