Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a great read.
Are you looking for an excellent read which will make you or someone in your life laugh? Then look no further. The Moon's a Balloon (and "Bring on the Empty Horses!") are two of the funniest and most satisfying books I have ever read.

David Niven was not always a star. He had to go away and learn his trade in "B" movies before being allowed to enter the big...
Published on 22 May 2006 by Ned Middleton

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Kindle Balloon
This, as widely described, is a very engaging, very human biography. The book is fully reviewed elsewhere. This is a review of the Kindle version, and how disappointing that the publishers are prepared to put forward an edition for which they would be disowned by their mothers, had it been published on paper. The proof reading is terrible, inexcusable. Footnotes appear at...
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by S. Cussons


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a great read., 22 May 2006
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
Are you looking for an excellent read which will make you or someone in your life laugh? Then look no further. The Moon's a Balloon (and "Bring on the Empty Horses!") are two of the funniest and most satisfying books I have ever read.

David Niven was not always a star. He had to go away and learn his trade in "B" movies before being allowed to enter the big time. He learnt that trade so well he eventually won an Oscar. Unlike some who were destined to become greats of Hollywood, he also put his entire acting career on hold whilst he served as an officer in a fighting unit throughout WW2. This book tells the first half of his life's story and what a story it is. Like every biography ever written, the best bits are not found at the beginning, so some readers, therefore, might find it slow going at first - though most will not. Then we meet the rich and famous stars of Hollywood from another era and learn a little about each of these people and their various relationships as we move from one to another and sometimes back again.

Written in David Niven's own hilarious style, there is so much humour here that you "will" find yourself insisting others read this book. In fact, it is so funny - especially his descriptions of the wrong use of English words by foreign movie directors, one finishes the book in the knowledge that had David Niven not become an Oscar-winning movie star, he would easily have achieved great success as a writer.

Refreshingly, Niven writes about his fellow personalities from that golden age of the Hollywood of yester-year with charming frankness. Where others might expose drunkenness or sordid behaviour, Niven simply makes us laugh and, in so doing you really do get the feeling that those of whom he speaks would approve.

The underlying theme, of course, is David Niven's life and, as one reviewer has said elsewhere, this book leaves you wishing you had met this man. Me too.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has there ever been a more charismatic character?, 5 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
If, as a novelist, you set out to create a fictional character who is sublimely witty and supremely charismatic but who has a lively capability to disregard "acceptable behaviour" then the end product would surely mimic Niven.
Niven's anecdotes and recollection of experiences from early childhood through his schooling and military career had me enthralled and laughing out loud on more than a few occasions. Recalling his Hollywood years in the company of a "Who's Who" of the Silver Screen enlightens the reader perhaps too young to have followed his career at the time.
There is no doubt Niven lived his life to the full. Equally, be in no doubt that he has the skill and humour to write of his experiences and to keep the reader absorbed and cheered.
How I wish I had met David Niven. An aristocrtic "Diamond Geezer" of the highest order!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most interesting books I have ever read !, 9 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
I found this book hard to put down. This book gives an honest account of a most extraordinary man and his life from childhood to the height of his hollywood career. His meetings with Women of the night and some of the worlds most important political figures. A story of love, hate, tragedy and ill health.One of those "must read" books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could have met him, 5 Dec 2000
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
Hugely enjoyable, funny, moving and painfully honest.
Probably the finest autobiography I have read. A must read. Would make an excellent present for almost anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a great read., 29 May 2011
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Moon's A Balloon (Paperback)
Are you looking for an excellent read which will make you or someone in your life laugh? Then look no further. The Moon's a Balloon (and "Bring on the Empty Horses!") are two of the funniest and most satisfying books I have ever read.

David Niven was not always a star. He had to go away and learn his trade in "B" movies before being allowed to enter the big time. He learnt that trade so well he eventually won an Oscar. Unlike some who were destined to become greats of Hollywood, he also put his entire acting career on hold whilst he served as an officer in a fighting unit throughout WW2. This book tells the first half of his life's story and what a story it is. Like every biography ever written, the best bits are not found at the beginning, so some readers, therefore, might find it slow going at first - though most will not. Then we meet the rich and famous stars of Hollywood from another era and learn a little about each of these people and their various relationships as we move from one to another and sometimes back again.

Written in David Niven's own hilarious style, there is so much humour here that you "will" find yourself insisting others read this book. In fact, it is so funny - especially his descriptions of the wrong use of English words by foreign movie directors, one finishes the book in the knowledge that had David Niven not become an Oscar-winning movie star, he would easily have achieved great success as a writer.

Refreshingly, Niven writes about his fellow personalities from that golden age of the Hollywood of yester-year with charming frankness. Where others might expose drunkenness or sordid behaviour, Niven simply makes us laugh and, in so doing you really do get the feeling that those of whom he speaks would approve.

The underlying theme, of course, is David Niven's life and, as one reviewer has said elsewhere, this book leaves you wishing you had met this man. Me too.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Biography, 8 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
I picked this up to read on the train when I first started work and was the first biography I read. That was over fifteen years ago and I still remember much of this book. David Niven takes you through the highs and lows of his life. You are taken on a journey from the early twentieth century through his school years to Hollywood, back home to serve his country in the second world war, to the changing times of the sixties. There are real highs and a devastating blow that you would not want to experience in your own life. This book covers a span of time and experience that current biographies (Jade/Chantelle etc etc) cannot match as none of these chancers have experienced anything yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If the moons a balloon then niven holds the balloon, 7 May 2004
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
I wasnt really interested in this book originally, my father had implored me to read it for the last 4 years however i havent seen any films with niven in and really wasnt interested. eventually i did decide that i may as well read it becuase i had some free time.
I found it initially hard to get into but i perservered and when i got into his hilarious stories about school i was hooked, i couldnt put it down. although i knew nothing about the man or his films i found his entry to hollywood fasinating and was intregued about his relationship with a prostitute.
i am now a die hard fan, i have watched many of his films and am discovering new actors like william powell and carole lobard. His humour and self-depricating descirption were wonderful, i would go as far to say that this man should have wrote books professionally, he is better than many writers today.
i would recomend this book to anyone with our without an interest in hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 31 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
I first read this book when I was about 14 & try to read it at least once every couple of years. Its laugh out loud funny, touching & charming. From the moment I first read this wonderful book I fell in love with this true gentleman & only wish I could have spent just one hour in his company.

Everyone must read it at least once & find out what it means to have real class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Kindle Balloon, 17 Feb 2011
By 
S. Cussons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This, as widely described, is a very engaging, very human biography. The book is fully reviewed elsewhere. This is a review of the Kindle version, and how disappointing that the publishers are prepared to put forward an edition for which they would be disowned by their mothers, had it been published on paper. The proof reading is terrible, inexcusable. Footnotes appear at the end of each chapter but you cannot flick to them and back to text. It's very sloppy. I'm not saying don't read it - please do, it's great, but buy the paperback (cheaper, of course, because of VAT), or be prepared to be very, very tolerant. I find reading a Kindle very easy and enjoyable, but I resent paying top wack for sloppiness. I feel insulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine "must read" for anyone with a sense of humour, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Nigel Brett "Tollman" (Devon, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many of the reviewers, I first read this book many years ago when it was originally published. It is always the first book I recommend to anyone who asks me for something worthwhile to read.
It's an amazing account of the highs and lows from birth to late age of one of our greatest screen actors.
The humour and self deprecating wit will have you laughing out loud, whether from his boyhood, his time in the army or the hilarious accounts of Hollywood life, these recollections form the basis of my favourite autobiography.
David Niven was pretty much done with films when he wrote this, but the reaction to the book granted him a new lease of life and brought on more parts in film and television which certainly helped him in his later life.
Although subsequent biographies revealed that his private life was a little more troubled than indicated in "The Moon's A Balloon", it is a testament to this wonderful man that his memory will live on through these words.
Read it, enjoy it and recommend it to someone else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moon's a Balloon
The Moon's a Balloon by David Niven (Audio CD - 3 Oct 2005)
Used & New from: 49.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews