Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-researched, intelligent and thought-provoking history
This book deals with the Italian Campaign, from its beginnings mired in confusion, to the bitter struggles that gained the Allied forces yard after slow yard in central Italy, to the climatic, but empty, victory at Cassino, which cost 200,000 people their lives or health. Parker is very in touch with the soldier on the ground, and shows us their plight in intimate,...
Published on 27 July 2004 by Mr. Rj Ayre

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read
Book is ok but hat to read an keep up with whom everybody is there are that many characters. Try the forgotten soldier by Guy Sajer or the red partisan if you want to read up on ww2. These books will blow your mind.
Published 10 months ago by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book !!, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two (Paperback)
Well written, exciting, captivating . . . but also absolutely awful, as regards learning what men were put through during this bloody slogging match. It's a battle which really should be better known to the public of today, considering the huge sacrifices involved. Such sacrifices - in this case involving the loss of many thousands of men's lives - have ensured that we in most of Europe can today live in freedom and that, usually and ultimately, there is some degree of justice whenever things become contentious.
That would never now be the case if the Nazis had won or prevailed in WWII , and books like this remind us starkly of the fact that our society and freedoms today should never ever be taken for granted. I commend Mr. Parker on a fine work indeed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic ww2 stories, 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two (Paperback)
this book is one of the best ive read so far! once ive completed it i'll leave a better fuller review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monte Cassino by Matthew Parker ,on Audio?, 29 Nov 2003
By 
EMMA HOWESON (Plymouth uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a brilliant account of this hard fought battle of world war two. I would like to buy it for my father who fought in it, however his failing eyesight at 85 years old deprives him of reading this book. I suspect there are many others the same. Perhaps an early recording onto audio would be a gesture which would benefit many of our older generation, so that they may relive some of the moments of their brave and heroic past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As good as expected, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No problems, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two (Paperback)
Great book - Great condition - Great price - Great service = No problems. What more could you want. Happy to recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite there, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two (Paperback)
The content of the book is amazing and everything i expected of it but the quality of the paper and its cover are just bad, i wish they had put a bit more effort into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassino - the hellhole, 20 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two (Paperback)
When I was young and my father spoke about Monte Cassino, I thought it was a casino. Later on I discovered otherwise...

This informative and moving account has helped me to understand and picture a part of the war my father (46 Recce) and thousands of other brave young men fought. My father amongst many was deeply affected by this battle and this has helped me to see why.

It is a book I will treasure

thank you Matthew Parker

ps will you be writing one on the Reconnaissance Regiment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Colin Browning (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two (Paperback)
Ideal book for anyone without prior knowledge of this particular campaign. Might be a bit 'lite' for those who already have an understanding of what went on in Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present!, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Ms. Anna Connolly "a_nnac" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two (Paperback)
Well the book was a christmas present for someone else so they were very glad to receive it, other than that I can't comment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two (Paperback)
Book is ok but hat to read an keep up with whom everybody is there are that many characters. Try the forgotten soldier by Guy Sajer or the red partisan if you want to read up on ww2. These books will blow your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monte Cassino: The Story of the Hardest-fought Battle of World War Two
£7.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews