Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pitt takes a bigger risk than usual.
Pitt makes an alliance of sorts with the obnoxious Voisey - an alliance which makes the reader uneasy from start to finish. Voisey is not to be trusted. The awesome Vespasia plays a prominent part - those she doesn't know in high circles aren't worth knowing. She's adorable but it takes a leap of imagination to picture her around the kitchen table with Gracie and...
Published on 30 Mar. 2007 by Jane Baker

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Not egaging
Published 14 days ago by Richildis1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pitt takes a bigger risk than usual., 30 Mar. 2007
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Spoon Lane (Paperback)
Pitt makes an alliance of sorts with the obnoxious Voisey - an alliance which makes the reader uneasy from start to finish. Voisey is not to be trusted. The awesome Vespasia plays a prominent part - those she doesn't know in high circles aren't worth knowing. She's adorable but it takes a leap of imagination to picture her around the kitchen table with Gracie and Charlotte in their little terrace in Keppel Street.

Perry gives us another intricate plot which moves with her usual speed; lots of little fashion details, references to streets in the East End and lots of insight into working class life at the end of 19c.

Perry's research is phenomenal and her interpretation and methodology most efficient. I am a graduate of History and have taught this period to A Level for very many years so this is not false praise. She is quite exceptional in her ability to craft a complex plot with wholesome characters in a fascinating period/location.

I can barely wait for Pitt's next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars service great, will, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Spoon Lane (Paperback)
very please with the quality, service great, will recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anothe good mystery by Anne Perry, 17 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Long Spoon Lane (Paperback)
I intend to read all the books by Anne Perry in the Thomas & Charlotte Pitt series. This is just one of them. I like her other books too. It arrived quickly and was in good condition considering the price; which was very reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LONG SPOON LANE, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
totally captivating I could not put it down, the author is a genius. I would advise anyone to start reading his work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Spoon Lane (Paperback)
Not egaging
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Spoon Lane, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Spoon Lane (Paperback)
Anything by Anne Perry meets with my approval, and this book is no exception. I can imagine myself in the era in which the book is set, a thoroughly enjoyable experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Spoon Lane
Long Spoon Lane by Anne Perry (Paperback - 5 Sept. 2005)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews