Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars73
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 October 2006
Stop! Unless you've read the first book in the MAXIMUM RIDE series, THE ANGEL EXPERIMENT, you should not read this review. Although MAXIMUM RIDE: SCHOOL'S OUT--FOREVER, could be read alone, you'll do much better if you read THE ANGEL EXPERIMENT first. Trust me. Read the first book, and then this one, and you'll end up thanking me. Now, if you promise you've already read the first book in the series, hold on to your hats, because the action heats up significantly in this second installment.

Twenty-four hours after Max killed Ari, the bird kids are once again on the run. The whole gang is together again and in one relatively unharmed piece--Max, Fang, Iggy, Gasman, Nudge, Angel, and stray dog, Total. Max is trying hard to forget that when it came to escaping the Erasers (half-human, half-werewolf, read the first book!), she had no choice but to kill Ari in their fight for freedom.

Except, surprise, Ari isn't dead! Jeb and the other doctors at the "school" are still trying to recapture them, and Fang has been deathly wounded. Max knows there is no choice but to get Fang to a real hospital, and she's not even really surprised when the FBI turns up to question them. What does surprise her is the appearance of Anne Walker, a head-honcho who wants Max and the gang to come to her home, where she can protect them, feed and clothe them, and study them. Fang still needs rest, and a roof over their heads and food in their belly at regular intervals sounds like a good idea. Although she's wary of Anne's true motives, Max and her flock move, temporarily, into Anne's home. They're even enrolled in school--a real school, not a cover for psychotic men in white coats to perform horrible experiments on them--and although that doesn't turn out so great, the time they spend at Anne's is helping everyone to forget some of the pain they've suffered.

But the Erasers show up, as they always do, and Anne turns out not to be as wonderful as she first appeared, as also seems to happen on a regular basis. Not-dead Ari is determined to destroy the flock, especially Max, once and for all, and the Voice in Max's head is getting increasingly annoying as to her duty to save the world.

This second book in the series is as full of adventure, heart-stopping adrenaline, and edge-of-your-seat action as the first book was. I loved the newfound powers that many in the flock gained in this installment, as well as Total's ability to talk. I can't wait to see what happens next, especially in regards to Itex and how it figures in with the seemingly imminent destruction of Earth. Kudos to Mr. Patterson for another winner in the MAXIMUM RIDE series. The only thing I hate is that it will probably be another year or so before we find out what happens next!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2006
This book is one of the greatest books you will ever read.

It continues on from the first book, with the story starting exactly 24 hours after the place where the last one ended; With Max and her 'family' (Fang, Angel, Iggy, Gazzy and Nudge) on their way to DC to find out about their parents.

This book is fantastic and will have you hooked from page 1. I couldn't put it down. The humour throughout the story is as clever as it was in the first book, and the plot is as catchy and imaginitive as it was in The Angel Experiment (The first Maximum Ride book).

I would definately recommend this book to anyone, and even though it is aimed at younger/teenaged readers, it is definately suitable for older readers. It is a very good book, though if you haven't read the first book you may not understand it so well, and I would definately recommend The Anglel Experiment to anyone who hasn't read it already.
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2006
Maximum Ride: School's Out Forever is the sequel to the best book of last year (in my opinion) Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment (this was much better than Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince). the character Max is based on one of James Patterson's earlier works - When the Wind Blows and the Lake House, but the Max and characters in The Angel Experiment and School's out forever is not the same as these books.

The book continues from where the previous left over (about 24 hours later), Max, Fang, Iggy, Gasman, Nudge and Angel are heading to Washington based on the information gained from the institude in New York. But Erasers are never far behind, and after a near fatel attack to one of the flock (i won't say who), the bird-human hybrids and caugh up in events which lead to a temporary family and for the first time in their life school!

This sums up the beginning but for the middle and conclusion read this fantasic book, (i was so desperate for this book i ordered the american version). there are sad parts, funny parts, exciting twists and more revelations about the Kids and the school, and raging hormones leading to some tender and interesting tales.

This is the equal in excellence to the Angel Experiment and fans will not be dissapointed, it's best to have read book 1 first as references and scearnios playout based on events from this volume
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Max and the flock are back. While she continues to keep the flock safe, she also has to figure out how she is supposed to save the world. The evil plan is days away from unfolding. Half of the people in the world are going to be killed in order to give the worthy ones that remain a chance to thrive. The human race has done such a poor job of taking care of the planet that the Itex Corporation decided only the people with something to offer deserve the right to live in it.

Another problem the flock is dealing with is the creation of an updated version of Erasers. Now made of metal and covered with a layer of skin, learning how to take them out takes a little time - especially since these "Flyboys" come equipped with guns!

Relationships are strained within the flock in this latest installment of the MAXIMUM RIDE saga. Fang continues to update his blog and attempt to enlist children from around the world to become involved with the fight against Itex and all its subsidiaries. Max doesn't have faith that kids can help, which, of course, causes friction between them and ultimately leads to a split in the group.

The reader is tugged along on a roller coaster ride adventure with Max's constant sarcastic commentary to guide them. We see familiar faces as well as meet brand new players in this deadly game. Max manages to thwart disaster, reconcile the flock, and discover the identity of her parents. James Patterson does a nice job of tying up loose ends and leaves the story with a satisfying ending. If there isn't a fourth installment, fans will be happy with the way Max and the rest of the flock land on their feet.

Reviewed by: Karin Perry
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2007
This book is a fantastic read. My only black mark is that it isn't quite as good as Maximum Ride:The Angel experiment.

Maximum Ride (14, Max for short) is the heroine, which i think is quite good, as it shows that not just boys can be a lead character. Together with Fang(14, who has an eversion to talking), Iggy (14 who is blind because 'scientists' tried to enhance his night vision, also he plays around with exposives), Nudge(11, more than makes up for Fangs lack of talking), Gasman(8, Gazzy for short. He has 'something funky with his digestive system') and Angel(6, who can read minds, and push people into doing things they don't really want to do), Max is out to save the world from something(they don't know what yet). But i can't possibly leave out all the car chases, kidnappings, romance (Max and Fang) and The evil school where the sickest scientists 'made' them.

This is a absolutely fatastic read, but it doesn't really make sence if you haven't read Maximum Ride:The Angel Experiment.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2007
if you havent read the first book (maximum ride: the angel experiment) then stop reading this and go read the first one. the book starts roughly wehere it left off, with max, fang, iggy, nudge, gazzy, angel, and total(!), fleeing form The Institute, New York city. the are on there way to washington d.c. to find there parents and find out where they come from and why they have wings (yes wings). From the first page the plot of the book doesn't slow down, from finding out that someone has risen fom the grave, to one of the flock members being injured and even being found out by the F.B.I. the story will keep you hooked and wont let you go til the very last page and will still have you thinking about it for the next week. yes this book is a work of literary genius and deserves all the praise it is given.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2007
This is one of the best series that I have ever read. Now, I have read a ton of books, so this in't a light remark. This is the third book in the series and is as good, if not better, than the previous two. Buy it now!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2008
This book I found even better than the first the humour in this book made it a lighter read and absolutely brilliant (my partner kept wondering why I was laughing) and when I lent this one to my teenage sister (who now cant wait for me to buy the third book) our parents kept wondering the same thing about her. (she kept laughing too) This book is an excellent second in the series and we (my sister and I) hope the next book is as good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2008
max and the flock are back and this time they're bigger and better than ever before!
this is one of the best books i have ever read. if you are a harry potter fan and love adventure/fantasy story's this is the perfect book for you.

i have already read the first two books; the angel experiment and schools out forever and both of them were amazing page turners! i couldn't put the books down!
reading this last book has made me seriously feel as if i am max, flying around kicking eraser butt all the time along with saving the world from evil scientists! i also really like the whole emotional side to it that James Patterson has put in.
i definetley reccomend this book to other people and have already told all my friends about it! but to really understand what the story's all about you have to read the first two books.

from Issy5star xxx
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2007
Admittedly I don't think this had quite the same excitement as the Angel Experiment, but this certainly had more of an air of mystery to it. It was definitely exciting and it's now set up very well for Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports. Thoroughly enjoyable and if you liked Angel Experiment, you'll definitely enjoy this too!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.