Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Victoria Cross Heroes by Michel Ashcroft
I have always enjoyed reading books in which the author writes about his or her passion. There is no doubt that Michael Ashcroft is writing from the heart in Victoria Cross Heroes, his new book on the VC.

It becomes apparent from the first few pages of the book that his interest in bravery goes back to when he was 12 years old. Now, half a century or so later,...
Published on 17 Nov 2006 by TS20

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An average book
This book is worth a read but there are better ones out there on this subject (Max Arthur's - Symbol Of Courage' for one). I admire Ashcrofts enthusiasm and obvious passion about the VC but the book for me could've been better.

The stories are of course outstanding but having read many books on the VC, this one didn't get the hair on the back of my neck...
Published on 23 Sep 2011 by Ne Thornton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Victoria Cross Heroes by Michel Ashcroft, 17 Nov 2006
I have always enjoyed reading books in which the author writes about his or her passion. There is no doubt that Michael Ashcroft is writing from the heart in Victoria Cross Heroes, his new book on the VC.

It becomes apparent from the first few pages of the book that his interest in bravery goes back to when he was 12 years old. Now, half a century or so later, he has written a book detailing his fondness for the VC - as well as a concise but entertaining history of Britain's premier bravery award.

However, by far the best part about this book is the 140 or so remarkable stories based on the courage of the recipients whose VCs are in Lord Ashcroft's collection of medals. The awards in his collection are "topped up" by other tales of gallantry from a channel Five series which is being screened in conjunction with the book.

Some of the heroic stories will bring a tear to many an eye. I was particularly moved by the story of Second Lieutenant William Rhodes-Moorehouse, a WWI pilot and the first airmen to win the VC. He effectively went on a "suicide mission" knowing he had little or no chance of surviving his low-flying bombing raid to damage Germany's supply routes in the spring of 1915. After unbelievable bravery, he was badly wounded and died with a letter from his wife on his pillow. Before going on his ill-fated mission, he had even written a "first and last letter" to his baby son.

The most moving story relating to the tv series VC is that of Warrant Officer Andy Mynarski, a Canadian who died in WWII trying to drag his best friend from their blazing AVRO Lancaster in June 1944. When Mynarksi was forced back by flames and finally had to abandon his trapped friend, he looked towards him before jumping from the plane. He then saluted him saying "Good night, sir": this was Mynarski's traditional comment to his friend that he used to say before retiring for the night. In, fact, in a miraculous escape, Mynarksi's friend, Pat Brophy, survived the crash landing whereas the Canadian died from the severe burns he had received during his thwarted rescue mission. Brophy later wrote: `I'll always believe that a divine providence intervened to save me because of what I had seen. - so the world might know of a gallant man who laid down his life for a friend."

Sterling words - and there are many more liberally sprinkled around in this splendid book. Lord Ashcroft is to be commended for this immaculately researched and deeply touching work. If the tv series of Victoria Cross Heroes is even half as entertaining as the book, we are all in for another treat starting this weekend [November 19].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 6 Jan 2011
By 
A. Graves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Victoria Cross Heroes (Paperback)
Bought 2 as a Christmas gifts for my dad and father in law and both were pleased and said it was a really interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to Heroes, 3 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Victoria Cross Heroes (Paperback)
A medal is a "reward", or better, is a "sign of gratitude" from a Nation to one of her's better son (or daughter). Victoria Cross in the top of the British awards, like USA's Medal of Honour or Italy's Medaglia d'Oro al Valor Militare (i.e. Gold Medal for Military Bravery). The book collects some old and new stories of bravery and sacrifice. Read them for don't forget Them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would recommend this book to all, an excellent read, these heroes must never be forgotten by anyone in Great Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars vc, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victoria Cross Heroes (Paperback)
I bought this because a relation of mine is in it. Very useful book for those interested in the subject for history or personal reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars piece of history, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victoria Cross Heroes (Paperback)
This was for a present for my brother and he found it really interesting and formative. He learnt so much from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victoria Cross Heroes (Paperback)
I ordered the book quite late for Fathers day and it arrived on time and in excellent condition. My Dad loved it, he said it is well written, interesting and of course moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An average book, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Ne Thornton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is worth a read but there are better ones out there on this subject (Max Arthur's - Symbol Of Courage' for one). I admire Ashcrofts enthusiasm and obvious passion about the VC but the book for me could've been better.

The stories are of course outstanding but having read many books on the VC, this one didn't get the hair on the back of my neck standing up like it has with others.

As I said, it's certainly worth reading but if you are looking to buy just one book on the VC there are others that stand above it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A part of history I find interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be thankful for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Victoria Cross Heroes
Victoria Cross Heroes by Michael Ashcroft (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews