Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm and witty
This is a sweet book- it's the mostly-made-up story of a boy's family experiences from an early age, up to the point that he leaves for University. It's told as a series of short anecdotes, most of them only a few pages long, most of which work as stand-alone pieces though they have a loosely flowing narrative and a handful of running gags as you go along.

The...
Published on 3 Sep 2007 by Mr. Stuart Bruce

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS AUDIO BOOK: It is in some utterly ridiculous format you can't play
I don't know what this book is like. My mother requested the audio version specifically and it seems it's only available on download. However, I assumed this would be find and I could burn a copy for her to CD.

Apparently not. Audible give you the book in some utterly repellent non-standard format and then require that you install iTunes in order to burn it. I...
Published on 26 Aug 2012 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm and witty, 3 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone Like Me: Tales from a Borrowed Childhood (Paperback)
This is a sweet book- it's the mostly-made-up story of a boy's family experiences from an early age, up to the point that he leaves for University. It's told as a series of short anecdotes, most of them only a few pages long, most of which work as stand-alone pieces though they have a loosely flowing narrative and a handful of running gags as you go along.

The family is warm, witty and very endearing. There isn't a lot of variety or a particularly outward look to the stories- most of the stories are simply recountings of conversations had at the kitchen table- but it's flooded with ideas, and little social satires about British life and family life. It wouldn't surprise me if, like me, you see something of your own mother and father in the characters.

It reminded me of Spike Milligan's autobiographical writing, but without quite as many puns. Warm-hearted and very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Read, 2 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone Like Me: Tales from a Borrowed Childhood (Paperback)
Having loved reading Miles Kington's column in The Independent for many years, before his way too early demise, I was intrigued to read a whole book by him. What a joy! Not the usual list of achievements in his career, but a peep into his extraordinary, slightly eccentric childhood. It concentrated on the main four family members, Mum, Dad, Brother and himself, with the most wonderful detail, I wanted to be part of that group. I laughed out loud continually at his hilarious stories, and was disappointed to finish it. I would highly recommend this book, whether you have known about him previously is not necessary, just enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Hillarious - You NEED to read this book, 9 Aug 2009
By 
S. Donohue (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The funniest autobiographical book i have read in a long time. Not a tradional lay out as it jumps time periods, it is written like the author is telling you the story personally & had me in tears laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He writes in such an easy and enjoyable way that it is very hard to ..., 28 Oct 2014
By 
D. M. Ely-brown "Dave Brown" (Wales. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My one complaint about Miles Kingtons writing is that it is too addictive. He writes in such an easy and enjoyable way that it is very hard to put the book down which means I finish it far too soon. It is a thoroughly entertaining book with many tales that are similar to my own life. I would recommend it highly to anyone who has an enlarged funnybone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Corinne Jones "roger977" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone Like Me: Tales from a Borrowed Childhood (Paperback)
this was a gift for someone else but the bit I read was hilarious, I thoroughly recommend it. A very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nearly choked to death with laughing!, 13 Jan 2009
By 
S. huntingdon "bookworm" (north of england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Someone Like Me: Tales from a Borrowed Childhood (Paperback)
This is one of the funniest books I have read in a long time.
Had to stop reading it several times as I found myself choking.
What a pity this humourist's life was cut short by cancer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS AUDIO BOOK: It is in some utterly ridiculous format you can't play, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I don't know what this book is like. My mother requested the audio version specifically and it seems it's only available on download. However, I assumed this would be find and I could burn a copy for her to CD.

Apparently not. Audible give you the book in some utterly repellent non-standard format and then require that you install iTunes in order to burn it. I have a Windows computer so, naturally, I don't use iTunes because it runs incredibly poorly and is completely over-engineered for this task.

Why it is that I can download albums in un-encrypted MP3 format but not books, I shall never know. Certainly I would never buy from Audible again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone Like Me: Tales from a Borrowed Childhood (Paperback)
I found it a very funny book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 11 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Briggs "Rob & Lin Briggs" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A touch disappointing.

The system requires me to write twenty words, I don't see why, I have said everything I want to say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Someone Like Me: Tales from a Borrowed Childhood
Someone Like Me: Tales from a Borrowed Childhood by Miles Kington (Paperback - 31 July 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews