Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little magic
This latest Jude Morgan follows the fabulous Indiscretion and An Accomplished Woman in that it is entirely fiction and does not draw on the lives of real historical figures like his last novel, a Taste of Sorrow.

I loved this book, it was deftly written with lightness of touch, a wry humour and fine eye for detail, the charatcters are likeable and believeable...
Published on 19 Mar. 2010 by S M B

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing but unsatisfying
I am a great fan of Georgette Heyer and have read ALL her books! So when I read Jude Morgan being compared to G Heyer, I jumped at the chance to read this book. This is my first Jude Morgan book and I'm very pleased how well he writes! His style and knowledge of the genre is fantastic.

I really wanted to like the book, but in the end Louisa & Valentine were...
Published on 22 Dec. 2010 by jazzmatazz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little magic, 19 Mar. 2010
By 
S M B "A Janeite" (Isle of Wight, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Little Folly (Hardcover)
This latest Jude Morgan follows the fabulous Indiscretion and An Accomplished Woman in that it is entirely fiction and does not draw on the lives of real historical figures like his last novel, a Taste of Sorrow.

I loved this book, it was deftly written with lightness of touch, a wry humour and fine eye for detail, the charatcters are likeable and believeable even the more humourous secondary ones, the story keeps you engaged and guessing with an ending both satisfying and surprising.

In brief the story is about a brother and sister who having lived quiet lives under the strict control of their father following his death they venture out into the world, moving to London to get a taste of Society. They each have to find a way of exercising their independence without losing themselves and their reputations in the process.

It is so refreshing to read a Regency set novel for adults who love historical fiction but don't necessarily want bodice rippers. The ladies act like ladies and the men, even the morally questionable ones, act like gentlemen. I just wish there were more books like this out there! Until the next Jude Morgan regency I'll just have to re-read Georgette and Jane once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far Better Than The Cover Might Suggest, 7 Nov. 2010
This review is from: A Little Folly (Hardcover)
The Regency period novel is one that has suffered the most from third rate writers, hoping to emulate the great Georgette Heyer, and failing dismally. As a result, I tend to steer clear of any Regency novels, and especially those with lurid covers that seem to suggest that the writer has tried to spice up a cut and paste story with some bodice ripping. I'd seen Jude Morgan's books in bookshops, and the covers definitely put me off (although this one isn't too bad, I must admit). But I was struggling to find any good books on Audible, so decided to give this one a try.

I was very pleasantly surprised. The story is excellent, the characters well developed, and there are no jarring notes - such as overuse of period cant, or details that are wrong for the period - to spoil things. The author lacks the lightness of touch of Georgette Heyer, but then she really was in a league of her own. This is much more along the lines of Jane Austen, but without treading on her toes, as so many spin offs have done.

A very enjoyable read, I shall seek out some of the other author's works now - and turn a blind eye to their covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Sir Clement Carnell's ruling passion, until the very last moment of his life, was his passion for ruling.', 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Little Folly (Paperback)
Louisa and Valentine Carnell have lived their constrained lives dominated by their strict father, Sir Clement Carnell. His death provides a sense of release, and they embrace their newfound freedom with enthusiasm. Valentine throws open their Devonshire estate of Pennacombe to their fashionable London-based cousins, and their mysterious friend Lady Harriet Eversholt, while Louisa feels free to reject Pearce Lynley, the man chosen by her father as her prospective husband.

The temptations of Regency London beckon, and while Louisa enjoys her newfound freedom and searches for a new suitor, Valentine overindulges in gambling, and then falls in love with the beautiful, scandalous and very married Lady Harriet Eversholt.

The follies of the Carnells could lead to disaster, but with the help of their good friend James Tresilian, the siblings come to realise what - and who - is important to them.

`She is a guest, Mr Lynley, not a governess.'

I enjoyed this novel, and would agree with those who see similarities to the observational wit of Jane Austen and the dashing romance of Georgette Heyer. It is light entertainment for sure, but not frivolous.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing but unsatisfying, 22 Dec. 2010
This review is from: A Little Folly (Paperback)
I am a great fan of Georgette Heyer and have read ALL her books! So when I read Jude Morgan being compared to G Heyer, I jumped at the chance to read this book. This is my first Jude Morgan book and I'm very pleased how well he writes! His style and knowledge of the genre is fantastic.

I really wanted to like the book, but in the end Louisa & Valentine were rather more hapless than heroic. Their attempts to enter into society is quite entertaining but as romantic heroes - they just don't have any charisma. My biggest disappointment (but delighted surprise) is that the secondary romance is more interesting than what the two main characters get up to. I don't particularly like or care very much for Louisa in the end. She's comes off as self-indulgent and self-absorbed. She may have found love (or so it seems), but I'm not convinced she knows what passion is!

WARNING: PLOT REVEALED!
James Tresilian may be noble but sometimes he comes off as a wimp and not at all exciting. He doesn't declare himself until the last three pages of the book (and it's only because he had to not because he wanted to) and it shocked Louisa so much, she ran off! From being completely oblivious to suddenly realising she's in love with him, is a leap much too far!

My favourite character by far is Pearce Lynley and it's HIS story that excites me the most! I wish this book was about him! He has heaps of charisma!! All that brooding intensity and arrogant self-confidence screams Mr Darcy! Louisa dislikes him because he seems to be the exact copy of her autocratic father. But the novel builds Pearce up to such Darcy-heights, he seemed destined to be the hero who wins the heroine. The problem is NOT that he doesn't, but that the woman he ends up with is by far more heroine material than Louisa! That Pearce finds redemption is utterly delicious - he becomes a changed man thanks to the love of a wise, intelligent and dignified woman. In the end, Louisa is just not woman enough for him - and it's a good thing too!! Because we root for Pearce and his nanny cum bride-to-be! Their story is by far the most exciting! I'm all for the unexpected but when the surprise is better than the main story - it's like having dry bland roast chicken with a fantabulous sauce! What could possible be the point in that?

As a novel, it's pleasing and entertaining. As a romance novel, it's irritatingly unsatisfying. Don't expect a Jane Austen or Georgette Heyer type romance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Gem that will Delight Austen Fans!, 12 Mar. 2010
By 
A Customer (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Folly (Hardcover)
It's always a thrill to see a new Jude Morgan book - I really think this author rivals Hilary Mantel in terms of skill and imagination. Morgan can turn a hand to any historical theme or style, it seems. After the wonderful 'Taste of Sorrow' about the Bronte sisters, this new title deserves to be snapped up by all fans of Jane Austen and Regency-period fiction. The story carries us from Devonshire to Regency London with a lot of witty sparring and scandalous romance along the way. Fantastic! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful as ever, 23 Mar. 2011
This review is from: A Little Folly (Paperback)
Jude Morgan's Regency books are some of my enduring favourites already, and this is a worthy addition to the list. The quality of Morgan's writing is always high: his prose is stylish, witty and light, easy and delightful to read.

The heroine of this story is skilfully drawn. She's a young woman whose restricted life has left her eager for experience, and when her father dies suddenly she gets her chance. She and her brother are quick to explore the world that's always been denied to them, rapidly forming new acquaintances, making friends (and enemies), and falling in love. Unfortunately, having been so sheltered all their lives, they're bound to make a few mistakes...

My favourite character in the story is James Tresilian, a slightly scruffy, down-to-earth gentleman with a mildly tragic past and a delicious wit. I'd like to have seen more about him, but what's there is enough to enliven the pages with ample humour.

Jude Morgan's historical novels are always stylish and authentic with plenty of intriguing historical detail. I recommend this highly to any fans of Jane Austen or Georgette Heyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "We are always apt to find fault with the manners of those handsomer and wealthier than ourselves...", 1 Aug. 2014
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Little Folly (Paperback)
This splendid novel explores the 18th century atmosphere with skill. When Louisa Carnell and her brother Valentine, having been brought up by their father (their mother died when they were young) in an atmosphere of overbearing dominance. It has made them timid and miserable children. When their father dies, however, brother and sister gain their freedom. His strictures are thrown aside after a period of mourning and they are happy to welcome their friends and neighbours whom hitherto have been forbidden to visit. James Tresilian and his daughter were of the few, along with Pearce Lynley, who had been early settled upon as marriageable by their father who was considered by their parent as suitable to dine with. Louisa in fact does not like Mr Lynley at all and quickly makes it plain that she is not agreeable to the match. He has a disagreeable manner, and cannot ever forebear to lecture her at every turn. His good looks cannot make up for his extreme arrogance in Louisa’s eyes.

They are then invited to stay in London with an Aunt and her grown son and daughter. Sophie and Tom. However, they there renew an acquaintance with Lady Harriet Eversholt, a lady living apart from her husband and with a somewhat less than steady reputation.

I won’t go into detail but Valentine makes a mistake that takes the rest of the novel to work through. Meanwhile Louisa is not short of distaff company in the person of Pearce Lynley’s rather troubled and erratic younger brother. Valentine and Louisa are almost embroiled in a wicked blackmail scheme. Will they be ruined by their enemies? This tale is well put together, wonderfully written and a sheer pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Little Folly
A Little Folly by Jude Morgan (Paperback - 9 Dec. 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews