Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Know me Like me Follow me, but with another 'how to' book in hand
It is very difficult to write a detailed 'how to' book that has any value for a sustained period of time. In this book, Penny has tried to 'describe' the new world of social media focused promotion/relationships. I understand why there are mixed reviews. It isn't the easiest book to grasp if you don't already have some idea of what this new 'world' looks like. I however...
Published on 3 Sept. 2011 by Elton

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There are better books on social networking out there
I read this book and was left feeling disappointed. I expected a book on leading edge thinking around social media and social networking, but practical at the same time, from one of the pioneers in social networking.

I finished the book knowing a huge amount about Penny & Thomas Power, and their struggle to build ecademy to what it is today - and my respect for...
Published on 20 Jun. 2010 by Hj Townsend


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May We Have a Critical Review Please, 11 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. K. Das (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
Mr Power is Mrs Power's husband. While I agree, Ecademy has positioned itself and done before its time, what others are now doing, I would prefer to read after the book is launched, a critique of Mrs Power's work and premise, several views rooted in academic rigour, than pure marketing!

Best wishes
Kalyan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
Can't wait to read it since I heard this brilliant woman speak this year! Great delivery as promised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good social media guide, 20 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
Essential for individuals to have a personal brand, whether they have a business or just want to have a corporate career.

This book outlines the reasons for having a personal brand. It goes through in general terms the steps of building a personal brand so that the book can be used by anyone who wants to build one. The most important point I got out of this book is to explore yourself to find out your true passion and you can find your niche.

The important message outlined in this book is to be open to new people, make friends with them and to support them and your contacts whenever possible.

One must not use social media without going through this book unless one likes to make mistakes that many people make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reading v Writing, 27 Oct. 2009
By 
A. T. Fairgrieve "Andif" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
Ms Power is famous, by her own admission, for only reading one book. Now she's written two! Shows you what a slacker Dickens was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Relevant To All Business Types, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
T. Baxter (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
While I agree with the general premise of this book - new social media can be used to help your business and you need to get on board that train - I think this book only explains this in the context of certain types of business.

If you run a business that sells knowledge-based services to other businesses, buy this book. If you sell widgets to other businesses, probably buy this book. If (like me) you sell widgets to the general public, look elsewhere as this book will not help that process.

I'd like a book that explains the process of building confidence through social media with the general public. Surely that needs to be about sites like Facebook, rather than niche business sites such as Ecademy and Linkedin.

I'd love to know the professions of those giving this a five star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't know me, don't like me, definitely don't follow me, 2 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
I'm afraid to say I stopped reading this book at page 18. These are my reasons:
- The sources of information on known psychologists are referenced from Wikipedia
- Meanings of words such as 'mantra' also came from Wikipedia
- In the first 18 pages, Power self promoted in a emotive manner
- There are no hard facts to back up the 'change'
- I do not agree with the point about people becoming less materialistic whilst using social networks, whilst she promotes social networks for 'your business'

I felt 'the change' and it was for me to stop reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Ms. Jane Knight "Free Spirit" (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Penny has been in the world of the Internet since 1998. It was fascinating to read her story and reflections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Social Media Map-Book. Don't go online without it!, 15 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
This is THE 'must read' for any 35+ business person who is honest enough to admit to be struggling with the social media phenomenon. Penny Power demystifies the changing, online business and social landscape, alerts us to its pitfalls and clearly illuminates its pathways so we may build our own, unique navigation strategies. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it. Save yourself a huge amount of time., 11 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
Online social networking can end up consuming a lot of your time. Yes, there is real "buzz" about it at the moment but if you do not have a proper online networking strategy you will simply end up wasting your time online which could have been spent better with "real people". If you use online networking well you will get a huge impact for your business.

Even if you think you are not a "webpreneur" you need to have your own personal online brand strategy sorted to help you find your next job - its a competitive market and if you are snoozing through than you will lose out.

When Penny Power entered the social networking game, Mark Zuckerberg was just about to break his voice and enter the world of puberty. She is THE godmother of online social networking - I'm sure you can learn from over a decade's worth of experience in this business. Yes - a business which has been her day job- not just a hobby.

You could spend hours and hours online going down paths that you think will lead you somewhere only to find dead ends. Why not spend a tenner skim through the book and even if it only saves you 2 hours online you have got your return on investment (assuming you earn more than GBP 5 per hour).

Buy it. Save yourself time: Your real world friends will appreciate seeing more of you as you won't be glued to your computer "learning from your own mistakes" because you were smart enough to invest in learning from Penny's experience.

My only regret is that she didn't publish this book 6 months earlier and I would have not wasted so much time online. But as Confusious said: "the best time to plant a tree was 5 years ago, the second best time is today.".

Your "friend" (trust me you will consider me a good friend if this review convinced you to hit the "add to cart" button),

Amir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will save you time,energy and money!, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
James Knight (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business (Paperback)
Dr. Gary Wiren, former educational director of the PGA; he taught professionals how to teach people to play golf,once said," if a person steps up to the tee, and slices 10 balls in the row, she/he has learned very well how to slice. It is more difficult to "unlearn a person", then teach her/him the "right things" in the first place."

The key to success in anything is to practice the "right things"under a coach until you become skillful in that area.
For those of us, wishing to succeed online, there is no better place to look to find the "right things" then "Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me"
and there could be no better coach, than Penny Power!
An expert, that is currently doing it, has a successful track record, knows the principles, fundamentals, and concepts involved; and most importantly,is interested in helping the reader to be more successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Know Me, Like Me, Follow Me: What Online Social Networking Means for You and Your Business
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews