Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Chelsea fans
I have just received the above book and couldn't put it down.

Rick Glanvill has sought out some great pictures through the years charting the pictorial history of Chelsea.It's a book that will always be looked at a great conversation peice,I have just worked out that I have 42 replica kits now thats sad.This would accompany Mr Glanvill's Biography book in any...
Published on 21 Oct 2006 by Mrs. N. Olden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Strictly for footie fans
Nephew loved it!
Published 5 months ago by deelicious


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Chelsea fans, 21 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Chelsea Football Club: The Official History in Pictures (Hardcover)
I have just received the above book and couldn't put it down.

Rick Glanvill has sought out some great pictures through the years charting the pictorial history of Chelsea.It's a book that will always be looked at a great conversation peice,I have just worked out that I have 42 replica kits now thats sad.This would accompany Mr Glanvill's Biography book in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strictly for footie fans, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chelsea Football Club: The Official History in Pictures (Hardcover)
Nephew loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chelsea Football Club, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chelsea Football Club: The Official History in Pictures (Hardcover)
This turned out to be an excellent gift for a Chelsea Football supporter who seemed to enjoy the insights it offered. Much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am now a Chelsea fan!!!, 16 Nov 2006
This review is from: Chelsea Football Club: The Official History in Pictures (Hardcover)
I was given this book as a present by my father-in-law who is a big Chelsea fan. He knew that I did not support Chelsea (or any other club for that matter) but thought that I might like it. He said that Chelsea supporters had been waiting a long time for this book as it had plenty of pictures which made it easy to read!! Of course I have now met and am good friends with many witty and articulate chelsea fans (such as through the official Chelsea Book Club) and know that he was joking!

Anyway, the book was a revelation which has changed my attitude to football. Previously I had thought it was a bit of a rough game that attracted a lot of the wrong sort of people. I now know that not all clubs are the same and that Chelsea is different. Chelsea seems to have this atmosphere of glamour that other clubs do not. As the book shows, they have lots of famous people and celebrities as supporters and their ground is in a really nice bit of london. The book made me think that Chelsea might really be the club for me!!

Since reading it I have now been to 4 Chelsea matches and am thinking of buying a season ticket for next year. It is expensive to go to a match (I have heard that Chelsea is one of the most expensive clubs) but this is reassuring in a way - a bit like buying real truffles instead of those ghastly truffle infused oils. It also helps to make sure that the right type of supporters continue to come to matches which means that being a Chelsea supporter is always something special and you never know when you might bump into someone famous!!

I seems amazing that all this could have been started by being given a book but then this is not a book about any old football club - it's a book about Chelsea and all the super and charming people connected with it. It really made it clear to me what this great club is all about. Come on the super Blues!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chelsea:The official History, 14 July 2007
This review is from: Chelsea Football Club: The Official History in Pictures (Hardcover)
Brilliant book. If you like this book, you'll love 'Larry Dilworth and the Legends of Football' This is a football historical novel which Jimmy Hill decribes as a 'Skilfully blended mixture of football fact and fiction' It has 50 fabulous full-colour illustrations of football's greatest Legends including Jimmy Greaves, Ron Harris, Roy Bentley and two fantastic chapters on the amazing Drakes Ducklings 1954/55 Champions.
Buy them both and be doubly happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chelsea Football Club: The Official History in Pictures
Chelsea Football Club: The Official History in Pictures by Rick Glanvill (Hardcover - 23 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: £52.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews