Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!
I bought this book and read it over 2 days. It was an exellent account of the authors tragic life. Cynthia is born into a family who are totally dysfunctional, she is abused by her father from an early age, with her mothers approval... the mother also allows "friends" to abuse Cynthia, It is she who instigates the abuse by sending the child to her fathers bed. As well...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Ms. M. Kinahan

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing
This book is very disturbing. I give it three stars because I don't know if anybody would benefit from reading it. When I put it down I though of the problems in my life as small ones. Maybe that is something positive. It is a depressing story and the ending is not uplifting. It is impressive that Cynthia Owen could manage to get it written considering all she has...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Ms Cribbler


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. M. Kinahan "mkin2" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living with Evil (Hardcover)
I bought this book and read it over 2 days. It was an exellent account of the authors tragic life. Cynthia is born into a family who are totally dysfunctional, she is abused by her father from an early age, with her mothers approval... the mother also allows "friends" to abuse Cynthia, It is she who instigates the abuse by sending the child to her fathers bed. As well as being ignored, battered, starved, and treated as a non person in her home, the school set up is no better, the nuns taunt her about her clothes, her lice ridden hair and take every opportunity to belittle and beat the child. Then.. she finds herself preganant at 11 and is convinced that her tummy contains a "freak" by her mother, the baby is born and murdered on the same night. Truly horrific story of one woman's fight to get acknowledgment and a name for her murdered child. It also transpires that the authors younger siblings were violently sexually and physically abused from a young age, we learn what the repercussions are for them in their teenage and adult lives and how Cynthias parents deny all. A truly eyeopening, heartbreaking account of such a vile crime. Fantastically written, terribly upsetting to read in parts but inspiring when you finish the book and realise that Cynthia has risen above all of the trauma and tragedy. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living with evil, 16 Feb 2010
By 
C. McKenna "cmck" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living with Evil (Hardcover)
gruesome story, was very angry at how this young girl and her siblings were treated by everyone especially her parents, couldn't put the book down until i finished reading it. well done to the author, cynthia owen, for being able to tell her story and see it through to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living With Evil, 30 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living with Evil (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book about the tragic life of a young girl in Ireland. The author, Cynthia Owen is the child the book is about and it is an account of the tragic abuse she suffered at the hands of her Mum and Dad in the 1970's onwards. It is co-written by an excellent writer Rachel Murphy which must have been hard, to hear the trauma recounted to her by Cynthia. It is hard to believe that this happened in the 1970's and people around the child chose to ignore it. Not only that, they added to her suffering by physically and mentally abusing her themselves. If I was one of them, and they know who they are, i could not live with myself. To know that they could have intervened and stopped Cynthia's suffering is tragic. It is clear that Cynthia has been scarred for life by the trauma of the events in her childhood but has been brave enough to re-count these memories to enlighten others.She has shown that she has survived and as an adult now, is finally happy, and other abused people could be too.
It is a lesson to us all to realise that if we have a 'normal' happy family, we are very fortunate, as not everyone does.And if you know or suspect a child is being abused, you should speak up and do something about it, as you could save their life.
An excellent book and a 'must read' for every-one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 2 Feb 2010
By 
S. Thomas (teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living with Evil (Hardcover)
this is the best 'tragic life' story i have ever read and also the worst for obvious reasons,this little girl went through more horrors and despicable acts against her than anyone ever could,BUT she lived to tell the tale,dont want to give anything away about the book as its in a different class to all the other books out there at the moment,well done cynthia owen for your brave and inspirational account of your life. xxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIVING WITH EVIL, 13 Feb 2010
This review is from: Living with Evil (Hardcover)
THIS WAS A REALLY BRILLIANT BOOK. IT WAS A REAL DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE TERRIBLE THINGS THAT HAPPENED TO A CHILD IN THE FAMILY HOME WHERE SHE SHOULD HAVE FELT SAFE AND PROTECTED. DEFINITELY A GREAT BOOK WHICH JUST HAD TO BE READ TO THE END. NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNGER READERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most shocking story I have read, 9 July 2010
This review is from: Living With Evil (Paperback)
I read this book in the space of 9 hours. I am the same age as Cynthia and cannot imagaine the horific abuse she endured.I cannot believe how her mother and father clearly had the nerve to deny all what they did. I a was so sorry to read that her sister and 2 brothers sadly ended their lives. I admire Cynthia for fightng her way to name her baby that her mother had cruely taken from her at the age of 11 (I cannot imagine an 11 year old giving birth!) all the best to Cynthia and hope she has many happy years ahead of her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living With Evil, 30 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. C. Webb "Holly" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living With Evil (Paperback)
As an avid reader of true life hardship type books, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Cynthia has gone through the most appalling childhood ever and my heart truely goes out to her.
As with all the books I read of the truamatic experiences of these innocent little children I can
only salute them for emerging into fine adults with all the hurt they must hold.
This book is beyond belief and truely heartbreaking :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart breaking book, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Living With Evil (Kindle Edition)
I have read so many books of this genre however i have never come across one like this, its absolutley tragic how bad Cynthias childhood is and it left me seething that her so called psrents got away with all they did to both her and her poor brothers & sisters....they are monstors of the worst kind and deserved nothing less than the most painful torturous death possible, they did not deserve to die peacefully..this book will stay with me for a very long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UTTERLEY SOLE DESTROYING, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Evil (Kindle Edition)
I COULD NOT PUT MY KINDLE DOWN AS I WANTED TO KNOW HOW ON EARTH DID THIS LITTLE GIRL SURVIVE SUCH REPEATED HORRIFIC ABUSE. AS A FOSTER CARER I WAS FIGHTING TOOTH & NAIL FOR CYNTHIA. IT REALLY DOES MAKE YOU BELIEVE THAT EVEN TODAY IT IS GOING ON - ALTHOUGH I DOUBT IT WOULD BE SO BLATENT FROM THE PARENTS SIDE. I WISH THIS BRAVE WOMEN ALL THE GOOD FORTUNE - SHE SO DESERVES IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving true story that will stay with you always, 26 May 2012
This review is from: Living With Evil (Kindle Edition)
I read this book as a library book prior to purchasing a kindle and I remember having to put the book down and then picking it up and re-reading the same part because it was so disturbing. I have read many of "these" types of books but this life story sticks in my mind and I know I will read it again one day ,just not yet, because it's sad that one person can be allowed to affect some many innocent people's lives in such a tragic way. It hurt me to know that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living With Evil
Living With Evil by Cynthia Owen (Paperback - 10 Jun 2010)
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews