Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nigella of Indian Cooking
This marvelous book is not split into typical starter / main / dessert sections, but rather into sections based on mood, inclination and available time and effort. The recipes are clear and easy to follow. The beautiful Anjum Anand guides you effortlessly through dishes that you will not find in an Eastern restaurant and low fat & healthy too. Full marks, Anjum. I...
Published on 1 Oct 2003 by cyberdoctor

versus
7 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars every day?
I wanted a curry cookbook where the recipes would be quick and simple to prepare but with this book you have to mess about making pastes and such like rather than directly just using the spices - very time consuming - (unless you really plan in advance and make a batch up (e.g.) at the weekend) but in addition to that, the recipes I have tried have not been very good at...
Published on 16 Jun 2008 by natalie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nigella of Indian Cooking, 1 Oct 2003
This review is from: Indian Every Day: Light, Healthy Indian Food (Hardcover)
This marvelous book is not split into typical starter / main / dessert sections, but rather into sections based on mood, inclination and available time and effort. The recipes are clear and easy to follow. The beautiful Anjum Anand guides you effortlessly through dishes that you will not find in an Eastern restaurant and low fat & healthy too. Full marks, Anjum. I can't wait for your first television show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Indian cookbook, 30 April 2007
By 
Sarah (Bromley, Kent) - See all my reviews
We had a New Year resolution to cook homemade curry once a week and every recipe I have tried works and is really tasty. You might think Indian cookery is complicated, but even the mango chutney recipe is straight forward. Top cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, easy Indian cookery, 9 May 2010
By 
Mrs. E. S. Canham "Liz Canham" (Pego, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I adore cooking Indian food and am a great fan of Madhur Jaffrey but I was really impressed with Anjum's book, which is perhaps a little more modern than some of Madhur's.

I love the hints and tips provided and Anjum isn't afraid to use shortcuts such as ginger or garlic paste from a tube, which is so much quicker than preparing one's own.

The best thing, however, is that you get all the flavour of Indian food without all the fat, which many people can't stomach these days.

The recipes are easy to follow, quick and don't contain too many ingredients so even a complete novice can follow them.

I'm looking forward to getting some more of Anjum's books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONLY INDIAN COOKBOOK YOU EVER NEED!, 5 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Indian Every Day: Light, Healthy Indian Food (Hardcover)
The book brings to life a mouthwatering array of flavours and exotic spices.
The recipes are so straightforward and easy to follow, and above all so healthy and light, I could eat it everyday.
I do not ever need to visit an Indian restaurant again.
This book gives me the opportunity to create the magic in my own kitchen!!
Truly Sensational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indian every day, 18 May 2010
The recipes in this book are great - the flavours are fantastic and its a bonus that they're low fat. If you can't find all the ingredients you can always tinker around with the spices and veg.
The dals are great and the egg curry is yummy and fast. Borrowed the book off my daughter and now buying my own - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 9 May 2006
By 
George Macleod (Guardamar, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This tends to be simpler than restaurent curries but still full of flavour. Ms Anand is not a vegitarian but her vegitable and lentil dishes are very good indeed. In restaurents the vegitable dishes are just side dishes to have with the meat. Her dishes stand up on their own. I commend this book to any curry cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll happily eat Indian every day when it tastes this good!, 24 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Indian Every Day: Light, Healthy Indian Food (Hardcover)
This wonderful book is a great buy, whether you're drawn by the Indian recipes, or the fact that it's low-fat cooking. All the recipes that I have cooked so far taste amazing, and you certainly couldn't say that the reduction of fat has led to any kind of reduction in flavour - in fact you can enjoy them all the more, knowing that the food isn't swimming in fat, but is still authentic!
At first glance, the ingredients lists might seem off-puttingly long, but the majority are based around common ingredients such as onion, garlic, ginger, chillies and tomatoes, plus the individual spices you need to characterise each dish (the majority of which are available from any supermarket, so you don't have to go traipsing off on a special shopping expedition before you can start cooking).
Some of my favourite recipes so far include the crispy little Pea-filled Potato Cakes, the very moreish Corn with Coconut, and the truly delicious White Cheese in a Creamy Tomato Sauce (there's a recipe for home-made paneer in the book, which is dead simple to make). Side dishes such as Tangy Tomato Rice are good enough to serve on their own, and I've had great fun making flatbreads such as roti and paratha. The recipes range from the familiar such as Chicken Tikka Kebab or Lamb Biryani, to the more traditional such as Uppma (a wonderful spicy semolina-based dish which was a revelation), and there are plenty of vegetarian dishes to choose from, as well as desserts and traditional Indian chutneys and relishes to complete your meal if you want to go the whole hog.
What I really like about this book is that although the recipes are authentic, they are written in such a way as to suggest how to incorporate them in day-to-day living, with many "Western" serving suggestions, so you don't feel that you would have to slave over a stove for hours to prepare a complete Indian banquet - hence the Indian Every Day title I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low fat but luscious!, 13 Jun 2003
This review is from: Indian Every Day: Light, Healthy Indian Food (Hardcover)
If you love Indian food but have to give at least a passing thought to its effect on your waistline, then this book is for you! But equally, if you don't give two hoots about the fat content, but still love Indian food, don't be put off buying this book precisely because it is "healthy" - the recipes taste so great that you don't need to wory about anything else. These are authentic Indian recipes that the author adapted to cut down the fat in order to lose weight herself - not just another cookery book gimmick.
I have to confess to a slight bias, in that I was involved in working on this book (I prepared all the food for the photos), but it was one of the most pleasurable and interesting jobs I have done. I've always loved cooking Indian food, but never liked the huge quantities of oil used in many recipes, so this book was a revelation, and is in constant use at home already (which I couldn't say about many of the other publications I've worked on).
Inevitably, as with many Indian recipes, the ingredients lists look pretty long and off-putting due to the individual spices used, but once you have built up a store of basic spices (almost all of which are available from any supermarket), then apart from standard ingredients such as onions, chillies, ginger, garlic and tomatoes, each recipe requires only a few other main ingredients, so they are much quicker and easier to prepare than it might appear at a first glance. While a few of the recipes use unfamiliar ingredients such as dudhi, lotus root, drumsticks and colocasia, the majority use "everyday" meat, vegetables and pulses, so you don't need to seek out an Indian shop every time you cook from this book (although I would recommend it simply in order to try some of the unusual vegetables - plus your regular veg and spices will be a whole lot cheaper!)
There isn't a single recipe from this book that I've cooked and not liked, so it's hard to choose favourites. However, I would have to include Uppma (semolina pilaff - this was a revelation!), Pea-filled Potato Cakes, Simply Spiced Spinach; Corn with Coconut (very quick and oh-so-moreish); Six Veg & a Couple of Rolls (a Bombay street food of mashed curried vegetables on rolls - sounds odd but tastes amazing!); White Cheese in a Creamy Tomato Sauce (uses home-made paneer which really is very easy to make); Classic Chicken Curry; Chickpea Curry; Mangalorian Fish Curry (a truly delicious sauce based on tomato, red chillies and coconut); Aloo Gobi (potato and cauliflower); Tangy Tomato Rice, all of the Dal recipes; and Indian Rice Dreams in the desserts chapter (sounds naff, tastes great). Plus there are lots of recipes for accompanying chutneys, breads etc.
What are you waiting for???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book changed my life!, 4 April 2009
This book is full of simple and easy indian food. I have only two cookbooks on my shelf that have never failed me, this is one of them - every recipe I've tried from Indian Every Day has worked, and has got me to the stage where an indian restaurant needs to be exceptional for me to prefer eating out to eating in!
Can't recommend it enough :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DELLLICIOUS, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Amber N (South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some fab recipes.Slowly working my way through the book.It gives an Indian spice twist to normal every day foods for the family. If your looking for a choice of simple curry recipes then get her Indian food made easy.I love the authors simplicit approach to cooking.So far all the recipes have worked and been LUSH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indian Every Day: Light, Healthy Indian Food
Indian Every Day: Light, Healthy Indian Food by Anjum Anand (Hardcover - 6 May 2003)
Used & New from: £5.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews