Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads Like a Script for a Hilarious Slapstick Comedy
To write for television, you have to create a memorable scene and finish it within 90 seconds. That's tough for comedy because you have to end each scene with a laugh. As wonderful a novelist as Janet Evanovich is, there's an even better script writer hidden inside her novels.
In Eleven on Top, Janet Evanovich has created a memorable scene and laugh every page and a...
Published on 27 Aug 2005 by Donald Mitchell

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars back on form (but only just)
Finally the eleventh book is here, having read the whole book in just under a day and a half i was plesantly surprised with this one. It was far better than Ten Big Ones which was really disappointing!!!In this one Steph has alot more interaction with Ranger (which will thrill all the babes and annoy the cupcakes), there are a few laugh out loud moments in the book and i...
Published on 20 Jun 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads Like a Script for a Hilarious Slapstick Comedy, 27 Aug 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
To write for television, you have to create a memorable scene and finish it within 90 seconds. That's tough for comedy because you have to end each scene with a laugh. As wonderful a novelist as Janet Evanovich is, there's an even better script writer hidden inside her novels.
In Eleven on Top, Janet Evanovich has created a memorable scene and laugh every page and a half. That's very tough to do, but she's done it!
Although most will not want to put the book down (who wouldn't want to laugh almost nonstop to the end of a book?), you can read this book before going to sleep knowing that you'll reach a naturally breaking point every page and a half.
Much of the humor is visual. It's a remarkable strength of the writing in this book that you can so easily see the slapstick. Few writers can capture slapstick in writing. Eleven on Top marks a new high in Ms. Evanovich's talent in this regard.
If you don't know Ms. Evanovich's writing, it's very much on a par with the very best scripts that Lucille Ball used in her shows with Desi.
Oh, yes, there is a plot. But it's there mainly for people who cannot enjoy a book without a plot. Almost any other plot would have done as well.
Stephanie finds that bounty hunting is just too disgusting for her . . . and quits Vinnie. For the first half of the book, she lurches violently from one job-related adventure to another. In between, Lulu persuades Stephanie to "assist" in capturing a particularly recalcitrant scofflaw. In the second half of the book, she finds a job she likes . . . but it has other complications that you'll love reading about. Someone is also stalking Stephanie and threatening her life. Morelli is obsessed with Stephanie's body . . . and Stephanie finds she "likes" the attention. Under duress, Stephanie swears off sugar . . . with sexy consequences. The sexual tension in this book is really hot! In her spare time, Stephanie also plays "maid-of-honor-to-be" for her sister with more humorous consequences.
The story has a better balance between the Ranger and Morelli sections than many of the others in the series. I generally like the books that have lots of Ranger in them better than the ones that are all Morelli or crime fighting. Ranger's mystery is more appealing to me than Morelli's lust.
If you like sexy humor, I thought that Eleven on Top was a new high for Ms. Evanovich as well. The flirtatious comments are wonderful!
Smile while you laugh and laugh through your smiles with Eleven on Top!
Don't miss this book!!! It's the fun read of the summer of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plumtastic!, 11 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
Another fantastic episode in the crazy world of Plum. Yet more fantastic tension from the Ranger/Morelli quandry. And with Lula at large in the world of bounty hunting absolutely hilarious from start to finish! Roll on number 12!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars back on form (but only just), 20 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
Finally the eleventh book is here, having read the whole book in just under a day and a half i was plesantly surprised with this one. It was far better than Ten Big Ones which was really disappointing!!!In this one Steph has alot more interaction with Ranger (which will thrill all the babes and annoy the cupcakes), there are a few laugh out loud moments in the book and i actually think Lula gets all the best lines!!!However i did get the feeling that the author is going over alot of old ground, and the series needs to end soon the love triangle between Ranger, Morelli and Steph is becoming a tad repetitive!!
Nevertheless those who have been waiting since the last book will not be disappointed in this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The jelly squirts from Stephanie's donut, 14 Aug 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The previous installment in the Stephanie Plum series, TEN BIG ONES, was published in June 2004. In November, author Janet Evanovich apparently launched a new heroine with METRO GIRL, a book I investigated and decided I had no interest in reading. I thought perhaps Evanovich was done with Stephanie. But either I was wrong, or Janet came to her financial senses. In any case, Plum has returned in ELEVEN ON TOP. I admit it; I'm hooked for life on this trashy series.
Thirty seconds into ELEVEN, Stephanie quits her job as a bond enforcement agent working for her cousin Vinnie in Trenton, NJ. True to form, however, brief gigs in the local button factory, Kan Kean Dry Cleaners, and Cluck-in-a-Bucket just don't work out. And it shouldn't be a surprise to any series aficionado when Cluck-in-a-Bucket goes up in flames while Stephanie is on duty.
Everything Plum fans have come to love about Stephanie's personal and public comic misadventures are present in ELEVEN in satisfying excess: explosions, fires, accumulating corpses, tumbles into messy organic debris, and her dysfunctional relationships with Trenton cop Joe Morelli and the hottie Ranger.
Yeah, it's incredibly sophomoric, but great fun. And Plum reveals a new side to her personality when she attempts to quit sugar intake cold turkey. Indeed, the man in Stephanie's life witness to her to voluntary abstention from cookies and donuts had better have the sexual stamina of an eighteen year old. A Plum Assignment if you ask me. Is Morelli up to the task, you think?
I'm perhaps overreacting with five stars. But I'm just so ecstatic that Stephanie is back. I only wish that Evanovich would sign a Hollywood picture deal with Sandra Bullock in the lead role. Janet, work with me here, will ya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evanovich hits the target again!, 18 Mar 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
i love this book so much that i have re-read it over and over again. Janet gives the readers the best of crime, roamnce, mystery, humour and this book embarces all those qualities!
Stephanie quits the bonds office this time, which i thought was a good way of adding more hunmour into the book as she trys out other jobs and fails to keep them! theres playful flirting with Ranger which was funny and sexy at the same time. Steph is with Joe this time around, which in my opinion should stay that way!
another great book! i can't wait till twelve sharp comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Ten Big Ones, not as good as One for the Money, 2 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Hardcover)
This is a madcap adventure with a lot of slapstick - the eleventh in the Stephanie Plum Series. If you are new to the series, start with One for the Money and work your way through them.
Most of the great characters are in Eleven on Top - Morelli, Grandma Mazur, Lula, Ranger, Grandma Bella, the powder blue Buick, Bob the dog and Rex the Hamster and Stephanie's immediate family. It is like catching up on old friends.

Grandma Mazur and Grandma Bella have a ridiculous but hilarious fight at Stiva's Funeral Home; it is laugh out loud action. And you have to read about the mole - it will make you squirm and laugh at the same time. Plus Stephanie's declaration that she can play the cello - we have all done something similar and but not let it get that far. As usual, cars driven by Stephanie are blown up and she is shot and has little regard for her safety, she is saved from a tight spot at the end and lives on for book number 12.
Stephanie's inability to hold a job until Ranger comes to the rescue is funny but wears a bit thin. Lula's antics are very entertaining and she has taken on Stephanie's mantle as the most absolutely hopeless bounty hunter. Lula is in top form.
Stephanie is much closer to Morelli, and he to her, but it is still really annoying in that she can't even tell him she loves him which is pathetic given his declarations. He is so nice, and you know they are made for each other, so her behaviour seems very juvenile.
There's lots of flirtation with Ranger, and it sounds as if we may hear more about his secret/past life in future books. He kind of gives me the creeps though, however sexy he is and how much cares about Stephanie. I prefer her with Morelli as it is much more realistic and enjoyable to read than the fantasy of Ranger. I'd love to see her married/engaged or have a child with Morelli while still working for Ranger because I think there is more mileage in that than Morelli putting up with her inability to commit or declare her feelings. I really hope Ms Evanovich rounds out the relationship more in the next book. In this one it is as if they are still high school kids.
I read the book in 4 hours and I really wish it had more to it. There are some really funny moments and some fast paced action, but you have to suspend belief to enjoy it. It is much better than Ten Big Ones but not as good as One for the Money. It is worth getting out of the library or sharing with a friend rather than waiting for the paperback, but maybe not worth £14.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Stellar Performance, 28 Jun 2008
By 
Valerie Jones (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Janet Evanovich gives her readers another stellar performance in the eleventh Stephanie Plum novel. Stephanie has already received two threatening notes as has decided to give up in the bounty hunter business. She hands over all of her current FTA's to her former partner LuLu and takes a job at the button factory. She manages to get fired before she even starts ands seeks employment elsewhere, including the Kan Kleaners and Cluck-in-a-Bucket. Of course, her stalker continues to track her down and works on destroying several of her cars along the way. Torn between the crazy life of her old career and her new employment, Stephanie is in a role reversal with LuLu and becomes her sidekick. Riding shotgun with LuLu, Stephanie finds herself in the mix of an old crime where several of the players have mysteriously disappeared. After spotting Spiro, the undertaker's son, Stephanie is convinced that he is her stalker and is tied to the missing men. Unsuccessful at her new career attempts, Stephanie finds herself working for RangeMan, her studly and sexy bounty hunter friend Ranger's company. He current boyfriend, Joe Morelli is not too happy with his girl spending so much time with Ranger, but knows that at least he will protect her. Eleven on Top is a well-scripted mystery and comedy all in one. The suspense hangs in the air till the final pages and the lead up to the finale is amazing. The struggle for Stephanie between the two men in her life will leave reader rooting for their favorite man. Eleven on Top is just as amazing as her first novel; One for the Money and readers will rush through the pages to finish. Our favorite characters like LuLu and Grandma Mazer provide the comic relief necessary between the steamy storyline. Excellent work by Janet Evanovich who gives her readers nothing less than perfection. Valerie Jones mrsvaljones@netzero.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Stephanie (Thank you, Ogden Nash), 18 Aug 2007
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Stephanie's mad as hell and she's not going to take it anymore. Ten books of bounty hunting, being covered in garbage and getting shot at have taken a toll on our intrepid yet klutzy heroine, and that's not even counting all the exploding cars. So she makes a big decision, hands in her fake badge and heads back to the normal workforce. Of course, what's normal for Stephanie would send anybody else stark staring crazy, and holding down a day job proves to be extremely challenging.

Stephanie's first boss wasn't fair
Stephanie, Stephanie didn't care
The boss was sleazy, the boss was lecherous
The boss' intent was clearly treacherous
The boss said, Stephanie, good to meet you
How do Stephanie, can I eat you?
Stephanie, Stephanie didn't worry
Stephanie didn't scream or scurry
She raised her boot and was willing to use it
She got the job but then managed to lose it

After that escapade she tries working at a Dry Cleaners and then at Cluck-in-a-Bucket, but her mind is not fully on the task at hand, as she also has to find time to help Lula, the new bounty hunter on the block, survive the current family drama and try to keep her men in order. I should also mention that someone from the past is busy trying to kill her, leaving her little notes and explosive devices.

The man said, Stephanie, say goodbye
Time's up Stephanie, time to die
Stephanie, Stephanie didn't worry
Stephanie didn't scream or scurry
She showed no fear, though she almost threw up
Then she watched in shock as her car just blew up

It's another fairly normal week for Stephanie Plum, and another funny but predictable episode in the series. Still a very entertaining read even though the major characters aren't doing anything new, but in Eleven on Top it's the bad guys that bring the excitement.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reads Like a Script for a Hilarious Slapstick Comedy, 27 Aug 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Eleven On Top (Paperback)
To write for television, you have to create a memorable scene and finish it within 90 seconds. That's tough for comedy because you have to end each scene with a laugh. As wonderful a novelist as Janet Evanovich is, there's an even better script writer hidden inside her novels.
In Eleven on Top, Janet Evanovich has created a memorable scene and laugh every page and a half. That's very tough to do, but she's done it!
Although most will not want to put the book down (who wouldn't want to laugh almost nonstop to the end of a book?), you can read this book before going to sleep knowing that you'll reach a naturally breaking point every page and a half.
Much of the humor is visual. It's a remarkable strength of the writing in this book that you can so easily see the slapstick. Few writers can capture slapstick in writing. Eleven on Top marks a new high in Ms. Evanovich's talent in this regard.
If you don't know Ms. Evanovich's writing, it's very much on a par with the very best scripts that Lucille Ball used in her shows with Desi.
Oh, yes, there is a plot. But it's there mainly for people who cannot enjoy a book without a plot. Almost any other plot would have done as well.
Stephanie finds that bounty hunting is just too disgusting for her . . . and quits Vinnie. For the first half of the book, she lurches violently from one job-related adventure to another. In between, Lulu persuades Stephanie to "assist" in capturing a particularly recalcitrant scofflaw. In the second half of the book, she finds a job she likes . . . but it has other complications that you'll love reading about. Someone is also stalking Stephanie and threatening her life. Morelli is obsessed with Stephanie's body . . . and Stephanie finds she "likes" the attention. Under duress, Stephanie swears off sugar . . . with sexy consequences. The sexual tension in this book is really hot! In her spare time, Stephanie also plays "maid-of-honor-to-be" for her sister with more humorous consequences.
The story has a better balance between the Ranger and Morelli sections than many of the others in the series. I generally like the books that have lots of Ranger in them better than the ones that are all Morelli or crime fighting. Ranger's mystery is more appealing to me than Morelli's lust.
If you like sexy humor, I thought that Eleven on Top was a new high for Ms. Evanovich as well. The flirtatious comments are wonderful!
Smile while you laugh and laugh through your smiles with Eleven on Top!
Don't miss this book!!! It's the fun read of the summer of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crime Caper, 2 Nov 2014
Stephanie Plum has had enough of fugitive apprehension and has quit her job with high expectations of a more normal life.  Three different short lived jobs later she has been unable to shake the murder and mayhem that has become her life.  <spoiler> I laughed my socks off at the capers that arose when Lula stopped by to pick her dry cleaning from Stephanie at job number two.  I loved the way the story developed and the surprises along the way and all the time a ghost from Plum novels past is back to kill  her and injures a loved one.  <spoiler>  The bomb scare at job number three and the fire that ensued meant finding alternative employment much more challenging.  Rangeman to the rescue with a office job.   Exploding cars, gunfire, memorable family dinners, wedding cake to eat, before Stephanie decides to deprive herself from all things sweet and her mother stops having a little alcohol refreshment and much more.
This is definitely one of my most favourite Janet Evanovich books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eleven On Top
Eleven On Top by Janet Evanovich (Audio CD - 5 Jun 2006)
£14.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews