Customer Reviews


333 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An epic supernatural road trip which, when all is said and done, falls a little short of its potential.
This is a story about ancient gods and their struggle to survive in a world where their fickle worshippers have abandoned them in favour of advertisements, technology and consumerism. Shadow is an ex-con who gets catapulted into a crazy world where he finds himself helping the old gods reclaim their relevance. Throughout the book, we follow Shadow on his journey through...
Published 5 months ago by D.T. Magus

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Swollen beyond measure
Mr Gaiman tells us that this version (the "author's preferred text") is much enlarged from the original release. If this is so, then he would do well to listen to his editor next time, because there's some serious pruning needed here. As the book is aimed squarely at the US market (which seems to prefer a high weight to content ratio) it's hardly surprising that the...
Published on 9 Jun 2009 by Crookedmouth


‹ Previous | 122 23 2434 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more like this please Mr Gaiman, 9 May 2006
This review is from: American Gods (Paperback)
I'm not a fan of Mr Gaiman's comics (graphic novels) but this book is to intelligent fantasy literature as John Holmes is to porn.Truly a giant in his field.Buy it and thank me later.If you do like it you may also like "a night in the lonesome october" by Zelazny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I speak with all the prejudice of a rabid Gaiman fangirl, 21 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: American Gods (Paperback)
First: Neil Gaiman on his worst day is still a good ten times better than almost every other writer I've encountered. (Please see my title; I am not exactly objective. :-) This book was riveting and a delight to read. Gaiman is the type of wordsmith you're willing to follow even before you've quite figured out where he's going.
That said, there was a niggling dissatisfaction for me in this book. One of the things I've always admired most about his novels, both graphic and print, is the way that every detail, no matter how seemingly arbitrary, always winds up being not only relevant to the ultimate conclusion but absolutely integral. To watch the way everything just falls exactly into place is to witness a genius in action, and makes his work intensely enjoyable. I missed that here, that attention -- there *are* details that are dropped, elements that are rushed, characters who are just the slightest bit unessential. It's a good book, a beautifully written and imaginatively plotted read, but I'm *spoiled* by Gaiman's gifts -- I'm not seeing that greatness.
Despite the title and despite what the plot is obviously trying to do, this is still a very English novel -- which is not a bad thing at all, unless you're overtly trying to write one about the *American* character/spirit. It's a quality to the novel that's hard to put your finger on. Maybe the way subtle Briticisms creep in, like supposed Midwesterners going "I'll stop a minute," instead of "I'll stay a minute" or "I'll stick around." A slight reserved quality to the main character, Shadow -- which might keep some readers from fully engaging with him. Or, how certain characters speak in a way that doesn't quite match the background they're assigned.
There's something that never quite gels -- America is a place where people who left a world behind came (and come) together and (over generations) turned (and turn) into an entirely new thing (and not always a pretty thing, but this is not the place to debate whether that new thing is good or bad). AMERICAN GODS seems to capture the spirit of journey without ever arriving at or analyzing the end result. While the "Coming to America" segments were all beautifully and powerfully written, the effect is still one of stranger-in-a-strange-land, an aspect of Americanness, true, but only one aspect. Gaiman sets out to illuminate "the soul of America" -- but only non-Americans would think that he's succeeded here, or would find familiarity. It never really becomes "home." Perhaps the subject was simply too large for a single novel. (Although I'll say Julian Barnes did a phenomenal job fitting a similar theme into one book -- though a different genre and purpose -- in the allegory "ENGLAND, ENGLAND.")
It's an esoteric point. It would be fun to explore further but I'm running out of space. And I feel a little guilty even picking these nits! He's GAIMAN after all -- he can do no wrong... it's only that when he's a little bit less right than usual, you really notice. I was ultimately somewhat disappointed. Four stars for loyalty...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars But also funny and entertaining, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Gods (Kindle Edition)
A savage review of life in America/ the western world. But also funny and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is amazing, 4 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: American Gods (Hardcover)
Having never read a Neil Gaiman piece of prose before I bought American Gods on recommendation from none other than Jonathan Ross, he happened to mention how good it was during his radio show so I thought why not.
For anyone who likes mystery, supernatural forces and a look into Gods gone by this is a must. From the moment I opened the book I could not put it down, the style of writing captures the mood and the development and introduction of characters grips you from page to page. The only let down was the weak ending which could have been so much better. Still this book is definately worth some of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as some of his other books, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Gods (Paperback)
Enjoyable although confusing at times. Not as good as some of his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable in parts., 1 Nov 2006
This review is from: American Gods (Paperback)
Enjoyable in parts., August 12, 2006

I am a fan of Gaiman and I have a number of his books in my collection and I will also buy his forthcoming collection " Fragile Things" released in September 2006. I hope the next book I read by him (Anansi boys, a sequel of sorts) is more enjoyable. American Gods is not a bad novel at all, it's good, but, not the masterpiece it purports to be. It doesn't somehow fulfil it's ambition I think Neil Gaiman will trump this novel at some point with the considerable talent he has. Bottom line for me is this, I have mixed feelings for it but it is a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "excellent", 25 May 2006
By 
This review is from: American Gods (Hardcover)
Probably one of the finest books I have ever read.

This book is an absolute must for anyone with an interest in religion, mythology, america, history or pretty much any other subject.

A real gritty story about an ex-con whose wife has just died. Shadow finds himself in the employ of the enigmatic Mr. Wednesday and his life starts to unfold in all manner of strange and outlandish ways.

By far Gaimans best work, and I include the awesome Sandman series in the comment, this book is unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get on with the story!, 23 Jun 2008
By 
Adrian Bates (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Gods (Paperback)
This is an interesting story lost in a book that is simply full of too much padding. I am a huge fan of Neil Gaiman from his Sandman days but this attempt at novel writing is simply too self-indulgent and I couldn't recommend it to anyone.

A good editor required!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Gaiman, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: American Gods (Paperback)
I'm sorry to say that American Gods was not all it was made out to be! At first it appeared to be a good story but somewhere around half way it loses the plot and spirals into a bizarre turn of events that are hard to keep track of. There is also a LOT of random tid-bits added in that don't make much sense in the grand scheme of the plot but nonetheless were sometimes more interesting than the storyline. I finished the book although there were times when it was only out of a sense of duty and hope that it would pick itself back up again!
I've loved every other Neil Gaiman I've read but not this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Gods (Kindle Edition)
Very good book - thought-provoking and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2434 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Gods
American Gods by Neil Gaiman (Paperback - 19 Sep 2005)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews