Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zippytastic!
I loved this book - bought it for a daft pressie for a friend, and ended up keeping it for myself. Took me right back to staying home off school and watching Rainbow while my Mum brought me Lucozade. I heart Zippy, and always wondered why we never got to see his legs. He's real, right? Poor old Bungle, it's almost too tragic. Hope Zippy will be doing lots of promotion,...
Published on 30 Sep 2009 by Beano

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars strictly for fans
Oh Geoffrey ... if you don't fondly remember Rainbow, best not to bother with this. And it is a spoof, so don't expect it to be a fluffy trip down memory lane either.
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by nogginthenog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zippytastic!, 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
I loved this book - bought it for a daft pressie for a friend, and ended up keeping it for myself. Took me right back to staying home off school and watching Rainbow while my Mum brought me Lucozade. I heart Zippy, and always wondered why we never got to see his legs. He's real, right? Poor old Bungle, it's almost too tragic. Hope Zippy will be doing lots of promotion, would love to see him do the talk shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paint the whole world...., 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
Loved the show as a kid, and loved the book. It's one of those funny books that is actually genuinely funny and a proper read, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anarchic Nostalgia, 24 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
If you are unfamiliar with British kids' TV (and some adult output) from the 70s until the present day, stop reading now, this isn't for you.

For everybody who does remember that era and has managed to retain even the slightest sense of humour, Tim Randall skilfully goes beyond that "teenage pub chat" stage in which programmes of your youth are dissected with worldly and cynical air.

Displaying a finely honed satirical imagination, Randall has re-created the innocent world of the Rainbow years with a superbly adult twist. By resisting the temptation to become either too ridiculous or self-referencing, the result is a credible and hilarious spoof.

An absolute must buy gift for the now 30 or 40 something TV fan who is jaded with life, but can still laugh loud and long about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia and spoofery, my two favourites, 15 Feb 2010
By 
R. Paterson (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
I clearly remember Rainbow and all its lovable characters from my childhood days. This is why it was especially funny reading this tongue-in-cheek "biography" about the rivalries, addictions and bad behaviour that supposedly went on behind the scenes as Rainbow was being made.
The author treats the characters as if they were real rather than puppets and some of the events described you just KNOW could not have happened. But the incredible thing is, even as you laugh and think "how silly", you actually start to believe it! You really can believe that behind the scenes Zippy was an arrogant, controlling character who put down the more fragile, emotionally wrought Bungle, as described within. George, meanwhile, was always a peacemaker, with a slightly ambiguous sexuality. Can't you just see it?
It's a quick, simple read which is guaranteed to raise a chuckle and even ends with a touching reconciliation. If you are a fellow one-time fan, read this and your world will be painted with a rainbow once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Joanne Hayward (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my sister, but when I flicked through I found myself reading it and couldn't put it down. It's a funny and cleverly written book in which the characters become alive and almost real. This book would probably be enjoyed best by those who watched Rainbow or enjoy reading 'behind the scenes' stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's Geoffrey?, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
Rainbow was my generation and as such when I learned of the novel to let the readers know what the team had been up to since cancellation I really couldn't wait to get my mits on this. As you'd expect they hadn't been sitting idly by hoping for a phone call, they'd been not only proactive but continued in their glitzy careers. It's a quirky book which to be honest you'd expect with the antics of Bungle, Zippy and George and whilst it does keep the reader happy with the highlights of their careers, it also delves into the lows such as Bungles Crème Egg Binge at Glastonbury. Sad to see that the bear fell so far.

Obviously its fun, its quirky and above all if you know someone of a certain age it will help them return to their childhood. A great stocking filler Geoffrey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zippy and Co, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
This is a really nice book both for fans of show and those too young to have watched it.
Nice to know what the characters have been up to!

Good delivery and nicely packaged.

Bought as a present and they loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loving It!, 29 Nov 2010
By 
D. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
This book is hilarious. The way they have made it into a "Tell All" using the characters is a stroke of genius. An entertaining read without being crude (plenty of inuendo). Whether you grew up watching the program Rainbow or not this is a good light hearted read.

I can't really go into this too much because obviously it would spoil the book for others - just read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars strictly for fans, 6 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
Oh Geoffrey ... if you don't fondly remember Rainbow, best not to bother with this. And it is a spoof, so don't expect it to be a fluffy trip down memory lane either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rainbow Unzipped (Hardcover)
Very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rainbow Unzipped
Rainbow Unzipped by Tim Randall (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews