Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one
Fifteen novels in, and the Fidelma series is showing no sign of becoming formulaic or repetitive. This is a fine addition to the series, in which the murder of a widely detested abbot disrupts the marriage ceremony of Fidelma and Eadulf. Fidelma is a wonderful character, the other characters are surely-drawn and the historical detail is, as ever, fascinating. My one...
Published on 13 April 2007 by C. Knowles

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tedious
I have decided to give up on Fidelma as she is so unreal. I cannot relate to her as a character becaue she is not fleshed out. Peter Tremayne tells us what she does and thinks, but not how she really feels.
Also, the books have come formulaic; very slow moving if not tedious with obvious good and bad characters you get past caring about.
Published on 17 Sep 2007 by Jdnewey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, 13 April 2007
By 
C. Knowles (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Prayer for the Damned (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
Fifteen novels in, and the Fidelma series is showing no sign of becoming formulaic or repetitive. This is a fine addition to the series, in which the murder of a widely detested abbot disrupts the marriage ceremony of Fidelma and Eadulf. Fidelma is a wonderful character, the other characters are surely-drawn and the historical detail is, as ever, fascinating. My one slight criticism: far too many "your brother, the king" type remarks where characters keep reminding each other - and by extension the reader - who everyone else is. ("How is little Alchu?" "Your nephew is well. Muirgen, our nurse, has been a godsend.") Completely unnecessary, particularly when a Cast Of Characters is provide at the beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Tremayne gets better and better with his writing, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Tremayne gets better and better with his writing. I find that I cannot put the book down. Please keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless plot and a gripping mystery, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Prayer for the Damned (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
Received in good condition well within the expected time. If you are a beginner with Sister Fidelma then try and start at the beginning of the series. It will pay and make your experience so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top of 'present list!', 7 Jun 2013
By 
K. P. Gale (Ebbsfleet U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Prayer for the Damned (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
Purchased this item as a requested gift for a relation, who was pleased to receive it! Thanks for your service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as always., 11 Mar 2013
By 
Bubbles "bubbles" (southampton, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant book by Peter tremayne, I couldn't put it down. I can never guess who the culprit is until the end, he keeps,you guessing . When I read these books I feel as if I have been transported back to that period an the characters are real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tedious, 17 Sep 2007
By 
Jdnewey "jo widely read" (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Prayer for the Damned (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
I have decided to give up on Fidelma as she is so unreal. I cannot relate to her as a character becaue she is not fleshed out. Peter Tremayne tells us what she does and thinks, but not how she really feels.
Also, the books have come formulaic; very slow moving if not tedious with obvious good and bad characters you get past caring about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Prayer for the Damned (Sister Fidelma)
A Prayer for the Damned (Sister Fidelma) by Peter Tremayne (Paperback - 5 Feb 2007)
£7.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews