Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just As Good as All The Other Stories, 11 Mar 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For those readers who are familiar with Michael Jecks books, this one is just as good as all the rest. For those who have not read Michael Jecks, but like historical novels, particularly about medieval England, you are in for all real treat.

The two main characters in the books are Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock. Sir Baldwin is an ex Crusader knight, who has managed to escape the wrath of the French King who ordered the destruction of the Order and all of its members.

Sir Baldwin is now the head of the family manor after the death of his brother and is also Keeper of the King's Peace in Devon.

Word reaches Simon that a gang of men have broken into the house of his servant Hugh and attacked the family. When Simon reaches the cottage he find it burnt to the ground and the bodies already buried. It would seem that Hugh must have perished in a dreadful accident, but Simon and Sir Baldwin begin to suspect that there is much more to it than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge is a dish best served cold?, 10 Feb 2013
Hugh has always been in the background of the stories and it was nice to see him come to the forefront, even if it was in such tragic circumstances. Another cracking story from Michael Jecks and a plot that kept me guessing until the near end...even then I wasn't wholly sure. Anyone over 16 will enjoy these books and this historical accuracy can only add to your own personal knowledge. I can't sing Michaels praises enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Ma Dormer "moremed" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cannot recomment Michael Jecks Templar series too highly. They are readable and re-readable and are a must for anyone who loves Devon and, in particular, Dartmoor. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a second book. Very good story when you are familiar with the main characters., 2 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. Stella E. Bliss (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part of a continuiing story of two courageous men in a very uncertain time. Part of a series in which you become very familiar with the characters and feel the need to follow their adventures. Well written and intriguing to read if you enjoy historical novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Don't Want to Put It Down, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Rather than just provide you with a synopsis of the book, I will note that a few years ago I started reading late in the series. I was eventually compelled to search in book stores and online for the earlier books in the series so that I could read them in sequence of publication. To date, and I have the latest in the series which is #27, I have not regretted that effort. I find the Jecks Knights Templar Mysteries a joy to read both from the perspective of the history and the excellent weaving of a mystery tale that includes the personal trials of the main characters and their families. I should mention that I have had others read some of his work without knowing the author and compare it to others also without the author known. Consistently, they pick out Jecks as the preferred author for quality of writing within an historical framework. What amazes me is how Jecks continues a high quality of writing in this genre and, to me, seems to get better over time. There are those authors who may write one good tale, the next not as good as the previous, etc., but for me, Jecks continues to astonish me we consistently good reads. You may feel that you know how a particular title is going to end, but you probably won't see the twist he may include. If you like those authors who "feed you the ending" so that you can pat yourself on the back for being so clever, you may prefer the "penny mystery" style. If you are not particular about historical accuracy, you may prefer those who "dress up" a character in a costume that might or might not be right for the period. So, if you like "penny mystery" and "dress up" look for those authors. But, if you want to enjoy a read and want more, read Jecks. BTW, that goes for the U.K.(spent time there and still have associations)or the U.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just As Good as All The Other Stories, 11 Mar 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Friar's Bloodfeud (Audio CD)
For those readers who are familiar with Michael Jecks books, this one is just as good as all the rest. For those who have not read Michael Jecks, but like historical novels, particularly about medieval England, you are in for all real treat.

The two main characters in the books are Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock. Sir Baldwin is an ex Crusader knight, who has managed to escape the wrath of the French King who ordered the destruction of the Order and all of its members.

Sir Baldwin is now the head of the family manor after the death of his brother and is also Keeper of the King's Peace in Devon.

Word reaches Simon that a gang of men have broken into the house of his servant Hugh and attacked the family. When Simon reaches the cottage he find it burnt to the ground and the bodies already buried. It would seem that Hugh must have perished in a dreadful accident, but Simon and Sir Baldwin begin to suspect that there is much more to it than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A friars bloodfeud, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just bought this for my kindle. I have already read it but would like to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Friar's Bloodfeud (Knights Templar Mysteries (Headline))
A Friar's Bloodfeud (Knights Templar Mysteries (Headline)) by Michael Jecks (Hardcover - 5 Dec 2005)
14.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews