Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing tale of a real celebrity
With the likes of Chantelle, Jade goody, Colleen McLaughlin and other so called "celebrities" raiding the bestsellers list and making a mockery of the literary world by cashing in on the autobiography craze. It was a refreshing change to see David Cassidy, a real celebrity (who worked harder than you might have imagined becoming that overnight teen idol) tells the story...
Published on 25 Mar 2007 by farabovetheclouds

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A good read about his life!
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing tale of a real celebrity, 25 Mar 2007
With the likes of Chantelle, Jade goody, Colleen McLaughlin and other so called "celebrities" raiding the bestsellers list and making a mockery of the literary world by cashing in on the autobiography craze. It was a refreshing change to see David Cassidy, a real celebrity (who worked harder than you might have imagined becoming that overnight teen idol) tells the story of his life with such good humor and honesty.

What makes this book stand out from all of those other celebrity biographies is that David holds nothing back; he openly holds his hands up to experimenting with drugs, alcohol and having plenty of women at the peak of his fame. There is absolutely no celebrity bull**it here, the main message that's coming across is yes, I've done all of these crazy things, and yes it was stupid, but I'm not apologizing because anybody in my situation would have done the exact same thing. And let's face it, who wouldn't be seduced by all of that wealth and pleasure? And when you compare David Cassidy to some of his other 70's teen idols such as Michael Jackson and Garry glitter, you really do wonder what on earth stopped him from falling down the same dark pit of self destruction

Of course this book isn't perfect, the majority of the material is from the first edition, but when you have already written your biography it's quite difficult to take a new approach to it. I came to the conclusion that this version is much more sophisticated and wiser than the first book, David's ability to document his life and his writing style has improved greatly and It seems as if he was able to devote a lot more time and energy to this version making it a real success.

It was great to read articles contributed from his closest friends and family to see their viewpoint of David's success and the effect it had on them which gave the book added depth. I particularly enjoyed the chapter written by his 16 year old son Beau (which was written without David knowing) telling readers how much he admires his father. David also spoke of his estranged daughter Katie. If you were not a fan of David's and you read the first book, you would have had no idea she even existed so it was nice to see that she wasn't ignored this time.

Other than that this is a very well written and thought out biography from a man who got sucked into the dark depths of fame but returned to the light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Life, 31 Mar 2007
By 
P. N. Clark "Music Fan" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When you grow from being a boy from a broken home with all the associated heartache into the arguably the biggest teen idol of all time - you can bet this is going to be a very interesting read. What stops this being a tragedy are the facts that (a) David Cassidy found real peace, love and happiness through his wife, son, daughter and extended family and (b) he found lasting, enduring success.

This is the true life story of pain and loss, of an ordinary person being thrust into an extraordinarily intense, mad and extreme fame, fan mania and associated excesses. But most importantly, it is an inspirational telling of how someone can face the greatest extremes in life and come through it all intact - as a decent person, a greatly respected talent and a personal and professional success.

I have always admired David Cassidy. I haven't always known or understood what he went through in order to be the David Cassidy I perceived him to be but I admire him all the more for who he has become today.

I've had the greatest pleasure in meeting David on two separate occasions on two separate continents. What struck me both times was that he was incredibly down to earth and very genuine. "Just a regular guy" as he would say. But a "regular guy" who has had a highly irregular and fascinating and inspirational life.

This book is an absorbing read. It's so well written, it's like David is talking to you personally. The story has no pretensions, no illusions of grandeur and is wonderfully annotated throughout with comments from the key people in David's life, past and present.

David Cassidy can legitimately claim to have once been the biggest superstar on this planet. He had an extraordinary fame that could so easily be forgotten simply because he was tagged a teen idol. But he also possesses an extraordinary talent and deserves every bit of the admiration and world-wide success that he still enjoys to this day.

If you purchase this book, I can assure you that you will find it an honest and sincere telling of an extraordinary life - and I can only hope that there will be many more chapters yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Insight, 20 Mar 2007
By 
Ms. J. Barrett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having been a fan of Cassidy in my teens, I bought this book not really knowing what to expect. I found it a gripping read, giving a really honest insight into his incredible life as a teen idol and his subsequent decline when it all came crashing to an end.

More than that, he writes poignantly about his troubled relationship with his father and his own mental recovery after years of doubt and uncertainty.

Well worth every penny. I'm about to re-read it again!

J Barrett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!, 20 Mar 2007
This book is an update of his previous autobiography that he wrote 11 or 12 years ago. In my opinion it is a much better read, its more honest, deeper and frank. Yes, there are parts that were in the previous book, there has to be, its HIS life, it didn't change overnight.

It has lots of quotes from David's Brothers, Wife, Friends, and Work Colleagues, and a lovely piece from his son Beau.

The pictures are truly beautiful, I would recommend this book to anyone who loves autobiographies, and any fans of David Cassidy, If you were a fan in the 70's, you get a real insight as to how the 'teen idol' marketing took its toll on David, personally and emotionally. If you have followed David's career for the last 35 years, Broadway, Las Vegas, Concerts, its great to read that he has now found a 'happy' place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Could It Be Forever? My Story (Paperback)
A good read about his life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could it be forever?- oh yes David you're only human!, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This, for me, is the "gentler" version of Come on get happy. It is almost the same but it it isn't-It's grittier. I have both books-im a die hard fan so it's allowed! In this my paperback version there aren't any photographs disappointingly, but nevertheless its an interesting read. Its not a blockbuster but that's not it's style & it is definitely a gentler version of Davids autobiographies but be warned it may still shock you as it brings it home to the reader, that Keith, David is most definitely not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent book, well worth the money!!, 20 Mar 2007
By 
Well it was obvious that some of the stuff from David cassidy's first book "C'mon get happy" was going to be repeated in his new book "Could it be forever"!! Its his life storey!! Thats how it was!!
If he had writen a completely different storey he would have been accused of lying and making it up!!!
I think any true David Cassidy fan will love this book. Its an open and honest account of his life and feelings back then in the 70's and now!
I have been a fan for many years and am half way through my book. I have enjoyed reading about the real David Cassidy and not the idol everyone loved back then.
It opens your eye's to what we, the fans did to him without realizing it, and if it's possible has made me love him more than ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could it be Forever? Yes!, 22 Mar 2007
By 
Mrs. Susan Wilson (Yarm, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a David Cassidy fan I bought this book fully aware that it was an updated version of the previous autobiography C'mon Get Happy. I have thoroughtly enjoyed re-reading the old parts and the new bits were fascinating...people thought he had it all back then in the 70's but it was a lonely life, I'm so pleased he is happy now with his family and his life. A great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars david cassidy's life story in paperback, 8 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Could It Be Forever? My Story (Paperback)
I was a big big fan of David Cassidy in my early teens - I had all the records, posters and souvenirs. I went to see him too - It was my first concert, so, I couldn't resist getting this book and the advantage is that it is in paperback - great to take away on hols and re-live your youth and first crushes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Could It Be Forever? My Story (Paperback)
Love it and him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Could It Be Forever? My Story
Could It Be Forever? My Story by David Cassidy (Paperback - 6 Sep 2007)
£8.99
In stock on December 30, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews