Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


138 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind the Gap
Everybody traveling in London by Tube, is familiar with the loudspeaker's warning "Mind the Gap", that is the space between platform and train carriage. Reading Gaiman, "Gaps" takes on a much more complex meaning... People can fall through the cracks, literally, not only down onto the rails but much deeper, ending up in "London Below". Richard Mayhew, a young man with...
Published on 14 Dec. 2004 by Friederike Knabe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The novel came before, but I preferred the comic
Being familiar with Neverwhere's graphic novel incarnation (not the story's original form!) I was looking forward to reading the novel, despite not being much of a Fantasy fan.

Sadly, it didn't quite hit the mark for me. The graphic novel and this novel are very similar in structure - the comic's a very faithful adaptation - but the novel just fell a bit flat...
Published 12 months ago by Chris Worth


‹ Previous | 124 25 2644 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 6 Aug. 2007
By 
E. Angeles (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neverwhere (Paperback)
Richard Mayhew goes down to London from Scotland to start a career in investment. So far, he's had a nice normal life, a nice flat, a promising job and a pretty girlfriend. All these were taken away from him when he decided to help a wounded girl he saw on the street, despite all the odds. He became a part of a different London that exists in parallel to the London he had known for three years. This version of the city is a twisted, dirty and dangerous world, with very strange, eclectic and magical characters and traditions. Together, he journeys through the perils of this city with a Lady whose name is Door, a clever, but queer Marquis and an incredibly beautiful but fierce woman. Talking rats, an angel, psychic vampires, an earl whose court is in a tube train, etc you name it, this city has it. Now, all he wants was to find a way how to get back to the London that he knew, or is it?

Neverwhere is a very interesting read, it gives the feeling as if I am watching a movie. I was never able to put it down until the end. Although the plot is rather predictable halfway through, the development of it was nevertheless captivating, just like a good movie.

It's highly recommended especially if you live or lived in London, you'll be very familiar with a lot of the places, tube stations and even the homeless people you see on the street. After reading this book, I will never be able to see London in the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwhere (Kindle Edition)
Getting on the underground tube for work has never been so exciting! Couldn't put this book down. Wonderfully written. The book is filled with incredible characters, scenery and adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent idea, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
Graham Godfrey (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwhere (Kindle Edition)
Yes, interesting ideas but perhaps flogged on for too long.
Well written but could use a bit more character expansion, the most memorable characters are not the main ones in the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 2 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwhere (Kindle Edition)
Neverworld drags you kicking and screaming into its world and holds you there for the entire book, written with humour and horror an excellent book. Very clever story and use of language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous novel, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwhere (Kindle Edition)
I remember the BBC TV programme and never realised it was a Neil Gaiman novel. This is a wonderful adventure into a world of rich characters and intrigue. Hugely enjoyable - a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwhere (Kindle Edition)
If you like your fantasy, then this is a great read. Cleverly written and I loved the use of the areas of London portrayed as characters. Fun and exciting with a good moral to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired ironing, 11 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Neverwhere (Audio CD)
The whole play was riveting and funny and scary at the same time!The Angel was brilliant and terrifying!The whole play was totally believable in that you feel that London below was real!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Second humanists, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwhere (Kindle Edition)
This is my second book by this author and I have to say I am hooked. I really can't get enough. The dual realities in the two books j have read really appeal to me escapism at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly dsiappointed, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwhere (Paperback)
I love sci-fi and fantasy and really looked forward to reading this story after hearing a couple of episodes of the Radio 4 serialisation. For some reason, it just failed to grab me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great BBC Radio adaptation that's well worth the listen, 21 Sept. 2014
By 
Richard C (Taunton, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwhere (Audio CD)
A great BBC Radio adaptation that's well worth the listen. It's not often that there is an ensemble of noteworthy actors to bring a book to life so sit back and enjoy Neverwhere .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 2644 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neverwhere
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman (Paperback - 19 Sept. 2005)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews