Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book
I read this book in one sitting, pausing only to make tea and later to open a bottle of wine. It made me laugh and cry in equal measure and captured perfectly the ambivalent nature of long term relationships. I was utterly captivated from page one and only wish there were more books as evocative. The ending - which I won't give away - is as uplifting is at is unexpected...
Published on 24 Jun 2007 by Charlotte Baudelaire

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 2 and a half stars.
A bit more chick lit than I had expected. I didn't like or empathise with the two main characters and I found the dialogue of the two small children tedious and irritating.I ended up skim reading it !I thought the whole thing was a depressing view of marriage in middle age, not the profound vision the blurb on the cover promised.
Published on 23 July 2011 by N. O'Brien


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book, 24 Jun 2007
This review is from: A Perfect Life (Paperback)
I read this book in one sitting, pausing only to make tea and later to open a bottle of wine. It made me laugh and cry in equal measure and captured perfectly the ambivalent nature of long term relationships. I was utterly captivated from page one and only wish there were more books as evocative. The ending - which I won't give away - is as uplifting is at is unexpected. Having finished it I immediately ordered all her others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very clever, well writen and perceptive novel, 19 May 2006
By 
N. D. Coleridge "Worcestershire man" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Perfect Life (Hardcover)
This is my favourite of Raffaella Barker's novels. It is exceptionally well writen. She has a gift for writing in the style of multi characters, in this case her heroine, a wife and mother named Angel, Angel's husband Nick and son Jem. She has a wonderful understanding of human nature, and here describes with great vividness the disintegration of a marriage. It is a very modern, spare book. recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 2 and a half stars., 23 July 2011
By 
N. O'Brien "N.O'Brien" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Perfect Life (Paperback)
A bit more chick lit than I had expected. I didn't like or empathise with the two main characters and I found the dialogue of the two small children tedious and irritating.I ended up skim reading it !I thought the whole thing was a depressing view of marriage in middle age, not the profound vision the blurb on the cover promised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Life (Paperback)
Enjoyed the book very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this author's books, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Life (Paperback)
I love this author's books and wanted to have them myself, the book came quickly and in excellent condition, it looked like it has hardly been read at all, I would certainly buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interestingly structured, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Life (Kindle Edition)
Sadly, I found this quite depressing. However, very convincing characters if not always very likeable - except Jem, whom I warmed to hugely. Sometimes taken over by a little too much description which was distracting even though it did underline Angel's character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Perfect Life
A Perfect Life by Raffaella Barker (Paperback - 5 April 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews