Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bobbi on ageing gorgeously
While dedicated no-surgery women may disagree with Bobbi's recommendation of 'light' procedures (remember she comes from New York city, where it's viewed differently), there's lots of heartfelt and helpful suggestions in this new book. You don't have to agree with it all to get some really good ideas. I particularly liked the emphasis on 'soul' beauty, and her advice to...
Published on 9 July 2007 by S. A. Stacey

versus
65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
I read the whole book in one evening, so I was disappointed that there was so little content in the book. I didn't really learn anything from the book itself either, most of the tips I already knew and had picked up from magazines etc over the years. I love Bobbi Brown cosmetics and brushes though, and expected to really find something in the book that would excite me,...
Published on 13 April 2007 by M. M. Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 13 April 2007
By 
M. M. Simpson "stretton" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read the whole book in one evening, so I was disappointed that there was so little content in the book. I didn't really learn anything from the book itself either, most of the tips I already knew and had picked up from magazines etc over the years. I love Bobbi Brown cosmetics and brushes though, and expected to really find something in the book that would excite me, but I'm afraid it didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 97 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ageing gracefully..., 23 Mar 2007
By 
I bought this book after reading a few interviews about ageing gracefully according to Ms Brown and the art of make up against wrinkles. I was half disappointed. The pictures of beautiful middle aged celebrities are obviously retouched. The make up is almost the same on every picture and I found most of them almost better in the " before" than the " after". Worse, most of the advice is about cosmetic surgery - light procedures, but including Botox. Although the theme is all about getting older as Mother Nature intented us to, the reality is about braking as much as we can without being spotted as vain. I am not sure about the mix message of the book and felt slightly cheated. I am a fan of Bobbi Brown make up products and I've bought all of her books so far. But this one left me with a slightly bitter view of what is expecting me.

I'd recommend this book only if you really have no clue about how to use make up and do not dare to ask a girl behind a counter. But I'd expect any grown up Lady to be, by then, able to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bobbi on ageing gorgeously, 9 July 2007
By 
S. A. Stacey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While dedicated no-surgery women may disagree with Bobbi's recommendation of 'light' procedures (remember she comes from New York city, where it's viewed differently), there's lots of heartfelt and helpful suggestions in this new book. You don't have to agree with it all to get some really good ideas. I particularly liked the emphasis on 'soul' beauty, and her advice to eat organic, do yoga and meditation, and live life fully, whatever your age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for older women, 26 July 2010
By 
A. Boadu (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bobbi Brown Living Beauty (Paperback)
I always enjoy Bobbi Brown beauty books because of her philosophy about beauty (very down to earth, practical and insightful). However I was a bit disappointed with this one. This is not because of the content, but because of who the book is aimed at: older women! I think if she had indicated that it was geared to the more mature lady, I wouldn't have bought it. Well not for myself any way. Maybe for my mum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book if you are heading for forty, 30 Sep 2009
I quite like this book. I'm not forty yet but am rapidly approaching it, and this book does have some helpful ideas. Okay, so the clothes advice might work in New York but not here - black turtlenecks on the over forties? - and in clothes terms the make-overs actually look quite drab. The diet and exercise advice is pretty basic, too. But the women featured are all individuals and all beautiful without being conventional (you can ignore the celebs if you want to), and the advice about make-up and skin care is spot-on. I've used make-up for decades and thought I was pretty up to speed, but for years I've had oily skin and no wrinkles. Now having three kids in quick succession has made my face look like a road map and my skin is parched beyond belief. The tips about moisturising and yellow-tinted base make-up are just what I need right now. The procedures discussed are light (certainly lighter than those is Trinny and Susannah's books) and Bobbi isn't a fan of Botox. For clothes advice I would suggest that the T&S books are a better bet, but this is definitely worth a look if age has suddenly crept up on you, as it has for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some god tips, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobbi Brown Living Beauty (Paperback)
Repeats some of the advice given in the Bobbi Brown Make-Up manual but with some new tips which have really improved the way I wear my make- up. Some of the celeb items were not worth reading, though, but all in all a good book to complement the main make-up manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bobbi Brown Living Beauty, 2 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobbi Brown Living Beauty (Paperback)
Bobbi Brown Living Beauty Is a fascinating book filled with top tips and tricks. I've found this book very enlightening and a major confidence booster.

Would have liked to see more step by step guides to actually applying make up in varying ways, but the information contained was none-the-less inspirational. A good buy and would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One for the brunettes, 30 Jan 2011
This is a lovely book if you're a brunette. Unfortunately being a fair skinned
blonde I have to say I was quite disappointed as there was hardly any information in it that was relevant to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bobbi Brown Living Beauty, 2 Nov 2010
This book was shown as used but in new condition, and on receiving it it passed 100% in the sellers description, it also was much less expensive than buying as new, but with the advantage of looking as though never used, brilliant!
The book is excellent for woman who like down to earth beauty advise, with step-by-step advise on how to apply the various products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bobbi Brown, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Julia Rodgers (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"A good beauty book a must have for tips on looking after yourself, makeup application and eating right"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bobbi Brown Living Beauty
Bobbi Brown Living Beauty by Bobbi Brown (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews