Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No courtroom drama here
Very early on -- perhaps in the preface -- Owen warns his readership that, unlike portrayals on stage and screen, with flamboyant tussles between the prosecution and defendant, nothing very dramatic happened in the Nuremberg courtroom. When I read that, a little bit of me wanted to read no further and another little bit of me thought Owen was just being a little...
Published on 20 Dec. 2008 by SAP

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too sensationalist and not enough background
I bought this book thinking it would be about the trials and the background to them. Its not, its mainly quotes from the most distasteful parts of the interrogations, like the nazis saying that they had to stop doing a particularly nasty kind of killing because it was upsetting for the soldiers who had to deal with the bodies after. Yes these people thought and said...
Published on 7 Feb. 2013 by reader1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No courtroom drama here, 20 Dec. 2008
By 
SAP "Steba" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Very early on -- perhaps in the preface -- Owen warns his readership that, unlike portrayals on stage and screen, with flamboyant tussles between the prosecution and defendant, nothing very dramatic happened in the Nuremberg courtroom. When I read that, a little bit of me wanted to read no further and another little bit of me thought Owen was just being a little diffident. As it happens he wasn't being diffident. If you are after courtroom drama, read works of fiction. The defendants at Nuremberg were all calm and composed and seemed to speak neither loudly nor quietly.

Most acted very logically and normally -- they protested their innocence on the grounds that they were not 'in the loop'. They said they had no real power, were misled by others, etc. There are no thunderous speeches, no haughty defiance, nothing grand. There are just criminals trying to save their own necks, like criminals the world over before and since. So far as a human-interest angle is concerned, this book is disappointing. The accused were very human. I didn't see any "evil on trial"; I just saw self-serving opportunists who were willing to overlook appalling crimes if it furthered their own career.

The book itself is very average, I thought. Three-quarters of the text is verbatim court transcripts, direct quotes (which, being in court-speak -- not only court-speak, but forties court-speak -- can become very turgid). The other quarter is made up of a short introductory paragraph or two and a short concluding paragraph or two accompanying each transcript excerpt. I thought these notes were often too brief and didn't offer much in the way of explanation. But this construction of the text (with many short, sometimes unconnected, transcripts) is good because this allows the reader to pause every three or four pages. You can pick it up and put it down regularly. This is useful because the subject matter is very depressing and I found I needed lots of breaks.

The transcripts are in Times New Roman-type font and the author's notes are in Arial-type typeface so they are easily distinguishable, which worked well. The only part of the book that isn't transcripts and notes is the first dozen or so pages of the preface, in which the author sets the scene and provides a short history of the war, etc. I thought the preface was very boring and not very well written. It was difficult to understand some of it. It doesn't say much for Owen's ability as an author that I often found the court transcripts more readable than his notes and introduction!

Having said all of these words of disappointment, I will say that the story is fascinating. I learned a lot of things about the trial that I didn't know before, like the questions regarding its validity, the friction between the Allies' legal teams and the conditions in which the prisoners were kept. I particularly liked the inclusion of excerpts from the diaries and memoirs of Allied psychologists who had access to the prisoners and the insights about the prisoners that these contained. I would have liked more in the way of attempts to get in the minds of the defendants.

To conclude, this book is interesting DESPITE the way it is written. Another author could have made much more of this story and presented it in a better way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very factual and unemotional account, 5 Feb. 2008
By 
E. Galvin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nuremberg: Evil on Trial (Paperback)
This book is an excellent, unprejudiced account of the events leading up to and surrounding the Nuremberg trials. It details the strategies and arguments used by the Allied Powers in bringing the remaining figureheads and quasi-figureheads of the Nazi command to justice, through the use of memoirs and transcripts of the individuals involved in the proceedings as well as giving excellent insight into the emotional and mental states of the accused from denial of involvement in the various charges faced in the court to resignation of death through said memoirs. The author has researched this book very well and it is evident in the balanced approach that has been taken to describe the arguments used by both prosecution and defence. In addition to this, the author critiques the approaches and errors made by the Allied Powers in the preparation of this - the biggest trial in history. I enjoyed this book for what it is - a factual, unemotional telling of what is a legendary court case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim but good, 5 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A straightforward account of a fascinating event of enormous resonance. By focusing on original documents, it tells what really happened, rather than the myth that has since grown around it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nurembery, 31 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Nuremberg: Evil on Trial (Paperback)
This book was fascinating, im sure as everyone that reads it has a passion for the world wars and every intricate details, this book delivers huge accounts of the defendants trials.
Its really shocking to think none of the defendants ever showed any remorse until they were captured, im sure the propaganda played a huge part in influencing these guys which i dont think it would have in our modern society.
The possibility of being the most powerful race made, i expect, normal family guys turn into monsters, joself mengele being the prime example of a good doctor turning into a statistic torturer in the name of science.
this book is a must read for those interested in the aftermath of the great war and how the best legal minds in 4 countries coincided to bring a little justice to the family's who lost loves ones for the sake of one man belief's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not bed time reading, 23 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
dont buy this if your looking for light reading, tally ho fluff. its a serious history book that requires your perseverance and concentration. do this and you shall be rewarded. excellent book well delivered. he has a great grasp of his subject and works wonders with what could only have been some really dry research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too sensationalist and not enough background, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuremberg: Evil on Trial (Paperback)
I bought this book thinking it would be about the trials and the background to them. Its not, its mainly quotes from the most distasteful parts of the interrogations, like the nazis saying that they had to stop doing a particularly nasty kind of killing because it was upsetting for the soldiers who had to deal with the bodies after. Yes these people thought and said these things and yes the attitude of most of them was truly shocking to me. But I wanted a more rounded book about the trials and this wasn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nuremberg: Evil on Trial
Nuremberg: Evil on Trial by James Owen (Paperback - 5 April 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews